We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Perfect Wedding”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Firstly I want to apologise to the staff in the White Waters for taking so long to write this review.
When we first visited the hotel as a location for our wedding it was the views over looking the River Dee that firstly took our breath away.
After meeting with their wedding co-ordinator Jon Churchwood nothing was too much trouble and all of our questions and demands were answered and met.
Being a very organsied person myself dealing with Jon, was a pleasure as he too has an eye for detail.
After feeling like I took over Jon's life and the hotel for nearly 2 years our day finally arrived.
Our quests were met by Jon and a glass of bubbly and waited for us to arrive.
We then managed to have 5 mins with Jon who quickly showed us the dining room set up, cake and decorations. Everything was perfect!
After being able to go right down to the river for photographs we were then introduced by Jon into the dining room where all our guests welcomed us.
We had 64 quests who were all served their food prompty and piping hot. We are a family who like a food and the portions were more than enough even for a starving bride! Tosh and his team were brilliant so special thanks to you all.
Mark was on hand to pour the bubbly and even left some extra for My Husband and I.
After having a few drinks in the bar (thanks again to Mark for keeping everyone topped up!)
the evening was upon us before we knew it.
The function room again was decorated beautifully. The food at night was also amazing and there was plenty for everyone. The DJ was great and got everyone up dancing. I think he even got a few gigs after the wedding from some of our guests he was that good.
We had arranged fireworks at night and as an extra special suprise my family has arranged a comedy style plunger to start off the fireworks.
They lit up the whole valley and all of our guests were loving them.
Afterward a very long day Jon came to say goodnight to myself and my husband before he left.
They honeymoon suite we chose was amazing and called the Dee Valley. We had a seperate dining room section, massive bathroom and beautiful old fashion dark wood bed overlooking the River.

We had a magical day and it was made so stress free and even more perfect by the friendly and helpful staff who I have got to know really well.
Thank you all for the perfect wedding x

Room Tip: The Dee Valley room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

What a lovely review! Thank you so much it is fantastic to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your special day so much.
All the staff here at White Waters thoroughly enjoys working here and especially creating the right atmosphere and high standards of service to ensure everything runs smoothly. It is very rewarding to read your comments and to know that their professionalism is recognised.

It was a pleasure to everyone at the hotel to look after you and your guests on your Wedding Day.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    212
    73
    40
    26
See reviews for
120
441
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My friend asked me to join her for a 2 night stay/3 day break at the White Waters Country Hotel (Groupon voucher) and I have to say, I was very dubious about what to expect for the price paid for our weekend stay. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived and greeted with a smile by the receptionist, Sarah who checked us in and provided us with information about breakfast times, the spa and directed us to our room. We were allocated the 'Telford Room' overlooking the car park, which was clean, tidy and perfect for our needs as we weren't planning on spending too much time at the hotel. There are larger rooms with a riverside view subject to an upgrade fee. The hotel is located on the A5 and a lovely 15-20 minute walk along the river to Llangollen.

We visited the lounge bar on a few occassions and it felt very homely and relaxed, especially with the fire going. All members of staff are attentive and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay.

Thank You for a fantastic break! I would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJP_Cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and it was a very good deal with Groupon.
The fire roaring in the lounge/bar is always popular and gives a cosy, homely touch which is welcoming after a long day out exploring.

Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and staff.

Kind regards
Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We went on recommendation of some friends to have a few days away from it all... And we were not disappointed. We had a wonderful time at this lovely hotel set in beautiful surroundings ....enjoyed the pool and the steam room..was just what we need a good chill cant wait to go again

Room Tip: The rooms with a balacony (dependent on time of year you visit) with a view of the river absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for finding the time to review White Waters Country Hotel.

It is very good to hear that you came on a recommendation from your friends.
I am pleased you had a lovely time and enjoyed the scenery and the use of the spa.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks

Kind regards
Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We recently stayed in this country hotel and had an upgrade due to the hotel requesting that we changed the date of our stay. The upgrade was a balcony which in warmer weather would have been very pleasant. However, in November usage was limited. The room was a small attic room that smelt of damp. The bathroom was very cramped with nowhere to put anything apart from on the floor - the shelf was broken and there was no room for a chair. The overall feeling of the hotel was one desperately in need of refurbishment - all very '70s!
The continental breakfast was very basic - cereals, stewed fruit, 42p Happy Shopper yoghurts! and toast. There was no sign of the croissants that were on the menu.
The only redeeming element of this stay were the friendly and helpful staff. However, taking everything into account it is not a hotel that we would like to visit again.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are very cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Owner at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
I would like to thank this customer for finding time to review our hotel.
The FREE upgrade which was given was to a room with a super queen sized bed, church style ceiling with a height of 15ft and also an outside balcony. Whilst you could not benefit full usage of the balcony due to normal November weather conditions it still has fantastic scenic views even just to take a momentary time on there.
The bathroom is quaint as it is one of the rooms to the original part of the building built in the 1860’s which gives the room character and quirkiness.
Our Continental breakfast which is self service of cereals, fruit juice, yoghurts, fruit, toast and croissants which would be served by a member of staff upon request.
The hotel at present is being decorated as and when so there is minimal interruption caused to our guests as all our guests are very important to us.

Alison Mellor
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Just had a couple of day’s activity visit to the area with friends and colleagues and found this very clean and friendly hotel.
This is the first time I have felt the need to write a review and it is not so much to gush about it being the greatest hotel that I have ever been in but more the fact that on our visit the combination of creating a relaxing atmosphere but making sure you have everything you need in my opinion was spot on.
Was more than comfortable in having a meal in what is very much a traditional bar or the very spacious and well designed restaurant. I will gush at the breakfast being one of the best I had within a hotel.
All staff that I encountered were friendly, professional and very helpful.
Will make this first choice when ever I am in the area.

Room Tip: You pay your money you takes your choice. If you are willing to pay the extra the named rooms have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on White Waters Country Hotel.

It is excellent to hear that you appreciated the atmosphere created by all who work here and their professionalism. It is good to hear positive feedback on the restaurant and bar food and that you enjoyed both experiences.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

my husband and i syayed overnight in september although let down on our pre:booked balcony room due to amix up we have been promised a free upgrade on our next visit.put this aside we had alovely stay , lovely river view from room.spa and pool facilities very relaxing.would recommend eating in the comfortable bar rather than the restaurant as we found it lacked atmosphere and there was more choice in the bar and very nice.all the staff were friendly and welcoming .will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank you for leaving a review.

It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay especially as it was a Birthday treat. It is lovely to hear you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the facilities here at White Waters Country Hotel.

I am sorry that there was a mix-up with your room booking and that we can rectify this on your return visit.


Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the Limosin Dinner and Dance, the room was OK, clean and comfortable but the food was a big let down. The starter of pate was very average tasted more like potted meat and had hardly any garnish. The main course was roast beef but the beef (sadly not limosin beef) had been sliced cold then warmed up in gravey except it wasn't very warm and the gravey was gloopy. We had to ask for more veg as there was so little which did arrive just as we were finishing the meal. The puddings were also very average, apple pie (made with pie filling from a tin by the look of it) with a tiny blob of squirty cream or vanilla cheesecake which was bland could have done with a bit more of the raspery sauce which was lovely.
Breakfast the next morning wasn't much better, I have never seen such a tiny sausage

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fafxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Owner at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank you for your customer review.
I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and clean but disappointed that you were let down by the food. Although the beef was not Limosin beef it is supplied by a local supplier as we like to use local produce, I would like to point out that this was the same beef used on your meal as last year which you were impressed by.
As for the apples I can assure you that the apple pies are made with fresh apples and not tinned once again that you gave good comments to last year.
Finally the breakfast served of bacon, sausage, egg, black pudding, hash browns, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans, the sausage used are a breakfast sausage again from a local supplier.
I can only apologise that you were not impressed this year as you were the previous year. I do hope that we have your continued support.

Alison Mellor
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Property: White Waters Country Hotel
Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing