We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning riverside setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed here for two nights in the dee room cannot fault this place we even did a bit of trout fishing from the hotels river bank,
will definitely book this place again very friendly staff .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
There are newer reviews for White Waters Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2010

My complaint is about breakfast. Excellent choice of starters, cooked breakfast not up to standard due to sausages being of an inferior quality when there are excellent butchers in the town and tinned mushrooms rather than fresh.

The rooms are of a very good quality, staff very obliging and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudy2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I stayed with my partner at the hotel during October. As it was a special occasion I had booked the Cedar room which was noted as a VIP room £120. On arrival the hotel looked fine with a lovely location on the banks of the river. Upon entering the bar area it was apparent that the hotel required some updating, not terrible but could do with some work to bring it up to standard. When entering the VIP room my heart sank as I noticed it was two single beds pushed and joined together with two matresses that I was told fasten together but you still can't sleep between the gap as you will feel very unconfortable. Not at all what I would expect from a VIP room. Further, there was a single bed in the room and not a sofa as one would assume. My partner commented that she felt like she was in a friends house who had to make room for us to stay. The room itself was large with a great view but a little noise from the road was heard during the night. As regards the food, all was okay here although our amendments to our order were not carried out until we explained even thought the waiter had witten them down. Some very young serving staff who as of yet don't fully understand how to serve a table eg remove the soup spoon if not being used, a gravy boat without a plate under it. The wine waiter managed to spill wine on the table and then left the mess for my partner to clear up. I would say he threw it in the glass but managed to smile whilst doing it. On a plus point there is a lovely outdoor area that in the warmer months would be a great place to spend time.
Take care with your choice of room here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnChurchward, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2010

I would like to thank this guest for taking time out to leave this review - we welcome all comments here at White Waters Country Hotel and actively try to improve our hotel and service by actioning feedback. We feel that the reception area is well presented and reflects the traditional atmosphere of our country house hotel. We are proud of all of our VIP rooms and particularly Cedar, which is a large and luxurious room with a King sized double bed and of course, a wonderful view out on the balcony of the River Dee. The single bed is provided so that we can accomodate families at the hotel - we pride ourselves on being a family orientated hotel. Our food is well renowned in the area; I'm sorry you did not have the service you deserved and I have addressed your comments with all of our restaurant and bar staff to avoid any future issues. I would like to apologise for any issues you had and hope that we can welcome you back to White Waters Country Hotel to show you how we have progressed following your comments.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Owen
Head Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Went to White Waters for a couple days as a trip away to surprise my boyfriend. Absolutely stunning view from the room (right on the River Dee!!!) and within walking distance from the town centre. A minutes walk from the River sports place if youre keen on rafting! Great hotel, great food, and hospitality and loved the spa! Great place for couples!!!!! Thanks to the team!!!!! We loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bblicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Booked on 3 for 2 deal which was good value. Asked for and got a room with a view, was a bit warm as mentioned by other reviewers but fan was provided. View of the river was lovely. Room not large but perfectly acceptable, very clean and nice decor. Very comfortable bed. Rooms facing the road might have been noisy but ours was fine.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and made a point of asking if there were any improvements that could be made.
Food was great. I have a few dietary problems but the chef kindly made me a special sauce to go with my main course.Thought the residents menu was of a high standard.
The dining room was modern and welcoming. The bar area was more traditional but equally as good in its own way. The little town of Llangollen is very attractive and there is lots to do in and around the area. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

had a great stay at white waters eveything was perfect. The ceader room which we stayed in was beautiful,spaciouse and clean with outstanding veiws. We loved the spa and my friends and i really enjoyed the realxing atmosphere. The food was beautiful and wonderfully presented. The staff were very polite and helpful. Thanks for the wonderful stay x

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beesley100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Our second visit to this hotel, won't be our last ! Great food, friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Bedrooms very clean, all you could need. Beautiful views of the River Dee and the valley from the rear of the hotel. Well placed for touring North Wales situated on the outskirts of Llangollen.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
490 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llangollen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: £71 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing