We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent private cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage at Woodbank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage at Woodbank
The Cottage at Woodbank Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Cottage at Woodbank
The Cottage at Woodbank
Living Area
Kitchen/ diner
Double Bedroom
Shower room
Famous Pontcysyllte Aqueduct . 5 min walk away
Play area in the grounds of The Cottage
Kayaking over the Aqueduct
Day out with Thomas in LLangollen
Trevor fun day
View of LLangollen from Dinas Bran
Winter wonderland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joan W
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent private cottage”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely cottage right on the doorstep of the Llangollen canal, just a stones throw from the Llangollen viaduct. Good for lovely walks but also quite close to visit Llangollen town. The cottage is equipped with all you would need, very comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thanks Joan.
Delighted that everything went well and you had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah T
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Absolutely loved our stay - was a perfect cottage in a perfect spot. We would definitely recommend it and would return if coming back to the area. Plus super accomodating hosts!
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2018
We are delighted you enjoyed the Cottage and the surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maw747
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Accessible and pet-friendly, country retreat!”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We are always looking for places which are both accessible and pet friendly, this is perfect. Secure off-road parking right outside the door, then one small step into the single level property. Wood floors and leather sofa's, so no problem with pets after a long canal side walk. There is a well equipped open plan kitchen/diner/lounge, two bedrooms (twin and double) sharing a 'Jack& Jill' shower room.
The canal tow path is only a few metre's from the door and the wharf and famous aquaduct is only 5 minutes walk away (leave the car where it is).
The setting is peaceful, well looked after and well thought-out. The cottage is a stand alone building in the grounds of a bigger canal side property (where the owners live). The owners are friendly and approachable, whilst respectful of guests privacy and very, very quiet.
We will be coming back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2018
Thanks for your kind review and highlighting the benefits of being so close to good dog walking areas in this beautiful part of the Dee Valley. Look forward to welcoming you back again .

Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Quaint Cottage”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our family of four stayed at Woodbank Cottage over the Easter Weekend. Lovely little cottage and perfect location. Very Cosy and comfortable and a great welcome from the owner Steve.
The cottage is ideal if you want to explore Llangollen and the local area. We walked along the canal path to Llangollen on our first day which took about one and a half hours. Beautiful scenery and weather.
We loved the viaduct that you can reach from the cottage very easily and the cosy pub nearby called The Telford Arms. The children loved seeing the narrow boats along the canal. The next day we climbed Dinas Castel in Llangollen - amazing views of the Snowdonia mountain range. On our last day we took the steam train to Berwyn and visited Horseshoe Falls. Would highly recommend The Cornmill Restaurant and the Deeside Café Bistro in Llangollen.
Wonderful weekend away and great memories made. Thanks also to Steve for the Easter Eggs for our Easter Egg Hunt - so kind of you!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the Cottage. Your suggestions will, I'm sure, be very helpful for guests in the future. Many thanks.
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart S
1 review
“First Stay in Llangollen”
Reviewed 1 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Ideal location for the canal and aquaduct walk and easy access into Llangollen itself. Just over an hour's drive if planning on visiting Snowdonia. Cottage compact and ideal for short stay. The only things that did not live up to expectation were the electric shower which was not very forceful and overall the living area was a little dusty. We also found being quite tall people the settees very narrow and not overly comfortable. Having said that though there were nice touches of welcome treats, including bottle of wine and Welsh cakes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2018
Thanks for the review Stuart.
We are pleased you, overall enjoyed your visit. We are disappointed that you felt that the Cottage was dusty as we do the cleaning ourselves. Sorry if we did not keep to our normal standards and that the sofas did not suit.
I will check the shower as this has never been mentioned before.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Feb 2018
Thanks, we sure really pleased when peoples weekend are such a success. You are welcome to come gain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rhian K
Gaerwen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Had a lovely few days' stay at the Cottage, very enjoyable. Plenty of room for two people, comfy bed, very impressed with the size of the bathroom, great shower. The Cottage has everything you need to make your stay complete. Loved watching a pair of squirrels playing in the trees just outside the window. Great location, ideal for walking towards Llangollen or the Pontcysyllte Aquaduct which is very near to the Cottage. Many thanks Steve for everything, the Welsh Cakes were delicious!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
We're delighted you had a good weekend at the Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing