We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice friendly little B & B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Poster Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Poster Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 28 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice friendly little B & B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Four Poster in May this year and enjoyed the clean, tidy rooms in our little cottage with beds downstairs and up. The hosts were welcoming and informative, guiding us to the most beautiful and spectacular waterfall we had seen in the UK (Rhaeadr Falls). The breakfasts were very good with a lot of choice and flexibility, with some very good home-made marmalade. Convenient for the restaurants and pubs of Llangollen, the steam railway and the canal trips the Four Poster is in a prime position while the fairly busy road outside was not too loud.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pzeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Loved this placed and we have stayed at so many over the years, its just the right size to be cosy and friendly. just a few rooms so guests are never in an abundance. Like our room, nice decor and a comfy bed. everything was very clean and honestly I cannot fault this B&B in any way. parking not a problem and the location is first class a hundred yards from the bbridge and scenic views of the river Dee. Warm reception and perfect breakfasts .Reccomend this place .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris551953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, lancashire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Four Poster is a great little guesthouse in an excellent location in Llangollen. The owners are very friendly and helpful, The room was nice with a very large bathroom. Very good breakfast. Plenty of car parking space

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Recently stayed at the lovely Four Poster cottage. Angie and Liz were the perfect hosts, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage really is a home from home, spotlessly clean, cosy and warm with everything we needed to make our stay perfect. The location is superb overlooking the river and a stones throw from the bridge, canal and steam trains. A trip on the steam train and lunch at The Grouse Inn at Carrog was excellent (recommended by Liz) one of the best Sunday lunches we have had in a long time. A walk along the canal to Horseshoe Falls or on a horse drawn barge is an experience not to be missed and a great way to relax. If you get chance call into The Sun pub and enjoy a real ale, log fire and very friendly welcome. Thanks Liz and Angie we will definitely be booking the cottage again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverleyH681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay in this beautiful and friendly B & B. Highly recommended to anyone and, if you just go on holiday to watch ITV as the one and only negative review says, and it wasn't available, I suggest you just stay at home !!!! We will definitaly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The bedrooms are spotlessly clean,yes they are small,but that`s what you expect of cottage locations.We stayed in the B&B,the breakfast was cooked to perfection! On a previous visit we stayed in the self catering holiday cottage which was very cosy.On both occasions our dog was made to feel very welcome too.The proprietors are very friendly and welcoming,and gave us excellent advice on places of intetest to visit locally.I noticed a poor review as i typed this,based on the fact that the B&B didn`t get ITV? Well,all i can say is that if your enjoyment of a visit to such a beautiful part of Wales is based on ONE tv channel then you need to get out more! Wales has never been renowned for it`s tv reception it`s the MOUNTAINS! Blame Freeview not the owners.
All in all,for the money i can`t recommend this place highly enough and my wife and dog will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Owner at Four Poster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your kind response. We aim to provide a positive service to all our guests, we obviously met your expectations and you had another great time here at the B&B and in Llangollen. I wish to point out for future guests that the main ITV transmitter has now been replaced in the area and we are now receiving a constant digital service through our T.V's. We hope to see you return to Llangollen soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Lovely clean cottage ideal location , dog friendly cottage with dog friendly pubs close by Ponsonby arms cracking for real ale buffs , also a very short walk to the village , railway station and canal !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Tay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Poster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Poster Guesthouse

Property: Four Poster Guesthouse
Address: 1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Poster Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Poster is a cottage style B&B set in the heart of Llangollen within easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. The Four Poster has 4 rooms, 3 double and 1 room which can sleep up to 4 people (4 single beds). All rooms are en-suite and have hospitality tray, free view T.V. And free WIFI. We also have free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Four Poster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Poster Guesthouse Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing