We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed for 1 night - was given "bunk house" room in beer garden. V noisy with all the chatter from this, door lock loose and had to draw blinds and put light on as everyone could see in. No towels in room. No soap etc. Shower falling to bits, v small tv in corner high up. Breakfast just about ok, fairly bland tasting, bacon all fat. Good location for llangollen. Would say avoid

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shymike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
15
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

large room and very comfortable bed,no shower only a bath was only downside,downstairs pub served a nice pint of draught peroni as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed for a weekend in December 2010 and we were really impressed. We had the family room and brought our own travel cot. The room had a double and single bed and was clean and cosy.
Breakfast was delicious and the staff were ever so friendly and helpful.
Parking is difficult - we parked on the next road to the pub - we were given a temporary pass by the pub which enabled us to park on the road for free.
Rates are reasonable too - I have already recommended the pub to friends who have also booked a stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Stayed here for the new year, what a lovely friendly place made you feel like you'd known them all your life. Lovely breakfast and you could choose what time you wanted it. Would definitely go back again.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ledsmed
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We Stayed at this Lovely B"n"B Hotel ..x. Highly rate The Service .x. The Breakfast" and Evening Meal" The Food was Awesome" Once we had arrived we Checked in .. then soon left the Wynnstay.x. to explore Llangollen.x. we where in the company of other Couples... on our return back to the hotel .. we checked out the Meal menu .. at the Wynnstay Arms .. the six of us were all in agreement that to Food Choice" Price" and Look of the Food on offer was far to good to turn down .x. the Bill for our evening meal for six people was £56.00.Pounds.x. We were Stuffed.x. I complemented the Head Chef" Janet personally .. i was that impressed with the food that i Bought here a Bottle of Pear Cider" it was the drink of her choice.. i also told Brian the Wynnstay owner that he has fantastic helpful staff" and Heaped extra Praise for Janet" the Cook" .x. Her Welsh Black Beef" Is I am told is her Top Dish".. I had the Lamb on the Bone" with Veg" ..the Gravy was Awesome that went with this Meal..x. all in all Folks the whole Stay was Brilliant .. i Celebrated my 50th Birthday with Friends..I'd like to Thank So much The Staff at the Wynnstay Arms Hotel.x. the Cost of £45.00 .. with Breakfast" Per room for a couple was totally Fantastic Value. Room Clean .x. Parking permit free from the hotel .. I'd Highly Recommend .. A Stay" And Food and Drink at The Wynnstay Arms Hotel ..x.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ledsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

This was the worst hotel experience I have had in over 30 years of very wide internetional travel. I think I had been placed in what the Wynnstay Arms describes as it's family bunk room. At any rate, the room contained 7 beds and virtually no other furniture. There were no bed-side tables or lamps, there was no wardrobe, basically this was a bare and very down-at-heel room above a pub. One of the window panes was missing, the shower did not work (at all), the TV was a tiny portable one with bad reception. I could go on but I guess the point is made...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed at the wynnstay arms for one night, the manager and staff were very freindly and helpful, After a great nite in the town we arrived downstairs half an hour late for our breakfast but we were told by the cook this was no problem and she cooked us a lovely breakfast.

Would definately stay there again - had a lovely time

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Property: Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
August 2015 - Recently taken over by a local family a warm welcome awaits you at The Wynnstay Arms, a traditional 17th century coaching inn set in the centre of Llangollen and within walking distance of many local attractions, shops, restaurants and cafes. Come and enjoy our selection of real ales, quality wines and be warmed by our real log fire.Our recently refurbished beer garden provides an attractive drinking and dining area, where during the summer months we offer regular bar-b-ques and entertainment.We offer comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices, catering for families ,groups ,double and single occupancy ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Arms Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing