We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff excellent, location amazing, restaurant tasty, room a bit tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

It was our 2nd stay at the hotel and as they had no river view standard rooms available I updated to a VIP room. The balcony we got with the room was outstanding we sat on it with a bottle of wine listening to the Dee. It was certainly well worth the upgrade . The room itself was a little tired especially the bathroom where there were glass holders missing and dirty marked paintwork.
I was also suprised the spa is now extra but also quite pleased by this as it meant we basically had it to ourselves both days. It also allows the hotel prices to stay so reasonable giving people the option.
The restaurant suprised us the first time we visited and did not let us down on this visit. The food is very tasty and again great value for money.

To conclude as I could witter forever;
A very comforable friendly hotel with decent food. A riverview balcony is definitely worth paying for and the location is outstanding. You don't pay 5* prices so don't expect 5* rooms but we will visit everytime we are in Wales as we love it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz-Al01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John186439, General Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for finding the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again.

Please visit our website for our current up to date offers.

Look forward to welcoming you back to White Waters Country Hotel

Regards

John Churchward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing 3 night break at the White Waters Hotel. We booked through the hotel itself as it had a great 3 for 2 night dinner, full breakfast and bed.
We arrived early but were able to check in which was great. Our room was the River Dee room which had a very large balcony with a fantastic view of the river. The evening meals were excellent and the service very good. We had a great time in the bar in the evening and we chatted to the owner and Mark the barman. Everyone at the hotel could not have done enough for us. We will definately be staying here again and would love to stay in the same room.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have got the balconies and they are well worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeyparrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The White Waters Country Hotel is well located near Llangollen (about five mins walk or £3.60 local taxi) right in the heart of the hills. We stayed for two nights over Valentines weekend and had the fixed menu in the restaurant on one night.

Positives:
Good location, easy parking, easy to find. Plenty of internal space and offers lots of facilities if required. Rooms are cleaned well and have a nice bath and shower, modern tv and comfy clean bed. Furniture doesn't have an 'ikea' character. The restaurant had a good menu, the service was polite and quick.

Negatives:
Most extra facilities come at a price giving it an 'EasyJet' feel about it. For example a cooked breakfast is an additional £10 each pppn, use of the limited leisure suite is £5 pppn, any form of rooms service incurs a £10 charge etc.
Squeaking floorboards - I have never stayed in a hotel that creaks quite as much. For want of some well placed screws, the quality of sleep would be much improved.
The hotel is in need of a good maintainer, the sealant in the bathrooms is tired, floor tiles cracked, bits and pieces held together with tape.
The restaurant lacked character in its food, dull bland vegetables came with the meals which were of an acceptable quality but nothing to write home about.

Overall:
Not a bad show, the management would do well to look at the place with an inspecting eye that carries high standards. We enjoyed our stay, yet it was not enhanced too much by the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms which isn't effected by squeaking floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I booked this through Groupon for me and my partner. I upgraded to a v.i.p room and river view. Both were nice but would of preferred to stay in the basic room, as the 'cedear' room was just average. We stayed 14-16 feb, and had the 5course valentines meal, for the price it was good.
Llangollen is lovely, and I think that for the price of a basic room, it is worth the price.
Staff are great, and make the hotel what it is.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laweliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

we stayed at white waters hotel for two nights, it is such a lovely hotel with beautiful scenery. our room was very nice clean and comfortable with a balcony over looking the river dee. staff are very friendly here and made our stay enjoyable. Plenty to do in the village and nice walks to go on. food is enjoyable also so we could relax there at end of day, would recommend this hotel. 10/10

Room Tip: all rooms lovely and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewsburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We went to the eat at the restaurant for Valentine's Day. It was billed as a five course candle lit meal. The setting was excellent and the menu was fine for a fixed price meal. We had the trout and egg salad to start. My partner had the Sea Bass and I had the chicken for my main course.

My only problem was that although the main element of the meal was excellent, the accompanying vegetables and salad seemed rather below par and poor. Having been to the restaurant a few times before for 'al a carte' eating I was disappointed, particularly as this was a special occasion with my new wife and her first visit.

Having said that, the 5 item shared desert was a lovely touch and we enjoyed that.

As I said in the title very good but has been better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

"Comfortable" does not sound too inspiring, but after a long, winter drive to attend a wedding and a stay for one night, comfortable and warm was exactly what my wife and I wanted. Our "suite" room on the 2nd floor was of moderate size, with ensuite bath/shower room and a small balcony overlooking the white-water River Dee. Too cold to enjoy the balcony to its full, but a lovely outlook. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower over the bath proved to be one of the best the we've experienced in any hotel the world over. Not a sound from the noisy wedding disco could be heard in our room - another big plus. On arrival, we enjoyed a light fish lunch that was without fault. We also enjoyed a full English breakfast - the Continental breakfast offering did seem to be rather limited. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and the prices were more than reasonable. We cannot comment on the main restaurant dinner menu, as we ate at the wedding buffet in the evening. Ours was a very short stay on this occasion - if we were to visit Llangollen again in the future to explore the town and the area, we would have no hesitation in booking this Hotel and the same room, if available, again. A very relaxing place to stay, in our view. Recommended.

Room Tip: From our experience, room on the 2nd floor very quiet - get one with outlook at back overlooking Riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John186439, Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Many thanks for finding the time to review our hotel. Im delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay.

Remember to look at our website for current offers. Book direct with the hotel and recieve a food voucher.

Kind regards,

John Churchward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
421 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing