We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Holyhead B&B and Inns
tameside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent all round”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

after reading some of the reviews i was abit hesitant to stay there, but bit the bullet and booked. my husband and i arrived on a motorcycle for a 2 night stay. the hotel is in a beautiful spot overlooking the harbour. parked the bike in the carpark, which is very large. went to reception and was greeted by a very friendly member of staff who showed us to our room. huge room, well furnished, clean. tea and coffee making facilities, and very well stocked with tea and coffee etc. loads of clean towels. window opening in the room and bathroom for plenty of fresh air, but also radiators to turn on if you were cold. tv in room worked perfectly and the shower in the bathroom did as well. the hotel is tastefully furnished and the place has a real nice atmosphere. plenty of tables and chairs outside for you to sit and have a drink etc. had a meal both nights there in the conservatory. area. the food is incredible. full marks to the chef. brekfast was just as good. cerial, fruit juice,fresh fruit and yogurts, and off course the cooked brekfasts. my husband had full english both days which was cooked to perfection. the hotel is only a 2 star but i would rate it as a 3. i will not hesitate to go back there and all i can say is to those of you that have wriiten bad reviews that if you had wanted 5 star service then you should have booked itno a 5 star hotel .

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ernTameside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    68
    36
    13
    29
See reviews for
39
67
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Knew the hotel as the Scimitar having previously lived in Holyhead. Booked a twin room for 2 nights but found a 4 poster and a put u up! Not happy but unable to change as hotel full. Hard uncomfortable mattresses, basic amenities and extremely expensive at £85 per night!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Holyhead hotels

oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I wouldn't describe this hotel as salubrious and my complaints of room 4 were that the shower was next to useless(however my friend in room 9 had an excellent shower) and there was no remote for the freeview box(and as the hotel was full they couln't find one for me)so the TV was stuck on one channel.
That being said, We go to Holyhead every year for a two day fishing trip and I can say that there is very little decent accomodation in Holyhead.
Holyhead is a ferry town with very few highlights, if you are looking for a place where you can get a bed for the night with a bar and a half decent restaurant(the food is fairly good and the portions are huge and the place is well used by the locals)then you will be hard pushed to find anything better.
My personal recommendation for and excellent BB would be the Dublin Ferry, which I couldn't recommend highly enough, but you then have to remember that there aren't really any decent restaurants in Holyhead and the food at the Boathouse is probably as good as it gets..
I would probably rate this as the second best accomodation I have used in Holyhead and would use it again if I couldn't get into the Dublin Ferry guest house.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappers2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

It seemed to be best place we could find for a meal in Holyhead .What a disapointment...There were two very young girls serving who had not been trained to clear away anyone`s plates or enquire if they would like a pud.or coffee.Everything we wanted we had to get up and order at the bar .The dining room was full ,French ,Americans and Germans ,so that we felt ashamed to be British.The food was very mediocre and mass produced.We were over charged and when we asked for a breakdown in the billreceived no apologies .There was meant to be entertainment thattevening but by 9.30 it hadn`t started and the deal of the moment was a bottle of wine and one steak for £19.99 on a Saturday night ......hope they don`t drink and drive there!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rulizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

In July of this year, my family booked 2 rooms for 1 night at this hotel. Mind you, we spontaneously booked at 11 pm on a Sunday night for the next night since we made a decision to go to Ireland from London. However, the next day my sister became very ill & we had to go to a hospital in London. I immediately had my niece in the U.S. call to cancel the reservations & explain the reasoning at 10:30 am (less than 12 hours after we booked the 2 rooms). They were very nice on the phone but still charged us the $265 because we didn't give them a 24 hour cancellation. This was physically impossible since we didn't even book 24 hours in advance! When my sister got better & we could came back to the U.S. (never being able to actually go to Wales), I emailed them several times asking them to please discount the rate (offering to pay for at least one room but please credit us for the other because of the circumstances) but I was told No. We booked through booking.com (they are a good site) but they could do nothing about it. There is nowhere on the hotel's website that states this policy (although they say there is - check it out yourself) but they refused to budge (even with a doctor's statement). So I don't know how good their accomodations are but their customer service (and just plain kindness) is absolutely lacking. If it had been over 24 hours & they had turned away customers because of a last minute cancellation, I could totally understand. But to say no because of an emergency when the rooms had been booked less than 12 hours previously - well, that's ridiculous and does not show a commitment to any type of customer service.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank covious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Booked this a while ago and to be honest its probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. The room was very small and under the bed was a plastic spoon and a top off a tub of Pringles! That was there when we arrived and there when we left after 3 days.
The lights over the bed and over the shaving mirror didn't work when we arrived or when we left despite reuests to reception. The room was only given a 1/10 daily service, no hoover, no dusting, no cleaning in the bathroom and one two days i had to request they change the towels! The tea and coffee were not topped up either so we had to keep going to reception. The worst was the shower door in our room (21) which was hanging on by a thread!
The 'bistro' was poor with selection and quality.
Its a shame really as the hotel is in a lovely spot but is being milked because of its proximity to the boats and the fact most will stay once and then never return, but thanks to a website like this, people will take note and give it a wide berth when booking. We have stayed at cheaper hotels and had better facilities and quality.
I have always posted honestly on here and have used the website as a guide, please contact me if you need to know more.

If you are roomless for the night and its late, use the hotel, if you have chance to ring around or look around, I would.

Anglesey as a destination? Please go its wonderful, but the Boathouse does the island a dis-service and they should improve whats on offer and stop taking the money and advertising it as a wonderful hotel with luxury bed rooms as it is clearly not.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BazilManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My stay was for one night to accommodate a ferry journey in the morning. Arrived at around 6pm to be booked in at a reception area which looked more like an under stairs cupboard, and was handed the TV remote along with the room key, which rang the first alarm bell in my head! Hauled my suitcase upstairs and along narrow, uneven corridors covered in worn carpet, and lit by electric switches on timers which I hadn't seen since I was a student 25 years ago, to a room which seemed to be stuck in a 1980s time warp. Wallpaper and paintwork had both seen better days. The en-suite bathroom was clearly a later addition created by partitioning off one corner of the room, and meant that I was barely able to get my suitcase past the end of the bed. An inspection of the bathroom revealed a distinct lack of complimentary toiletries. There was a hand soap dispenser on the wall next to the basin (presumably to prevent the guests leaving with anything) but a similar dispenser on the shower wall proved to be empty of shower gel and shampoo, so it was a good thing I always travel with such items and don't depend on having them provided, as they are in any good hotel. Have to say that the food in the restaurant was good, if slow in coming. I asked at reception (I couldn't telephone down as there was no phone in the room) for more pillows, as there was one very thin one on each bed and only one in the wardrobe, but they seemed to be in short supply - what horrified me more was the receptionist/waitress/chambermaid (a jack of all trades, really) letting herself into the bedroom with her pass key after barely knocking to pass on this information! Eventually two more pillows were supplied but without pillow cases, so I was forced to wrap mine in my bath towel for the night. Breakfast next morning was so awful that I left most of it. The bacon was undercooked, as were the eggs, which were fried despite my asking for poached. The orange juice jug was full of ice cubes, which as well as cooling it also effectively diluted it to half strength. The coffee was definitely not filter, that's all I can say about it, and the toast (one slice each) was served on a plate instead of in a rack, so that it was soggy. On checking out, I was surprised to find that my credit card transaction had already been completed in my absence using the number provided by me while making my telephone booking - I can think of one very good reason for this practice!! One gentlemen at breakfast mentioned that he had been there for a fortnight How he endured it I have no idea - I certainly couldn't wait to get out of the place! Having stayed in some excellent hotels in Wales over the previous 10 days, it was a very disappointing end to an enjoyable holiday.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tutor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
2.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
587 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
295 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Valley
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 27 in Holyhead
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wavecrest
Wavecrest
#2 of 27 in Holyhead
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Hotel

Property: The Boathouse Hotel
Address: Newry Beach | Isle of Anglesey, Holyhead Isle of Anglesey LL65 1YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Boathouse Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Hotel Situated within the ferry port town of Holyhead and only a 4 minute drive from the port, making it an ideal stopover for guests traveling to and from Ireland. The Boathouse has 17 Completely Refurbished in 2016 lovely en suite guest rooms, A Bar, Bistro and Coffee Shop and free Wifi. We are Nestled at the end of Newry Beach Promenade, overlooking the Marina with stunning views of the outer harbour, Irish Sea and Holyhead Mountain on the beautiful coastline of Anglesey. We hope you find it a relaxed place to sit back and enjoy good food and drink in our comfortable surroundings. Whether that's sitting in the gardens soaking up the sun (!!!) or warming in our conservatory and Bistro We aim to cater for you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Hotel Holyhead, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing