We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Abbey Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbey Grange Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were staying at the campsite about a mile down the road when we came across this pub, the staff were very friendly and it was a great pint off guiness!!
We had checked out the menu and was impressed by the special board so we decide to eat her on the 3rd night when temp had dropped to -3!!! We went in and the log fire was roaring and it was such a nice warming feel, my Parker and I ordered starters and mains which were, piping hot and very tasty and filling portions.
We were not mithered, just left to enjoy our meal which was very cheap for the quality of food we received... Definitely eat here again :-D

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bickeringduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    59
    43
    41
    66
See reviews for
49
117
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

As you approach Abbey Grange you can only admire the views and the beautiful surroundings of the hotel, which only increases your expectations of how nice this hotel should be. Its not far from the Horseshoe Pass, some amazing Welsh natural terrain, and the worth-a-visit Llangollen. What also makes it an interesting hotel is the onsite micro-brewery which seems to attract bikers in particular.

However the realities of the hotel are much different...I have to agree with the majority of reviewers. The hotel is in desperate need of a refurbish, the last of which must have been done around late 70's / early 80's judging by the decor. I can live with old decor though if someone is clean and went kept...but the hotel is dirty, as you would expect from carpeted bathrooms. The beds are old and wobbly; mattresses with misplaced springs; wardrobes which fall toward you when you open the doors (straight on top of you if you're my 4 year-old niece); bathroom extractor systems which are connected to the kitchens extractor system which blows greasy fat into your bathroom; dust and cobwebs above shoulder height; thin walls between adjoining rooms; over-cooked welsh breakfast.

Its a shame really because the hotel has a privileged location, the majority of the staff we met were friendly, and the facilities onsite if upgraded would make for a nice 1 night bed and breakfast.

The rate they charge for a double room is really driven by local competition, who I guess are of a higher standard, but really the rooms here are only worth half what they charge.

Summary: Unfortunately for us there was no where else in Llangollen available on what was a busy weekend, but in hindsight I would have rather driven home than stay here.

Room Tip: Pick one at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CazTrav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Me and my family stayed at the Abbey Grange Hotel for one night, I really liked the way that they had old, tattered green carpet in the bathroom with dubious looking white hairs scattered over all the floor everywhere.

The silicon filing down the side of the bath looked like it was completed by a 7 year old on E-colours. The place need is caught up in the 70's, green sinks, bath suite. There we're chunks missing out the walls where it looked as if some one had been locked in the room for days as got so hungry that they tried to break out with their bare teeth.

On arrival of the "cleaned" room I slid my finger over the bathroom surfaces and found a layer of dust.. nice :)

We we're staying with 2 other couples, they decided that they didn't want to eat there formulating that thought solely on the state of their rooms. One of the couples we we're staying with had 2 kids and their "family room" wardrobe fell over on top of her and bruised and cut all her eye plus I know that they didn't have a shower head holder in their shower.

Their own home brew was really really nice, so at least at night when I laid down I couldn't focus on the cracks in the ceiling as much :)

Staff nice and helpful though just one staff on at breakfast and she seemed over worked and stressed.

Oh lastly nice play area out front which has a peacock enclosure for the kids and that was pretty cool.

Room Tip: don't choose room 5, 4, 3 (Those are the ones we stayed and they we're all dives!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graggus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Just left the hotel feeling full after a lovely breakfast. Glad we didn't check the The reviews first, although the hotel is old and a little dated, we found it to be very warm very homely. The room, number one, was nice. The decor was dated, But the four poster bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The bathroom was very clean, a 70s style which made us laugh but I had a lovely warm bath at the end of the day. Everywhere was clean and we would stay again. We booked the Brewery Tour through
Groupon for £20 which consisted of an explanation of the procedures and a taster of the ales following a lovely cheese (or ham) sandwich. We booked the hotel at the same time and paid £40. We have stayed at some beautiful hotels and paid accordingly do we were not disappointed here. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collinsclanliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place is very dated, our room has a en-suite that's from the 1970's with peeling paint and mould.

Very worn decor throughout and all the food seems to be cooked in a deep fat fryer.

Numerous beers/ largers were out of stock

The older staff (owner's?) were not very friendly.

The rooms remind me of a naff seaside B&B.

The only real plus is the price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

On arriving at the hotel it looks impressive with large grounds and picnic tables and rides for the kids. Adjacent to the hotel is the Llangollen Brewery which is a small micro-brewery and the hotel always served 3 of their beers. Apparently the chef was the brewer. Yes, ok, the hotel is tired and in need of some TLC and the maintenance in the rooms looked as though it had been done by a trainee DIY enthusiast but our rooms were perfectly adequate and both of out two rooms had 4 poster beds (yes the uprights were loose but so what). We found the staff to be very polite and attentive and we never had to wait long to be served. The biggest let down for us was the evening meal were we were all very disappointed. The best way to describe the meals was to say that it was like it had been cooked one or two days ago and then re-heated. My mash had re-solidified, steaks over-well done when ordered as medium rare, belly pork not crunchy skin and very overcooked. We quietly complained about this to the chef who immediately accepted the blame and refunded us the cost of the meal. It's a pity because this could be a beautiful hotel with some TLC. Their excuse was that until that weekend the hotel had been very quiet and it took them as a shock that it was so busy this weekend and basically they just couldn't cope. We'll see, I sincerely hope they manage to improve.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I am kicking myself that I didn't check trip advisor first and believe the website what was I thinking!! This is a tired dirty old hotel, the cleaning is sub standard, the 4 poster bed is a total joke, with the frame only just holding together and purple drapes not matching anything in the room, plus there is no top! The bathroom is very dated and does not include a shower, the plumbing makes a noise, the lack of ventilation has caused some mold. Plus the door has a hole in it covered up by a sticker! I would strongly suggest the owners call the Hotel Inspector before its too late! Major overall of the Hotel, the standards and the cleaning urgently needed! I was hoping that the breakfast might at least be passible, but no the sausages were cheap, the mushrooms old, the fried bread was so small it was difficult to see! It would appear that the owners have given up and just concentrate on the bar and micro brewery.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchrj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.0 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Grange Hotel

Property: Abbey Grange Hotel
Address: Horseshoe Pass Road, Llangollen LL20 8DD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Grange Llangollen
Abbey Grange Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing