We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks at the Wynnstay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Drinks at the Wynnstay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We visited the Wynnstay for drinks on the 13th June. We had visited Llangollen to play golf and were rained off. This is a quirky pub but with lots of character. It has good real ale, we enjoyed the Black Sheep. The locals were very sociable and the staff very helpful. I had read some bad reports about poor service, but it has a new manager (Mike?) and he certainly had things organised. Well worth a visit for a pint, or two!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    20
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
15
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I was staying in Llangollen last Bank Holiday where I had a fanstatic weekend. After doing some lengthy hill-walking and returning to the town I decided to pop into the Wynnstay Arms Hotel for a real ale. I entered the bar and there was one member of staff present and a small number of people sitting in the area. I was waiting with my money in my hand when a guy walked into the bar and helped himself to a soft drink and paid the bar person. Still waiting to get served another member of bar staff arrived. Then shortly after a group of 15 people entered the bar and the bar person who had arrived then went to serve the group. Feeling dubious then about getting served and how long I was going to have to wait two other guys shouted for a drink from the service hatch and this same bar person said "I'll serve you in a minute". It was obvious then that I was being treated as thin air so I left the premises in complete disgust. I think it is the height of bad manners so therefore I doubt very much as to a return for any refreshment and judging by other comments I have read regarding accommodation standards I doubt very much I'll spend a night there too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mediaplayer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

been to llangollen a lot allways liked visitng the wynnstay so decided to stay for the weekend with the family . absoloutley fantastic we all enjoyed it rooms nice and clean,staff very freindly and helpfull, food excellent , atmosphere fabulous , stayed in room 5 on 8/9 feb 2013.definatley going to stay there again. ps try the pan fried prawns and spaghetti with chilli and garlic sauce mmmmm

Room Tip: room 5 good for families of 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ligsnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wynnstayarms, Owner at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Llangollen and your stay with us. We have worked hard over the last few months to upgrade the rooms withing our B&B. We hope to see you again soon.

The Wynnstay Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here with my dog for one night. Room clean girl behind bar very helpfull. Tried booking again 9 2 13 without dog but was fully booked. Brill place will be staying again And coal fire in bar only smal bar room but cosy didn't av any thing to eat so can't comment. You can park on the road just down abit. No charge until 9 Monday morning Saying that I stayed Sunday night from 7ish think you ok to park ther from a certain time. Anyway go ther it's good

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wynnstayarms, Owner at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Llangollen and your stay with us. We have worked hard over the last few months to upgrade the rooms within our B&B.

We always welcome dogs as long their owners are well behaved :)

We hope to see you again soon.

The Wynnstay Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Returned to the Wynnstay Arms and found rooms all refurbished. Halls and communal stairs all
fresh and clear of any items that made the place look so untidy in the past. Was very impressed
both with the new decor and the warm and welcome from the staff.

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Where to start?! It's one of those places that you hear someone talking about and it sends shivers up your spine thinking how horrible it must have been for them!
The place is falling apart, my room was on the top floor - it was hot, the windows were sealed shut, there was old gaffer tape on the window sills telling you not to open the windows, the plaster was coming off of the walls, there was no toilet paper in the bathroom, the seat fell off the toilet when I tried to sit on it, I made the mistake of walking on the carpet barefoot and wondered where all the hairs were coming from when I was in the shower - of course, from the dog hairs that were stuck to my feet and all over the carpet! The bed was so soft you sank lovingly into the springs and the sheets smelt of wet dog!
We booked breakfast for 07.30, arrived downstairs to find the place devoid of life so we made our way to what we presummed was the dinning room. There was no breakfast items ready so we presummed that this must be good old fashioned "Do it yourself". On entering the kitchen you are met with the nice odour of stale grease and tacky surfaces, trying to find a bowl for the cereal was quite the challenge as they were all dirty with dried egg yolk on them and other unidentified morsals - in the end I gave up and poured my milk into the cereal packet.
If there was one thing positive to say it was that the bar staff were friendly but apart from that it is a complete dive.
We mistakenly thought we might have found a decent place at £65 per night! How do these places stay open??

Room Tip: Don't even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

On arrival we were shown to our room . On the way there was a strong unpleasant smell and we passed several holes cut into the walls to expose pipework ! As for the room it was full of cracks , as stated by previous reviewer window screwed shut and larger pane of glas stuck over smaller broken one ! No toilet paper and shower very poor . Whole room generally grubby . In morning no sign of anyone so we had to go into the kitchen to find some cereal . The kitchen was dirtier than the bedroom our feet stuck to the floor , failed to find a clean plate or bowl in supposed pile of clean plates . Reminded me of Ramseys kitchen nightmares ! I cannot state strongly enough NEVER stay here . If I had had the option I would have given it -10 out of 5 !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wynnstayarms, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
we apologise for any bad experience that you may have had with us, we are happy to announce that we have now had a grant from the brewery who own the pub to update all of the rooms within the hotel which will be taking place over the next couple of weeks.

We again apologise for you bad experiance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
469 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Property: Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
August 2015 - Recently taken over by a local family a warm welcome awaits you at The Wynnstay Arms, a traditional 17th century coaching inn set in the centre of Llangollen and within walking distance of many local attractions, shops, restaurants and cafes. Come and enjoy our selection of real ales, quality wines and be warmed by our real log fire.Our recently refurbished beer garden provides an attractive drinking and dining area, where during the summer months we offer regular bar-b-ques and entertainment.We offer comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices, catering for families ,groups ,double and single occupancy ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Arms Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing