We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Poster Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a little gem!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Haev stayed here a few times now & really can't find fault at all!
Rooms are spotless, landladies are very helpful - nothing is too much trouble - they even managed to sort the weather for our recent trip for a mate's 40th birthday celebrations!
If you've got a choice of 2 B&Bs in the ares, go with this one!!
And remember, they have a selfcatering cottage at the same location also - my sister has stayed there a couple of times & loves it - especially as dogs are allowed in there too!

Room Tip: As the name implies, there is a four poster room - there were more, but they were a bit cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
102
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Spent two nights here celebrating 40th Birthday with friends.
Hosts were first class, very friendly and accommodating.
Veggie breakfast was fantastic. Room was clean, warm and very comfortable, everything needed when away from home.
Peaceful and relaxing, although close to town there was no noise at night.
Definately going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beardmorejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just returned from a 3 day break in the holiday cottage. This was a wonderful place, so comfortable - everything you could possibly need was there. I was there with my son and girlfriend who had come to Uk on Holiday and my elderly mother- We all were very impressed and enjoyed it thoroughly. Now that I have found it - I will definately return with my friends and family. Liz was very friendly and also very helpful. Could not fault this place at all. Would definately recommend it - cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverbird922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The 4 Poster was the first B&B we stayed at on our month-long visit to Great Britain. We were there 4 nights and it could not have been a better introduction to the B&B world. This place was excellently run by two very well-versed women. Our accomodation was a private cottage, with beds on the ground floor and bath facilities upstairs. We had a fair amount of luggage and Angie helped us sort that out without hesitation. The room was quiet, clean, with comfortable beds and a nice shower (somewhat challenging to my 6'2' husband in headroom - but negligible in our overall assessment of the facility). There were a couple of mornings when our sightseeing schedule had us out and about before the scheduled breakfast time. Liz was totally prepared for that and provided us with to-go breakfasts each time. We were provided with information on using public transport and that transport was, for the most part, available right outside the B&B. We felt we were in the hands of professionals from Day 1 and really appreciated that. The B&B was within walking distance of all the major sites advertised for the Llangollen area. We especially liked The Corn Mill for dinner. Overall, kudos . A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manapata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

my partner and i have just spent 2 nights at the four poster and have really enjoyed it.Lots of character about the place and lovely bedrooms.Breakfast was delicious and the owners were very friendly.Great place to visit and would definitely return for a longer stay.Very reasonable rates for the high standard of accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalmers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had a very comfortable stay at the the four poster, the breakfast set us up for the day. Very handy for the town etc we will be back. Liz and Angie were very helpful.

Room Tip: the twin is a lovely little cottage at the side of the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The leek
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We fancied a night away but didn't want to go too far, the weekend before we have decided to go to Llangollen for a walk and came across this wonderful guest house. It couldn't be more central, has off road parking, is beautifully decorated both in and out and you get a warm welcome on checking in. We found it to be spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable and the breakfast the folowing morning was excellent.

It's a moments walk to the canal and likewise into the town of Llangollen where there are many pubs and restaurants. We were recommended to Gales by a friend but sadly didn't have an appetite which we felt would do it justice so decided to save that for our next stay. There are lovely little shops in Llangollen and its a beautiful town.

It was nice to find a guest house that actually has pillows with stuffing in them on the beds, a delight.

If you haven't visited Llangollen before on a visit to Wales then go it's well worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constructive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge End Hotel
Bridge End Hotel
#13 of 26 in Llangollen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Poster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Poster Guesthouse

Property: Four Poster Guesthouse
Address: 1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Poster Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Poster is a cottage style B&B set in the heart of Llangollen within easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. The Four Poster has 4 rooms, 3 double and 1 room which can sleep up to 4 people (4 single beds). All rooms are en-suite and have hospitality tray, free view T.V. And free WIFI. We also have free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Four Poster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Poster Guesthouse Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing