We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
Ranked #13 of 28 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a wedding there were 3 of us. We needed to get ready for the wedding and check in wasn't until 2'oclock but they kindly got our room tidy and let us in them early. The hotel itself was a bit old fashioned needed some modernising. The room we stayed in was nice but there was traffic noise from the room and you could hear other toilets going off from other rooms. But the owners were very pleasant and lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank xkitty-catx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
27
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Booked the Cambrian for a last minute one night stay in Llangollen. I had originally planned to drive from Hertfordshire and back in a day, but given the bad weather I am glad I stayed.

The Cambrian has a prominent position on the A5 just as you leave town. The welcome was nice - the owners are very pleasant, albeit with the classic "we bought a B&B and it is much tougher work than we expected" look.

I had a single room - very small but clean. Ironically the bathroom was bigger. My main complaint was the mattress. I'm a slim person but I could feel every wire. This lead to a poor sleep. I hope the Dolphins on the wall weren't too disturbed by me!

Breakfast was classic B&B though, great tasty and nice and warm. The on premises "Beehive" restaurant was full of junk, I can only assume they tidy up for the main season!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stained ceilings, tatty lace curtains, tatty wardrobe, old worn out carpets, faded (but clean) bed linen, blackened shower tray,(but otherwise clean), could only get BBC 1 on old tv. Stayed in family room overlooking A5 which was very noisy. Only mirror over double bed, no shower gel provided just cheap soap. Whole building smelt of stale fried food.
Breakfast: new girl being trained she, couldn't do poached egg, so had fried egg with cold mushrooms & nearly raw tomato, white toast only given on first morning, cheap jams, cheap tea & coffee.
We are walkers who stay in many B&Bs, we had the misfortune in staying here for two nights. How did it get WTB 3 stars?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Cambrian is in a good location but does need updating. It was clean and we got clean towels daily. i was amused by the lace 4 poster which has probably seen some action since its installation in the 80s which was when the style of lace curtains and chintz floral curtains were in fashion!! We actually felt sorry for the owner Roger who we nicknamed Basil because he did seem to be doing everything? actually he was the only member of staff we seen!! he was the chef, chambermaid, and barman, poor man worked hard and was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was hot and plenty of toast tea, coffee and juice if you asked for more. The building has a lot of potential but if you just wanted to have somewhere to stay for a short break which we did as my dad is recovering from major surgery and needed a break the Cambrian is ideal but a bit of advice about Llangollen dont bother with the steam train journey it was expensive and not worth the effort but the canal boat trips were lovely and the ice cream shop by the bridge is a must!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting the area. The building is quite old and a bit dated but was pleasant enough for somewhere to lay your head for the night.

The room we had was at the top of the building and whilst the layout was OK there were things that could have been better - particularly in the bathroom where you could do nothing private without putting on the light and drawing the blind!

The only other drawback is that it is right on the A5 which starts to get busy early in the morning.

The breakfast was very good and filling with plenty of tea.

Room Tip: Avoid the main road side to keep the traffic noise down
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed overnight to visit the International Eisteddfod. Lucky to get a room for that particular week. On the plus side the place is clean with friendly and helpful staff and proprietor, the food excellent and on premises parking. Its on the main road and all the attractions in Llangollen are easy to walk to. The place was undergoing refurbishment so I won't dwell on the décor and leaving it late before booking for such a busy week meant that we had one of the few non en-suite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Traditional bed and breakfast style room, clean and tidy with all that you might need, tiny bathroom and shower but perfectly usable!
Owners very friendly and accomodating. Lovely cooked breakfast, my husband was particularly impressed with his vegetarian breakfast and felt that a real effort had been made as they had included quorn bacon and sausages on his plate when most big Hotels don't bother!
Ideally located for anything you might want to see/do in Llangollen and we'd definitely stay again.
Only negatives were the room was cold in the night (December) and having to check out at 10am after a few liquid refreshments the night before!

Room Tip: We got the four poster bed at the front of the Hotel with a lovely big window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croesoicymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms

Property: Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8NB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing