We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wavecrest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wavecrest
Ranked #3 of 27 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Had a warm enough welcome and the breakfast was superb. Information sheet in the room was a bonus for food in the area but I must sadly say the town is very tired and the room equally so. I have no complaints about the cleanliness but, and I've stayed in many, many B&Bs, this is over priced for what it is.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank andyzot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    26
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
20
53
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Was greeted with "I have been trying to contact you at home as there is a problem with your booked room". Bit pointless ringing me in the Lake District when I am away I would have thought. With me hobbling on my walking stick he walked us a few hundred yards away to another B&B that he had got us in to. Although the new B&B was very pleasant it cost us more with a Continental breakfast than the original booking with a cooked breakfast. I booked the hotel via LateRooms.com (as I do with all of my bookings) and will respond appropriately when they ask for my review !

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to avoid possible disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyheadcarl, Owner at Wavecrest, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
I attempted to telephone.(you had not forwarded your mobile) as the en-suite WC was leaking and had to be closed. I decided to re-loctae in a similar establishment that uses Late Rooms agency. I offered you a lift in my car for the short walk,however offered to walk. I carried your cases and offered my apolgises. Very unfair to mark me down like this in such circumstances.
These things do happen and I found a nice B & B as an alternate. I asked if you were happy with a continental type breakfast and you agreed.Otherwise I would have invited you both round for a full cooked breakfast.i
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This place was ok for a night or 2 but had some issues. Firstly wasn't very cheap considering it wasn't en suite. The door to our room was very very hard to close as it was seriously out of line with the lock. The shower wasn't great either and parking can be hard. The breakfast was good and the staff were nice. The TVs were tiny. Across the street was much nicer and cheaper. Overall ok but unless you really have to visit Anglesey then avoid, the place is like a ghost town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marckarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Despite poor feedback of Holyhead I was pleasantly surprised of the area.
The owner was friendly and advised me to hire a bike and explore Holy Island. The coastline has to be one of the most stunning in UK. Cliffs and beaches. The country park is also a lovely too .
Wavecrest caters mainly for Ferry customers I was here for a racing event which Prince William attended. Met some lovely people from different parts of the World. I had use of a fridge and garage to leave my kit and bike etc.
The breakfast was just the protein I required for my day ahead.
I will be back and thanks for looking after me!

Room Tip: Nice walk to Malas bistro at the Yacht club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The bonus was the owner Karl who went out of his way to show local places. Drove me to South Stack and lovely local beaches. Sorry my Welsh is poor therefore will not even attempt the name of them. Breakfast was good and room was cozy. The various display on walls was interesting. Pop and railway items. Lovely water clolours too. Really good for a break before Ferry.

Room Tip: Book direct it is cheaper than online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The positive points of my stay included the cheerful and friendly owner who was always willing to lend a hand. There was good off street parking in a quiet area and it was close to local amenities such as the ferry port and town. However the owner had a unique, acquired and interesting take on how the decorate his establishment. The varying garish train and parking signs in the entrance hall were overpowering and the general make do and mend feel throughout gave me, the feeling that everything had been done on the cheap. Breakfast was adequate but cold. I wouldn’t recommend this establishment- the photographs on the website don't reflect its nature and the tariff was too high for the facilities and type of accommodation provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for a couple days whilst I looked for rented apartment in area. The owner really looked after me and gave me great tips about the town. The breakfast was yummy and big.
He even gave me discount for my troubles. Helped me unload and load all my bags and cases from the car.
Rooms were cozy and clean and above all,quite!
makes a great effort to make sure guests are happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
5.3 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.4 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Guest House
Crossroads Guest House
#2 of 27 in Holyhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 27 in Holyhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Boathouse Hotel
The Boathouse Hotel
#6 of 27 in Holyhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest

Property: Wavecrest
Address: 93 Newry Street, Holyhead LL65 1HU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wavecrest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Ferry Port and town centre. Ideal stopver for Ireland. Cater all timings. En-suite rooms available. TV in all rooms with multi choice. Teamaking and extra facilities in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wavecrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Hotel Holyhead
Wavecrest Holyhead, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing