We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super stay in the Brilliant Glan Tywn Hall”

Review of Glan Tywyn Hall

Glan Tywyn Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glan Tywyn Hall
Kitchen/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Glan Tywyn Hall
Kitchen/dining area
Reception room
Lounge/ sofa-bed  with Cathedral ceiling
Top corridor
Double bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Twin bedroom
Main bathroom
Christmas at Glan Tywyn Hall
Large walled garden at front
Local beach 5 minutes drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
synth
Staffordshire Uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Super stay in the Brilliant Glan Tywn Hall”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our large party of 14 family members a baby and two dogs visited Glan Tywyn Hall for a week in February, driving up the long bumpy drive we were a bit apprehensive, but as we went inside and saw how warm and welcoming it was we knew we would feel right at home.
One of our party was arriving earlier and contacted the owner who was able to accommodate her request for a space for a trailer.
Although it was a very cold February this year the Hall has a brilliant heating system keeping us nice and toasty day and night.
The Hall is part of a working farm, so we were not surprised for a sheep to pop in and say hello to us in the courtyard. The outside tap was useful to wash the dogs off after a days rambling too.
There is a large kitchen and enough equipment to serve meals for 16, twin ovens large hob with wok burner and a great American style fridge freezer, the kids loved the ice maker.
Bedrooms were well decorated and the bedding linen was new and very clean, it is a very old and traditional property if you are the kind of person who likes modern it may not suit you if you like the cosy feeling of a big warm period house with a few age blemishes then Glan Tywyn Hall will be right for you.
The large lounge upstairs with vaulted ceiling was a favourite for reading in and enjoying a bit of quiet time, the kids enjoyed watching the Hawks and Typhoons taking off from RAF Valley just over the fields towards the beach at Rhosneigr.
10 minutes way from the nearest shop and around 20 minutes from the nearby town with all the usual supermarkets, you are not far away from anything on Anglesey and we enjoyed many great days out and some great communal family meals where we all took turns to cook at night.

If you want a big warm fun place to holiday with friends and family then Glan Tywyn Hall is the place for you, if you are the type who doesn’t like the odd nettle or period property then you are better off booking a clinical Travelodge box.

We loved it so much we will be booking again next year 

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review, Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kat1976
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect House for a Group Stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Plenty of room, comfy beds and lovely and clean.....
The owner was welcoming and helpful and the house was the perfect place for a group of girls for a hen weekend.
We wanted somewhere we could lounge about, relax and drink prosecco and this was the perfect spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the house
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenkd123
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great big place”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

stayed with large family group for a weekend family get together. would definately reccommend this property for mixed age range groups.
The property was very spacious and full of character. It is not very modern but has all the equipement and facilities that you would need. Plenty of cutlery crockery, pots and pans. Loads of areas for partying and relaxation. All beds comfortable. Easy access to Rhoseneigr.
WE actually had more guests than property was advertised for, which the owner was more than happy to allow to stay and also provided a double airbed for our use.
All in all a very relaxing stay for all and a very helpful and courteous owner.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fab place :)”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay at glan tywan hall.
We had a great time, fantastic place!!
We travelled with all the family, 16 of us in all, ranging from age 5 up to 79!
Everyone had a fab time..kids loved the space to lose each other in..which they frequently did!!
Great garden, safe and secure for kids and dogs.
Jackie and Eric really friendly and helpful and brought us some yummy eggs n sausages over.
Great kitchen with plenty of utensils and crockery for us all.
Had a great time and hope to return to see you soon :)
Thankyou so much jackie and Eric!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob_Bob85
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ideal for families, lots of space and very cosy”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was great weekend, we had family members ranging from 3yrs to 82yrs an everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. There are plenty of rooms to chose from, 2 main lounge areas (upstairs and downstairs) and bathrooms dotted around the building.

At first wen we walked in I did think it may not of bee for us as some of the décor was a much older style but once we got settled everything seemed comfortable and cosy.

The house is a little bit out the way, hidden amongst fields, but that didn't pose a problem as the closest town and beach is only about 10 minutes away by car.

I would definitely recommend Glan Tywyn to anyone wanting an extended family holiday.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyholi...
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Grand old building with plenty of space”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent a long weekend at Glan Tywn Hall. 5 mums, 5 kids & 2 dogs. The house was warm & welcoming with plenty of space indoors & out. The kids loved playing hide & seek, we hardly saw them! Dining room big enough for all of us to sit together and 2 sitting rooms was perfect - one for dvds & unwinding before bed & the other for cocktails & card games late into the night! We are already planning when we can come back. We may even bring the husbands!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The space
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElleBea1
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming...”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would liken arriving at Glan Tywyn Hall to visiting your favourite Grandparents - old, welcoming, warm and friendly - a place where you instantly feel comfortable and at home. The Hall is no spring chicken but it is packed with character and period style. The furniture was comfortable and clean and everything you needed to accommodate a large group was at hand. The Hall is perfectly situated for peace and quiet and pleasant walks whilst access to all main routes are not far away. The gardens are large with plenty of room for the kiddies to run around, and the picnic table seated 12 of us with ease. The piglets next door were a source of entertainment and an added bonus. If you are a looking for somewhere for a large family gathering or a get away for a few friends I could happily recommend Glan Tywyn Hall, there is plenty of room should you wish to take some time out from the group with roaring fires and lovely cosy corners where you can sit and read a book from the extensive collection. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will have great memories of our time there .......

Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing