We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Why we haven't stayed sooner who knows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Poster B&B and Holiday Cottage
Ranked #5 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We fancied a night away but didn't want to go too far, the weekend before we have decided to go to Llangollen for a walk and came across this wonderful guest house. It couldn't be more central, has off road parking, is beautifully decorated both in and out and you get a warm welcome on checking in. We found it to be spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable and the breakfast the folowing morning was excellent.

It's a moments walk to the canal and likewise into the town of Llangollen where there are many pubs and restaurants. We were recommended to Gales by a friend but sadly didn't have an appetite which we felt would do it justice so decided to save that for our next stay. There are lovely little shops in Llangollen and its a beautiful town.

It was nice to find a guest house that actually has pillows with stuffing in them on the beds, a delight.

If you haven't visited Llangollen before on a visit to Wales then go it's well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constructive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

llangollen plus four poster guesthouse equals a lovely break.

Room Tip: the only thing i can say is,i dont know about others but if you want a great room just ring the abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at the Four Poster for 2 nights and had a very warm welcome from Angie, who along with Liz runs a fabulas B&B. Their quick smiles make you feel most welcome and they were most helpful with information of restaurants, walks, places to visit. The hotel is absolutely spotless and very comfortable - ensuring a good nights sleep. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We most certainly hope to be returning.
Excellent location as we had wanted to walk the Llangollen canal pathway to the Aquaduct - a world heretage site. a must to visit (easily accessed by car)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathLWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Being able to book a room and check availability completely on-line was brilliant. The service when we arrived was also polite and efficient.

The bed linen and bathroom was very white and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The bedroom was too small for bedside tables, but there was a separate room where the wardrobe and tea & coffee making was, so it didn't feel too cramped for our one night stay.

Although we could barely hear the road once the window was closed, our sleep was disturbed until the early hours by people in the next door property talking loudly in their backyard.

The location in the centre of town was great and having off-street parking was a bonus. It is just a few hundred yards from the steam trains and canal wharf, and then across the bridge to the shops and pubs. We ate at Greenbank Steakhouse & Restaurant which has lovely views to the hills and ruins on top. We were the only ones there so there wasn't much atmosphere, but the food was very tasty and of an average price.

We liked the cleanliness best! Unfortunately breakfast was a big disappointment as were served sausages so raw that they had no colour on them at all! The rest of the cooked breakfast was also poor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingfisher-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Owner at Four Poster B&B and Holiday Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am sorry your sleep was disturbed by noise, these were in fact other guests staying in the holiday cottage. I was aware they may be disturbing B&B guests so at 11:55pm went across and told them to be quiet and move inside from the garden area. They apologised the next morning for their behaviour. As regards your breakfast, I would have appreciated at the time if you had mentioned you were not happy with it. Our sausages are oven cooked and I can assure you they are not raw, yours may have not browned and I apologise. I feel we offer a good selection for breakfast (bowl of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice, cooked full breakfast, toast) and have received a feedback score of 4.8 out of 5 for our breakfasts from previous guests, which is visible on our website. Kind regards Angie Clare, Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Four Poster as part of our wedding anniversary break- and had a really comfortable and enjoyable stay. The room we had was vey clean, tidy and comfortable though the ensuite was small. This is perhaps understandable given the historical nature of the building layout. This room was overlooking the front of the building but we were never disturbed by the noise of the traffic even though it was obviously a very busy road. Breakfasts were very good, using local ingredients and there were enough options available to suit all tastes and appetites. Despite telling myself I wouldn't have the full breakfast both days, I did and really enjoyed them! The lady owners were friendly, helpful but not obtrusive in any way, and always there if we needed them
The Four Poster is just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Llangollen and the steam railway. The canal and Eisteddfodd site is also within easy reach and there are numerous walking opportunities including Offa's Dyke path which crosses the river bridge about 100 yards away. We will come back again when in Llangollen so thank you!

Room Tip: The Corn Mill restaurant over the river bridge is excellent for evening meals at a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesW_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Stayed for three nights & would thoroughly recommend this excellently maintained B&B. Very warm welcome, homely atmosphere, spotlessly clean room, great breakfast & very friendly proprietors plus off road parking. Great location in Llangollen and for a base when travelling & exploring around the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardbream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Four Poster, the first being August 2010. Yet again we had a great stay, Angie and Liz were the perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and comfortable with every thing you need. The breakfast is varied and plentiful. We would not hesitate to recommend them to a friend and will be back in the future. Thank you Angie and Liz.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Llangollen
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manorhaus Llangollen
Manorhaus Llangollen
#6 of 26 in Llangollen
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambrian Guest House & Tea Rooms
0.1 mi away
Bridge End Hotel
Bridge End Hotel
#13 of 26 in Llangollen
174 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Mulberry Inn
The Mulberry Inn
#1 of 26 in Llangollen
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Poster B&B and Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Poster B&B and Holiday Cottage

Address: 1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range: £73 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Poster B&B and Holiday Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Poster is a cottage style B&B set in the heart of Llangollen within easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. The Four Poster has 4 rooms, 3 double and 1 room which can sleep up to 3 people (3 single beds). All rooms are en-suite and have hospitality tray, free view T.V. And free WIFI. We also have free parking. A self catering holiday cottage sleeping up to 4 people is also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Four Poster B&B and Holiday Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Poster B&B And Holiday Cottage Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing