We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable night”
Review of Glasgwm B&B

Glasgwm B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glasgwm B&B
Ranked #8 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A comfortable night”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here while walking Offa's dyke path. We had a large comfortable room in this Victorian house, with a small ensuite shower room. Tea and cake on arrival was most welcome with a pleasant breakfast the following day. Recommendation for dinner was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMBBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

John and Heather made us very welcome in their Victorian B and B which is a short stroll from the centre of Llangollen. There is a guest lounge (TV a little on the small side) and we shared a twin room at the front of the house. Our hosts were very attentive and served us a good cooked breakfast the next morning. The house is on a fairly busy main road and as the windows in the bedroom were single glazed, there was quite a bit of traffic noise.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

An extremely convenient B&B just a couple of hundred yards from the hub of Llangollen beside the steam railway, canal and the river. There's car parking for about three vehicles, a couple of steps up to the front door and a generous. welcoming hall with somewhere to shed walking boots etc.
John is hospitable - happy to take bags up the stairs, advise on the locale and provide details of the internet access etc. We agreed on breakfast time and our likely choices from the full fry-up and then made for our twin room. This is on the front with a large pair of windows with a great country view. However it is noisy.
The radiators came on (lovely), we had tea making facilities and some magazines. The easy chairs are in need of recovering (this went beyond being shabby chic!). I wasn't impressed with my bed - closest to the window - with springs that squeeked every time I moved. It may be in keeping with the room decor (Victoriana?) but it needs replacing. The shower ensuite was adequate.
Breakfast was good with an excellent fruit salad plus all the usuals you'd expect from a British B&B - this time in a help yourself style from a dish served to the table.
The guest lounge was nice with an amazing array of guide books. I wasn't sure if we were allowed to play the piano (if guests may do so then some sheet music would be a nice touch). There was a very small TV which would have been better in our room as we didn't have one at all (we like to check the weather and news while we have our morning tea). Then a bigger lounge TV might replace it. So all in all not too many gripes - just a bit of an overhaul needed - but very nice people.

Room Tip: The double on our landing looked better than our twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0wiewhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My family just returned from vacation in Great Britian. After a long road trip we arrived at Glasgwm. This B&B is exactly what you think of when booking a British B&B. We had to rent two rooms since we couldn't get a family room. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. The little bar with beverages in the hall was a nice touch. John was very pleasant and gave us a great recommendation for dinner - Gail's - great dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamthatLoves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed over at the Glasgwm and had a very enjoyable stay. The B&B is situated in a fantastic location.
The room we had , Kingsize Double was lovely, full of Victorian charm and room facilities were great.
Heather and John were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious and very filling. A great find and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

After reading other reviews, our expectations were high. John did give us good advice about the aqueduct. We stayed in the best room but found that the shower was so small you could barely close the door and that the bed was uncomfortable. The room was very cluttered and only had one thickness of curtain so it was very bright at 4.30am! We did mention that to John and he just said that it was the time of the year so perhaps it doesn't bother others.

The cold breakfast was good but we did not enjoy the hot breakfast. We did enjoy the company of other travellers at breakfast and I suspect, many are walkers who sleep soundly anyway. It is quite cheap but we wished that we had paid more and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Right from the start John made you feel very welcome, with tea and home made cake.
The rooms were comfortable, but no TV.
Off road parking, but limited.
The B&B location is only yards from the town or railway so it makes it an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southcoaster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.2 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Mulberry Inn
The Mulberry Inn
#1 of 26 in Llangollen
653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Llangollen
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgwm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgwm B&B

Property: Glasgwm B&B
Address: Glasgwm Abbey Road, Llangollen LL20 8SN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgwm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glasgwm B&B Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing