We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rafting Weekend :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Poster Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 28 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rafting Weekend :-)”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was looking for somewhere for myself and 3 friends to stay over in Llangollen after spending the afternoon on the River Dee whitewater rafting. I narrowed it down to 2 or 3 including The Four Poster, and after reading all the positive feedback on here, as well as other sites, it was a no brainer for us, particularly since they have the annex with 4 single beds. Perfect.
Liz and Angie were very welcoming and provided great service and a lovely breakfast.
With off street parking as well (very useful in a busy Llangollen!), what more could you want?
I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone.

As an aside, I can also recommend Safe and Sound Outdoors for a lot of rafting fun, and if you're looking for somewhere for dinner The Corn Mill is a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scobi-Wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Owner at Four Poster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased your expectations were met staying in the annex room, ideal for people travelling as a group like yourselves. You had a great weekend rafting and had a great meal at the Corn Mill, both highly recommended!
We hope to see you again soon. You maybe interested to learn we have secure storage facilities for both canoes and bikes. Kind regards Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tameside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just back from a lovely weeks holiday at the self catering cottage thats part of The Four Poster B & B. We really can't recommend this cottage or it's friendly hosts enough! The cottage is very well equipped, cosy and full of character...and is very convenient for the town and all it's amenities. In actual fact, after parking up at the beginning of the week, we didnt move the car again until coming home as everything is on the doorstep :) Llangollen is a great little town with lots to see, some excellent walks with tremendous views AND some really great places to eat and drink :) We sampled a few real ales at 'The ponsonby' with a sausage and mash supper on quiz night (Tuesday) and also a nice meal with fine wine at 'The corn Mill' on the river bank. We have stayed in the B & B a few times before renting the cottage, and again would highly recommend it :) Thanks to Liz and Ange for all their help, care and attention to every little detail that made our holiday so special! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithlyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at this B&B in a beautiful 4 poster bed. Our hosts were amazing nothing too much trouble and the breakfast was to die for. We both order a full English breakfast, one vegetarian they arrived, not swimming in grease which is usually the problem. All the produce was local and tasted delicious. Lots of things to do in the area, long walks steam trains, horse drawn canal boats a definite for a fun packed break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debenmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Owner at Four Poster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for the kind review of your weekend break here at the Four Poster. We are so pleased you both had a wonderful time, it was lovely to meet you both and so glad you had a fun weekend in and around Llangollen, a great place to visit at the beginning of spring! Thank you for your kind words about breakfast, as you said we use as much local produce as we can and aim to provide a healthy full breakfast choice..if there is such a thing! We hope to see you both again in the near future.
Many thanks, kind regards Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed in the lovely holiday cottage next to the B&B with a group of girly mates. I could happily move in! Spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfy bed. The cottage is also close to all the local shops, pubs and restaurants. A great base for lovely walks along the canal. Will definitely return. Thanks v much for making us so welcome Liz & Ange.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirlKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Four Posters self catering cottage for a girls weekend. What can I say??? A very clean, well maintained and well equipped property. Comfy beds, brilliant location. Everything you need for a great break. You'll want to return again and again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reevsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely guesthouse in the beautiful town of Llangollen. Extremely warm welcome by the hosts Liz & Angie.
Four poster room with en suite which was larger than expected, with gorgeous ornate furniture although a little tired (due for being refurbished) but spotlessly clean and one of the most comfortable beds slept in. Hearty breakfast in the morning - will definitely be back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Owner at Four Poster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us here. We are so pleased you had a good weekend and enjoyed Llangollen, the most fabulous town in the Dee Valley! We hope to see you here again sometime.
Kind regards
Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Had another brilliant stay here. Very welcoming owners, room was spacious and spotless and breakfast was lovely. Fantastic location close to all bars, restaurants and town centre. Would definitely recommend

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
737 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
375 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Poster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Poster Guesthouse

Property: Four Poster Guesthouse
Address: 1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Poster Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Poster is a cottage style B&B set in the heart of Llangollen within easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. The Four Poster has 4 rooms, 3 double and 1 room which can sleep up to 4 people (4 single beds). All rooms are en-suite and have hospitality tray, free view T.V. And free WIFI. We also have free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Poster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Poster Guesthouse Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing