We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Travelled from the North East of England for a family wedding and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The staff were courteous and polite at all times and tried their best to accomodate in any way they could, for example setting a breakfast table for our large party on both mornings.The food was both plentiful and tasty and the rooms clean and well furnished...although the mattress was a little soft for my taste.The female parrot, Alfie, provided a great source of amusement, and is definitely something we shall all remember!
Was a little dubious of the hotel after reading some of the reviews however my fears were unfounded. Most definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Il0veniceh0tels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

We booked to stay I'n this hotel for the valentines weekend it was perfect we upgraded to a VIP room which I highly recommend we had a massive ballacony looking out to river dee well worth the upgrade food was amazing rooms were nice service was excellent! If anyone has any complaints about this hotel they have to be extremely picky. If your looking for a nice quiet romantic weekend away then this is the place!....views are beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicankev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

lovely time was had by both of us (my 65th birthday), only one little hiccup ,the room was very niosey from the boiler room for the spa which was underneath us,but was turned off as soon as we complained to staff, who were very good to us on our stay there

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

although this hotel is homely it needs a little refining theres no a la cart menu which I found disapointing, and the service in the rafters restaraunt was not up to scratch during dinner, at times felt like a cafe the way food was plopped onto table and wine not even poured. On a possitive note though the staff were all friendly and the breakfast was lovely. not sure if i would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We booked this on a dinner bed and breakfast basis as we didn't fancy an evening trip into Llangollen in the cold!! Arrived at our room which had a balcony overlooking the river. It was quite a small room and we had to ask for a chair to sit on otherwise we had to sit on the bed. We ventured into Llangollen during the day which was a lovely walk and I would say took us 10/15 minutes through the playground and by the river. The bar prices were quite reasonable in hotel standards. We had a good choice of dinner, I had the soup, OH had the pate, we both opted for the pork steaks but we were so disappointed when it arrived as it came with chips, vegetables did come in a separate bowl (with new potatoes in them) but I would have preferred at least some imagination in putting the new potatoes on the plate - we both left the chips. OH said "since when does everything have to come with chips".

We had a very peaceful sleep in a very comfy bed. My only concern was when booking in we had to allocate a time for breakfast - the latest being 9.00 a.m. so we had an early rise in the morning. The waiter at breakfast was very charming but we were disappointed with the food - no croissants, toast you make yourself and cereals. We did not order the full english but I had sausage (undercooked), beans (overcooked) and hash brown (edible).

Credit must go to the head barman - I can't remember his name who we found to be really pleasant and very helpful. We will come back though, won't bother eating there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The hotel is situated in a stunning location overlooking the river and Dinas Bran. Our room was clean and comfortable except that it was too hot, which was amazing on a very cold January night. We tried to turn the radiator down, but it made no difference to the temperature. The TV reception was poor. We had a choice of Judge Judy, Cbbc and the racing with intermittant BBC1. We had dinner at the hotel. the meal was good and the service prompt. The waitress was miserable and didn't seem to want to be there. But no other complaints about the meal or service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne45mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

this was our second stay at the White Waters Hotel, my Wife & I stayed Sunday night for dinner, bed & breakfast. From the greeting at reception when we first arrived nothing was too much trouble to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We booked a room with a view over the River Dee & the view was incredible. Both the evening meal & the breakfastl in the restaurant were superb. If you like your real ale, they served an excellent pint of Wainwrights. If you want an excellent value for money hotel this is the place for you, please ignore previous negative comments. We will be returning for another stay very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lLiverpoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
815 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
417 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llangollen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing