We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much potential”
Review of Hotel Cymyran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cymyran
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“so much potential”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Two nights on KGB deal. I have many mixed feelings about this hotel. The potential is enormous but it is just falling short at the moment. On arrival very efficient check in, Room was spacious with a door to a shared balcony. The bathroom light over over mirror was not working. A shower in walk in shower resulted in water everywhere over the floor. Bed very comfy. Wi fi was ok too. The bar area was comfortable with excellent service. Free snacks on bar. The restaurant is where it all falls apart. Food is average. at both dinner and breakfast there was a distinct lack of care for the customer. Nobody checked if food if was ok. Meal was put in front of diner rather than served. I witnessed a table where the waitress brought main out before starter finished causing embarrassment to the diners who felt they had to relinquish their starters. Breakfast too was a bit of a fiasco. Kippers served unappetizingly ( they tasted good). Welsh breakfast disappointing. Toaster needs instructions. The staff were lovely they just need guidance. I would return but would eat main meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAYBEEDEE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    107
    38
    17
    16
See reviews for
57
141
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Two nights here on a kgb deal which was better value than some of the dives we've stayed! Warm rooms even without any visible heating, we chose not to open window overnight due to expected aircraft noise in the morning. Comfortable bed & bedding, plenty of room for our needs with comfy armchairs for lazy tv watching. We were on a leisure break altho I know plenty of business people stay here so maybe the work space isn't enough for their purposes. Lots of lovely hot water & fluffy white towels, however, I would have appreciated another shower gel for the second day, it's just fortunate hubby prefers his own soap!
On the downside, food was decidedly mediocre. Fruit on breakfast bar would have been a plus. Hot breakfast was luke warm except for the freshly cooked eggs. I'm guessing the rest had either been kept 'warm' in a place which wasn't hot enough or been put on freezing plates - sausage really wasn't hot at all. Lots of hot tea/coffee & staff were happy for me to fill my thermos mug each morning.
Dinner ... mmm! Quite an extensive choice which would be impossible to fulfil without the use of a freezer. For example, I'm v allergic to wine which often gets thrown into gravy so I asked for roast beef without - for some reason it was cooked in wine gravy??!! Funny, I roast mine in the oven then add gravy at the table. The 'roast' chicken I had as a substitute was a misnomer - it had been deep fried so very greasy & quite dry as was the sea bass I had the following day, disappointing as this is a coastal region with lots of fresh fish available. To be fair the starters were lovely. We were told they were a chef down so maybe that explained the problems.
The staff were, without exception, friendly & welcoming & we would certainly return as overall it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 at top of stairs as you'll be disturbed by noisy early risers or those going to bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattrhimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here because it is so convenient for RAF Valley, which is certainly true, a 5 minute drive to the case and a view of the airfield fro the front of the hotel. the location is also excellent for the beach - a short walk, and for plane spotters it's right under the flight path.
The hotel is fine, a modern building so warm and cosy, but a few quirks, like a light switch located so far from the room door that you stumble in the dark trying to find it, and toilets that don't stop flushing (reported but not fixed during my stay). Staff were friendly and pleasant, particularly in the bar and restaurant, but accuracy of order taking and food quality was a bit hit and miss, although quality was never too bad. Beware the toaster in the morning though - sitting at a table anywhere close is likely to result in sunstroke! (For some inexplicable reason our group were always directed to sit right in front of it where not only did we roast, but all the other guests had to push past to serve themselves from the buffet...)
On the down side was the housekeeping, I had to ask twice for my shower gel to be replaced - 20ml for a 5 night stay is eking it out too much and after an elbow injury on the second night covered my bedsheets with blood I had to sleep on the dirty sheets for the rest of my stay - at home I would have changed the sheet, but the staff ignored the obviously dirty sheet (see photo).
It's a pity really, because a few small changes could make this a great place to stay...

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at the back are noisy when breakfast begins in the restaurant above and have an g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Convenient for RAF Valley. Note that you are unlikely to get a sleep in past 0800 since that is when the first Hawks launch. The hotel is just off the active runway line so be prepared for jet noise. Hotel reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern and well decorated. Hot water is hot and the bath & the bath and shower are efficient. Plenty of good towels are provided.

When I stayed, the bed was very comfortable with a nice thick duvet and sufficient pillows. The TV worked well although I would comment that the desk is a bit small for working on. Suffice to say I had an excellent nights sleep so no complaints on that score.

However, breakfast was distinctly average in both quality and service with a rather brusque (although not impolite) waitress. In criticism of the room, the window blinds were stained at the bottom and the bed cover (over the duvet) had some obvious old stains. I would comment in mitigation that the bed linen was all very clean albeit with the obvious old stain on the spread.

There were also some small stains on the carpet and one long hair on the bath (not mine, wrong colour & wrong length) so a mark off for cleanliness. Several stains were also noted on the hallway carpets.

I did not have an evening meal, but my contacts at Valley warned me about the quality of the food. I can't personally vouch for this but have no reason to disbelieve the comments made.

Given the price, I don't think that this hotel offered particularly good value for money being about £10 - £20 more expensive per night than the Premier Inn at Bangor.

In summary, ok in many respects but just misses the mark. Could be so much better with just a little effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drooper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Hotel Cymyran on many occasions and have always found it to be comfortable and friendly. All rooms are well decorated and sufficiently roomy.
Particularly convenient for RAF Valley.
Can get very busy.
Occasionally difficult to connect to Wireless Broadband, even after recent upgrades to system.
Bar area really needs an overhaul - very tired looking.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Axemenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed on a KGB deal, excellent rooms, clean , well appointed and comfortable. Lovely view from the Patio Window, shared terrace was lovely too. Wonderful views. Breakfast was really tasty. Staff were all friendly and welcoming. Large car park. Easy to find off the A55, ideal base for visiting Anglesey. Nice option of bath and separate walk in shower ( note to hotel, wet rooms only work if the duck-boards aren't sealed to the floor, there is nowhere for the water to go (room 4). Will certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is tucked away in the country but near Holyhead. We had a good stay. It was very clean throughout and we liked the bar and restaurant décor. The room was warm and comfortable and serviced well.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and we were particularly impressed with the member of staff who booked us in. She went out of her way to book us into a suitable room for my disabled husband. She sold the hotel to us by her warm, friendly manner; a superb attitude.
The breakfast was very large and to die for. It was delicious. We ate in the evening once and that was good too.
We had no children with us but we noticed families were well catered for in the restaurant.
We liked the relaxed atmosphere and the thought that had gone into the design of the rooms and the public areas. The parking was good and the hotel accessible to it which made life easier! We will definitely book in again next time we visit Anglesey!

Room Tip: Just tell the Reception Staff your requirements. We needed a room on the flat and we got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
3.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
614 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
13.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
16.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Valley
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cymyran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cymyran

Property: Hotel Cymyran
Address: Llanfair yn Neubwll, Holyhead LL65 3LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cymyran 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Cymyran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cymyran Hotel Holyhead
Hotel Cymyran Holyhead, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing