We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived on 26th October for 2 nights on a Groupon deal and were welcomed by friendly staff. Two days prior to arrival, we had requested an upgrade to a river view room if possible, so were pleased to learn that this had been made available (at an extra cost of £10 per night). The room 'Eiranfa' was a delight, on the top floor, with a small terrace with two chairs to sit and enjoy the views of the River Dee and beyond it the Llangollen railway line. We took all our meals in the 'Rafters' restaurant, and they were served efficiently and hot. The prices of the meals were very reasonable. However, we would agree with some comments made previously that some areas of the hotel look a little tired, but on the whole it is a clean, pleasant hotel and we would definately return for another stay. We enjoyed the walk (approx. 20/25 mins) into Llangollen, initially walking along the main road then cutting through a small park and continuing on a riverside path. Overall, it is the staff who make this a nice place to stay and they do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a river facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review and once again it's great to read that you were able to upgrade and also had the added bonus of having a balcony to enjoy the surrounding scenery.

I appreciate your feedback that some areas need attention and these areas are being addressed as and when possible.

Thank you very much for your comments on our customer service, it is always rewarding to all of us here that we have done everything possible to ensure our guests stay is enjoyable.

I do hope you return and it would be lovely to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    213
    75
    40
    26
See reviews for
121
444
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked this on spec as we travelled through Wales. The staff were friendly, informative and helpful. The food was good after a long day travelling. ,The rooms were fairly basic but clean and comfortable. Lots of hot water in a reasonable bathroom (can you believe this is still an issue in some hotels) and a good bed meant we slept well and woke to a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review it is a delight to read that you were happy with all aspects of your stay.

It boosts staff moral to hear that we were friendly, helpful and informative as we strive to give excellent customer service our visitors deserve.

We do hope you return again sometime.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here last weekend on a Groupon deal at £95 for 2 nights, we paid an additional £10 per night on arrival to upgrade to a room with a river view. We had an excellent stay.
I am surprised by the last 2 reviews, especially the review that said fishing equipment was provided. It clearly stated on the website and the Groupon voucher that fishing equipment WASN'T provided. Location was great.

Our room was lovely, very clean, and very spacious. Tea and coffee facilities, shampoos and room service all available along with tv, hairdyer and clothes press.

We ate in the bar on our first night and the food was lovely and under £10 per meal.

Staff were all really friendly and were really helpful on asking for places to go etc

We ate the in the restaurant only for breakfast but the restaurant itself was lovely! Tea and coffee and lots of variety on offer for the continental breakfast that was included in the price.

All in all a great stay and we would love to go back, definitely worth paying the extra £10 per room for a river view! Ask for room 208! :-)
Also worth a drive up to Horse Shoe Pass, really great views!

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view room for an extra £10 per night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xSunSeaSandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review.

It is wonderful to read that you had an excellent stay & were able to upgrade to a river view it does make a difference looking out onto the river and countryside.

I am also delighted to hear that our high housekeeping standards were appreciated and I will certainly let them know that their hard work is noticed. It's great to hear your positive comments on the lovely bar food and most importantly that it was good value.

Thank you very much for your feedback it is very welcome and your tips help other travellers visiting the area.

I do hope you return for another stay here at White Waters Country Hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed last weekend on a Groupon deal. First the positives, staff pleasant and friendly. Good service and cleanliness. Location of hotel approximately 3/4 mile from town centre and a nice walk into town. Slight hill on way back but not too steep. Hotel overlooks river which is lovely and pleasant with large decked area. Now for the negatives, as per the previous reviewer this hotel is long overdue for an update. Everything is dated from the patterned carpets to the swags and tails curtains. Our bedroom had well used furniture, evidence of damp around windows (paint flaking, mould around window frame), telephone socket hanging off wall. The bathroom was worse, mould around bath, mis-matched bath seals, huge amount of silicone to create seal around bath panel, cracked floor tiles, missing sink shelf ( brackets on wall but no glass shelf) loose/broken shower slider rail. We had evening meal there and would class food as adequate for the price. We also had a cooked breakfast which was ok, but was an additional cost. Overall we were disappointed with our stay and unfortunately would not return. With some serious upgrading this could be a really good hotel, and once again the staff really help this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysidePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is very much appreciated that you found all the staff to be pleasant and friendly and that the standards of cleanliness and service good.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed in your stay and I assure you that all the negatives mentioned will be addressed. The hotel is in the process of having improvements made and redecoration were needed as and when possible which during busy times can be difficult.

Once again I am sorry we have failed you but would appreciate the chance to rectify this if you return.

kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed for two nights on a groupon deal last weekend. I booked it for my husbands birthday to fish, ( on only find out the season had ended on arrival! despite a few prior phone calls regarding fishing. The fishing area was small and not ideal. The website on groupon said it provided fishing stuff, which it didn't so we brought our own. The hotel did not provide cots or even a travel cot which i think is poor and a service most hotels give. We upgraded our room at a price to be given a tiny attic room (which smelt damp and very hot) and when it rained ( alot) sounded like being in a tin can. Despite the poor weather we had a nice time and the staff were friendly and helpful. I think its fair to say that the hotel itself could do with a serous update. Although funny its not really hygienic to see a parot in a large cage in the reception and the outdated water feature was a blast from the 70's.
The breakfast was a joke. White sliced cheap bread ( or brown) which kept running out, marmalade and some soggy tinned fruit and cheap yogurts. We paid for a cooked breakfast ( nice but at a price). The evening meal was very disappointing too, over cooked dry trout fillet drenched in far too much butter served with over boiled veg accompanied by very loud cheesy music in the bar.
All in all a pretty disappointing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSaKkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for writing a review on the hotel.

Firstly may I just point out that it clearly states on the Groupon voucher that the river permit is free but you must bring your own equipment and tackle, I certainly wouldn't want anybody to be mislead. Also although the season may have finished you are still welcome to use the river as a lot of fisherman are happy to just practice techniques and casting.

Regarding the mention of travel cots there are strict health & safety issues that must be met and it was decided that when asked that the majority of parents wished to use their own.

I am sorry that the weather was not kind to you but despite this you had a nice time.

The room that you were allocated is in the old part of the building retaining it's character with sloping ceilings and an outside balcony which takes in the beautiful surroundings although it was raining heavily I assure you that it is a tiled roof.

I am sorry that you found the continental breakfast disappointing but we do find that most people are more than happy to upgrade to a full cooked breakfast at £5.95 a head if they wish.

Obviously we can't cater to all tastes but have tried to create different styles around the hotel to enhance the character of the building if the best way possible.

Once again thank you for your review we do welcome all feedback good or bad.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here on a Groupon offer and upgraded to the River Dee room - Wow what a view from the large and well appointed balcony with it's rattan table and 4 chairs, great to sit out and enjoy a cup of tea whilst gazing at the beautiful scenery.The bedroom is large with the most comfortable super kingsize bed we have slept in, the facilities in the room are well appointed. Food in the resturant was well cooked and presented, plus a really good choice selection from the Table d' Hote menu. The service from all staff was welcoming and friendly and it's refreshing to stay in a hotel where the staff will engage you in conversation and not just simply serve you.
The hotel is ideally located for touring North Wales.

Room Tip: River Dee room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve-les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing White Waters Country Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at White Waters Country Hotel.

The bedroom that you had is very well appointed to take in the stunning views from the balcony and I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable night the super king-size bed is always appreciated.

It's pleasing to read that you found the food of good standard and well presented and it's important to have this feedback.

It is most important to all of us here that we create the right level of service and make sure all our customers are made to feel welcome. It makes our day to hear we have been successful at achieving this.

We all hope you make a return visit to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just a quick note becuase other reviews have commented in detail.
We had a great time. The staff were friendly and the food was great.
We had a problem with the room when we first arrived and the staff dealt with quickly and efficiently to our great satisfaction.
It was very hot in the hotel though! but an open window will sort this! Pool and SPA was closed, but I understand the reasons quoted by management. Don't come for the SPA and Pool!.
Many thanks. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Room facing the Castel on the hill - Dinas Bran
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hicksie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review it is welcomed.

I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay. It is very pleasing to hear that your room problem was dealt with efficiently and that you were happy with this.

I do hope you return for a further visit to White Waters Hotel.

kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Property: White Waters Country Hotel
Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing