We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay - if there would not be the bed....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Squirrels Guest House
Ranked #11 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We spend two nights in the Squirrel guest gouse during our Wales trip.
The location is quite good, altough it is located at a main road, its quiet. Only 5 minutes to walk to the train station or the Llangollen Canal. There are several restaurants in close walking distance. Free parking is provided on the guesthouse ground.
As the name of the guesthouse announces, the whole house is decorated with squirrels.

We stayed in room 4, which is very big and also has a big bathroom. The room ice nicely equipped, tea and coffee making facilities are provided. WiFi however, is not available.

Breakfast ist typical coocked and there is nothing to complain about it.

It would have been a nice stay - if there would not been the bed in the room. Its a metal bed and it makes awful noise if you just move a little in it. And to make it worse, the mattress of the bed is totally worn out, you could feel every single spring it it. This made sleeping there very uncomfortable.
So if the owners would replace it, this would be a place to be recommended, but not in its current state.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoeNoeBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

What a fantastic find this B&B is. The rooms were pristine clean and very comfortable. The decor was gorgeous throughout, and there were some lovely personal touches, that made it feel like home. The dining room was lovely and the tables set out beautifully, from the Royal Doulton crockery to the stemmed glasses and Coopers of Stortford cutlery and the individual bowls of fruit salad and choice of yoghgurts and a divine breakfast. The proprietors were lovely; helpful but 'in the background', and nothing was too much trouble. And no, there was no internet connection, and yes we had to pay by (belive it or not ) cash money....how refreshingly quaint and unpretentious! And all for £55 for a double en suite...we will most defintely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shammy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Great location; good parking. However be advised that they only take cash which we didn't find out about until we were checking out which was disappointing. There is no breakfast menu and if you don't know to ask, you will just be given the standard meal, ie smoked salmon and scrambled eggs is available but not advised!! However, breakfast size and quality is excellent. There is also no internet connection available although they have it in the house, they don't share. Room clean and everything else fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

A group of us stayed, all were very pleased. Situated right next to the Eisteddfod Centre, and about 5 minutes walk from centre. Has a car park (which they allowed us to park in from the morning of our arrival) and there is also on street parking outside. Nice breakfast. We had the top room which has a dedicated, very spacious, bathroom across the landing from the room itself - worked fine for us. Only downside was that the front rooms overlook quite a busy road so we elected to close the windows, which made it a bit warm. Others of the group stayed in the Bridge End Hotel and gave it mixed reviews.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank TheKoolKestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Squirrels in April 2010. We were given a nice, light, very large double room which was clean and comfortable. The only minor grumble is the bed was a bit on the short side, if you are 6ft (as my husband is). That said, the ensuite bathroom was clean and well maintained with plenty of hot water when you needed it. The owners were extremley helpful and add to the relaxed atmosphere. Breakfasts were hearty and freshly cooked.

Just a short stroll into town across the bridge one of the biggest plus's here has to be the convenient location- but at the same time in a nice residential part of the town. We ate out at the Corn Mill which overlooks the Dee (about 7 min stroll from Squirrels). It was very booked up, but we managed to get a table. The food was excellent, definately one of the best eating/drinking places in Llangollen hence why it is so popular. Well worth booking in advance.

All in all, I think a night in Squirrels is worth £60 of anyone's money. The house and rooms as clean and comfortable. The food is very good. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloxyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Great B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rd996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Excellent, friendly, good food. Highly recommended the Squirrels.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brockben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
291 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mulberry Inn
The Mulberry Inn
#1 of 26 in Llangollen
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squirrels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squirrels Guest House

Address: Squirrels Abbey Road, Llangollen LL20 8SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Squirrels Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Squirrels Guest House Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing