We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous small hotel”
Review of The Mulberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mulberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous small hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This little hotel is a real treat. The owners and staff can not do enough for you and the rooms have all you need, robes, slippers, comfy beds and a good supply of tea and coffee and biscuits - including a pint of milk- which was a definate plus as most hotels are mean with their milk allocation! The breakfast was lovely, (with a devine complimentary smoothie of the day) a good choice and made to order rather than help yourself. The standard of the breakfast prompted us to book for the evening meal which was a delight. Again, a good variety of meals on offer all to an excellent standard and good value for money and an early bird menu for those wanting to eat before 7pm. You can not see this hotel from the main road as it is just 1 minute back from view, so it will not benefit from passing trade, hence I thought I would put on this advice on line as if you are looking for somewhere in this area you dont want to miss this little gem!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn19642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themulberryinn, Manager at The Mulberry Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Brilliant review thank you very much. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed all aspects and food of the hotel. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
399
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A lovely place to stay with exceptional customer service. We felt so welcome and were looked after throughout our stay. The owners are so friendly and genuinely care that you enjoy your stay. There were so many little touches that made it extra special; the smoothie of the day, the dressing gown and slippers and the rubber ducks in the bathroom! Breakfast is brilliant, the rooms are modern and stylish. The food in the restaurant was great too...I could go on but you get the idea we would highly recommend The Mulberry Inn!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themulberryinn, Manager at The Mulberry Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Wonderful review thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, if you visit us again we have offers on all winter and it would be a pleasure to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in late July and were very impressed. We arrived late on the first night and got a call en route to check we were ok which was nice and the whole experience from then till we left was first class. Comfortable room , especially liked the real coffee and big flapjacks !
We ate one night and this was very tasty as were the enormous breakfasts! All the staff were very friendly and helpful . Would and will stay here again. The hotel is in some lovely , and not very well known compared to other parts of Wales , countryside , which looked glorious in the sunshine we enjoyed when we were there.
Only small quibble was lack of real ale and brandy when we stayed but I am sure this is not usually the case.
Well done Alan and co , you deserve all the good reviews!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themulberryinn, Manager at The Mulberry Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and I have to agree with you its lovely countryside around here isn't it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From booking to check out this was a wonderful retreat.
Modern, spacious rooms with luxuries such as robes, slippers, calorie laden flapjacks, tea and proper coffee, full size mugs, real milk and a stocked mini bar. Huge beds, luxury pillows and duvets and great night's sleep. Wow!
Breakfast is a gastronomic banquet. Fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt, toast and then a cooked menu. Porridge with whisky and honey was beautiful and kept me fed all day. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on a toasted muffin was the best. Traditional cooked was local produce and fabulously cheffed by Alan.
Bar menu sounded simple but was transformed into homemade delights. The Mulberry burger was amazing, kid's small garlic bread was definitely suitable for grown ups, the haddock was done to order with the crispiest batter ever and not a drop of debris oil. Even the chips were amazing. Lemon tart was a culinary masterpiece.
Baking during the day appeared on the menu.
Table service was faultless. Robbie looked after us Sunday evening, nothing too much trouble, he did a sterling job. The young man at breakfast was fab too and offered smoothie of the day to test which was lovely.
The whole ambience is great, relaxing, welcoming, aimed for your comfort and enjoyment and every room oozes this.
Any advice on where to go is offered here such that the entire stay is memorable.
Alan, John and his team were a pleasure to meet.
Thank you for having us and we hope to return soon. In fact, spending New Year with you is being discussed, if you'll have us......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elliottsu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themulberryinn, Manager at The Mulberry Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Wow what a fantastic review you have given us, the whole team would like to thank you. We are glad you embraced the ambiance of the inn and we look forward to seeing you at New Year and yes we will have you back anytime :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights, and really enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel very much at home, with a friendly greeting from the staff. The hotel is in transition, and loads of work has clearly already been done, the bedrooms are finished to a high standard, as are the communal areas. Some great views as well, and a large garden area to relax in weather permitting. The hotel is in a very peaceful village.
We received a much appreciated welcome drink, and dined in on the first evening, enjoying some fine cuisine.
We declined an upgrade to a superior room, and didn't regret this, our room was very comfortable, a full mini bar etc is available at your own cost if desired.
Our only minor gripes are that a few signs on doors wouldn't go amiss to find your way around the downstairs areas (again suspect this will be all tidied up in due course by the owners who obviously have a keen attention to detail), and in our room (19) we were disturbed on a number of occasions throughout our stay by the flushing of adjacent rooms' toilets - very noisy plumbing!
All in all an excellent place to stay, fantastic breakfasts, with a super range of fresh fruit ingredients, and a chalkboard menu with some really interesting cooked options, not just your bog-standard "full breakfast" fare.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themulberryinn, Manager at The Mulberry Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your weekend and we are delighted you found it very enjoyable; we are so pleased too that you noticed our attention to detail and our range of breakfasts! Sorry to hear of the occasional noises at night which is a real shame as it is so quiet and tranquil everywhere and a good night’s sleep is usually guaranteed; our plumber is checking it out now and we appreciate you letting us know. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

friday night was our first chance to try the food at newly refurbished mulberry inn, what a treat it was
manager went that extra mile to find us a table for four although they were already fully booked.the service was excellent and the food superb we all had different dishes and loved them all, perfect portion sizes and competative prices well done to you all, its great to have a local we can all enjoy again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lynda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themulberryinn, Manager at The Mulberry Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks very much for the review its very much appreciated. I am glad everything was good for you and we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I write this following my first night in this delightful hotel. The description says dog friendly but that is not giving full credit. The staff treat each dog with warmth and extend their hospitality to our furry friends. Then there are the rooms which are superb a real boutique feel. Finally the bar and food cannot be faulted. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhilOsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themulberryinn, Manager at The Mulberry Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Great review thanks, it was a pleasure to have all 3 of you staying, we think its important to have a dog friendly hotel as they are part of the family. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
3.4 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.9 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulberry Inn

Property: The Mulberry Inn
Address: Llwynmawr, Llangollen LL20 7BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mulberry Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our 17 bedrooms you will find fresh decor, contemporary furnishings, pocket-sprung beds, fast Wi-Fi and flat-screen television. This is a real get-away location, truly rural, with each room offering quintessentially Welsh valley and village views. •Completely refurbished in 2014 and 2015 offering a mix of single, double and twin rooms all with modern en-suite bath/shower rooms. The valley is very quiet indeed in the daytime and consequently check in commences 3pm and the bar is open from 3pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mulberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulberry Inn Llangollen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing