We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place in the heart of Anglesey”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bodfan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden Front garden and path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden
Front garden and path
Back garden path from car park
Back garden
Bodfan side garden
Lounge with multi-fuel stove
Dining room with hatch to kitchen
Kitchen eating area
Well supplied kitchen
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Twin-bedroom
Second twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Single bedroom
Double bedroom
Cloakroom with mixer shower
Bathroom with mixer shower
Back garden
Rural view and front field
Occasional visitors to the field
Sunrise over Snowdonia viewed from Bodfan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NickFletc...
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place in the heart of Anglesey”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Bodfan. The weather wasn't kind, but the house warm and welcome retreat. Gillian has been warm and welcoming from enquiry stage and throughout our stay.
The grounds are tranquil, views stunning and our family (including five dogs) have thoroughly enjoyed our break.
We feel refreshed and relaxed and will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesPros...
Nantwich
2 reviews
“Fabulous farmhouse and lovely friendly owner & dog”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Three generations of our family have just spent a fantastic week at Bodfan. The farmhouse is perfect for a large family group, sleeping 8 comfortably. Lovely spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen and well stocked library were all greatly appreciated. The house is huge with plenty of room to have a quiet time if needed or play games together on the large tables. Gillian, the owner, lives close by and is such a lovely friendly lady, her dog Isis equally so! Isis called for our springer spaniel regularly and they had a great time romping around the garden and the huge field in front of the house - real doggy paradise! We also booked a meal for the night of our arrival with Denise(via holiday contact details) which was absolutely delicious and really appreciated - the last thing you want to do on arrival is go searching for shops or restaurants when you arrive. Lasagne, garlic bread, jacket potatoes, salad and a lovely dessert were waiting for us on arrival - just perfect! I can't recommend this farmhouse enough, it was absolutely perfect and we will certainly be back as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house, the dog friendliness, the friendly owner
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyneth T
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for extended family break”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a great week's break at Bodfan. What a wonderful place for all ages.
The farmhouse is so spacious and well equipped. All the bedrooms were of a decent size and comfortable. There was ample comfortable seating for everyone.
The owner is very welcoming and always at hand though not interfering in any way.
The grandchildren loved the garden with plenty of space for playing.
The location is ideal as is so central and makes it easy to reach any part of the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for everyone/peace and quiet.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca T
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

From the moment we arrived at Bodfan I knew we were in for a treat. From the lovely gardens to the homely cottage it all set our holiday off on the right foot. Gillian is the perfect host who looked after us well. The cottage is well stocked with essentials and brilliant for extended family holidays. There were 7 of us and it didn't feel like we were getting in the way of each other. My children loved the horses the geese and isis the dog. I cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you Gillian. Hopefully will get to come back one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LInda B
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family friendly farmhouse”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A tremendously good space for families and for those with dogs. Secure garden and field are a huge bonus. The house is more than adequately furnished with a good supply of equipment for small children.
The owner is delightful and enormously helpful.

There is no doubt that all members of our party would like to return particularly as this is a central base for exploring Anglesey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Secure garden and field
Liked least: That we did not stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie W
1 review
“Excellent Stay, Fantastic Farmhouse, Lovely Owner”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Bodfan because of it's great reviews and were not disappointed.
It is a large comfortable farmhouse with a great garden and paddock for energetic dogs.
The welcome pack provided by the owner Gilliain most appreciated.
The beds are comfortable and made for a relaxing sleep in peaceful surroundings.
The farmhouse is only 10 minutes drive from great beaches will allow dogs.
We would like to than Gillian and Isis her very friendly whippit for their great hospitality.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the surroundings
Liked least: Going Home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999Heleng...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful holiday at Bodfan. The property was large but cosy and had everything you could possibly need. All the bedrooms were a good size, beds were comfortable and the bathrooms spacious. Gillian was lovely -available but not intrusive. Our dog enjoyed the garden and the large paddock was ideal for him. We were lucky with the weather and so some mornings we just sat in the garden admiring the views across to Snowdonia. The location was ideal for us as it very central and we could get to anywhere on the island within 20-30 mins. The beaches were amazing and very quiet. We also enjoyed Beaumaris. The younger ones in our party would also recommend Rib Rides at Menai Bridge - amazing was how they described it!

Thank you Gillian for the welcome pack -it was much appreciated. We hope to see you and Isis again very soon

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing