We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly locals make it a very good stay.”
Review of Abbey Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Grange Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Located a little out of town on a road that is worth driving right to top! Great views.
Our room was quite a bit larger than expected (possibly helped by the tall ceilings?) and had a nice garden view. It is a lovely location.
Had a couple of meals that were quite okay - regular style, not flash. The chef had a quick check that all was okay (and that is always appreciated)
Especially enjoyed chatting with friendly staff and locals at bar before and after dinner. Helps make for a good stay. Try the local beers - brewed right next door!
Within hotel some of the fittings seem a bit dated and needed a freshen up. There is some obvious attempts to do this in some of the areas (this is good).
Overall, a good stay and recommend giving it a go (and say g'day to Declan).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustyute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stopped off here for lunch en route back south from Ruthin. It has its own brewery which was really interesting. The food and service were very good with HUGE portions so it was indeed excellent value. The views from the dining room were stunning and we really enjoyed our meal. The outside was being decorated when we visited and hopefully the owner will be able to continue the decorationg into the interior because it all looked a bit dated and in need of some attention, BUT everything was very clean which is really what matters. Will certainly go back if using the same route in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popintops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Lovely location. The food in the bar of the specials board was very good. The chips were excellent! Breakfast was fine. The room was clean and the four poster bed was comfortable. It was good value for money. The bathroom would have benefited from a proper shower rather than a hand held one running off the bath taps. It was what we expected for the price we paid but this price enabled us to stay for 3 nights rather than two. If you want a basic afordable hotel in near Llangollen then this hotel is fine. If you want luxury then this is not for you.
We will definitely return as it is such good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doddyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

we stayed here over night. this was a late booking. the hotel is a nice place , situated in a lovely location. the staff were lovely and very welcoming. the rooms could have done with a lot more loving tender care. the family room had got mould on the walls near the window. the 4 poster bed room en suite had a funky smell think the toilet was leaking , and the bed is small and hard. these are minor problems that could easily be sorted and then this hotel would be alot better. sorry i would not return .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUISE B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Staff friendly, helpfull. Knowledgeable about area. Could do with a bloody good tidy up. Time available. Location good if you like countryside views and walking. Dog friendly. Would definately go back down to earth working people. Good range of beers cider etc . Dining room busy superb breakfast what ever you want. Good on them. Just abut more effort no matter what the charge. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were staying at the campsite about a mile down the road when we came across this pub, the staff were very friendly and it was a great pint off guiness!!
We had checked out the menu and was impressed by the special board so we decide to eat her on the 3rd night when temp had dropped to -3!!! We went in and the log fire was roaring and it was such a nice warming feel, my Parker and I ordered starters and mains which were, piping hot and very tasty and filling portions.
We were not mithered, just left to enjoy our meal which was very cheap for the quality of food we received... Definitely eat here again :-D

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank bickeringduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

As you approach Abbey Grange you can only admire the views and the beautiful surroundings of the hotel, which only increases your expectations of how nice this hotel should be. Its not far from the Horseshoe Pass, some amazing Welsh natural terrain, and the worth-a-visit Llangollen. What also makes it an interesting hotel is the onsite micro-brewery which seems to attract bikers in particular.

However the realities of the hotel are much different...I have to agree with the majority of reviewers. The hotel is in desperate need of a refurbish, the last of which must have been done around late 70's / early 80's judging by the decor. I can live with old decor though if someone is clean and went kept...but the hotel is dirty, as you would expect from carpeted bathrooms. The beds are old and wobbly; mattresses with misplaced springs; wardrobes which fall toward you when you open the doors (straight on top of you if you're my 4 year-old niece); bathroom extractor systems which are connected to the kitchens extractor system which blows greasy fat into your bathroom; dust and cobwebs above shoulder height; thin walls between adjoining rooms; over-cooked welsh breakfast.

Its a shame really because the hotel has a privileged location, the majority of the staff we met were friendly, and the facilities onsite if upgraded would make for a nice 1 night bed and breakfast.

The rate they charge for a double room is really driven by local competition, who I guess are of a higher standard, but really the rooms here are only worth half what they charge.

Summary: Unfortunately for us there was no where else in Llangollen available on what was a busy weekend, but in hindsight I would have rather driven home than stay here.

Room Tip: Pick one at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CazTrav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Grange Hotel

Address: Horseshoe Pass Road, Llangollen LL20 8DD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: £54 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbey Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Grange Llangollen
Abbey Grange Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing