We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long over due, to my shame.”

Holyhead Maritime Museum
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Holyhead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum is a fascinating experience for the whole family. Step back in time at the oldest lifeboat station in Wales (circa. 1858), Which houses a wonderful collection of exhibits telling the enthralling maritime history of Holyhead. Situated alongside the Maritime Museum, in a Second World War Air Raid Shelter, is the very informative permanent exhibition "Holyhead at War".
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Newcastle upon Tyne, exiled Welshman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Long over due, to my shame.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My fathers family are from Ynys Mon and were seafarers. Taid was in deep sea sail and dad was a chief engineer. As a small child, l , lived on the island. Since then, l have visited Ynys Mon, many times. I have resisted visiting Caergybi, because l had heard, it was so run down. I visited on the 16th July and the town, it wasn't too bad. Side streets views brought back lovely memories.HOWEVER, the museum, was wonderful. It cannot be faulted. It has
everything l expected, including, the Throne to Blue Funnel. Volunteers were wonderful. I am so jealous! If my other half would accept moving to Ynys Mon, l would be at the front of the queue for volunteers, for the museum. Not being smug, l have the "knowledge" for the iath.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you, Bob H for your very positive and passionate review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit back to your homeland and especially to our museum. If you ever change your mind about living in the north-east then we would be pleased to welcome you on board. Diolch yn fawr. Hwyl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    27
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a few hours before lunch at the adjoined bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

You will be offered a guided tour by a very enthusiastic volunteer. Jump at the chance.. He will point out many items of interest & add a detailed history to them. While this was engaging & fascinating, I now need to revisit the museum again to take in all the very well labeled & interactive exhibits at my own pace. (not that there was any element of hurrying up involved in the guide tour). I would just like to muse solo for a few hours on this unique history of the area. They haven't really got to grips with operating the video presentations in a slick & professional manner. I'm sure they will in the future.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you appreciated the efforts of the museum guide. Our aim is to make every visit as interesting as possible. Yes, there is much to see and discover at the museum and we hope you will be back soon to complete your exploration. Thanks also for your comments regarding the video displays. These are new and we are working to improve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Holyhead Maritime Museum - May 14 visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My great uncle was killed in action in 1918 in the H5 submarine when it was rammed in error by an allied ship. The volunteer team at the Museum took me straight to his memorial, and stayed with me for the following half hour answering my questions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PRA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a successful visit to our museum and that you were pleased with the response you received regarding the sad loss of your great-uncle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small but well worth the time to drop in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Holyhead Maritime Museum is only small but a lot of very interesting history and artefacts are crammed in and very well presented. Not just a selection of Nautical and military history of the locality but also the history and connections of some very well known individuals who have been involved or connected with Holyhead. Definitely worth a couple of hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ecybi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMMuseum, at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Museum. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Yes, we are somewhat small but we try to pack as much in as possible to interest visitors. There is much more in storage elsewhere and we are would love to be able to display all that we have - maybe one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We always go by the Maritime Museum when we are in Anglesey ,it is well worth a visit. It is by the harbour and we love walking along the front and looking at all the boats and visiting the boat yard.
The museum has a wonderful bistro by it and an outside seating area, so you can enjoy a coffee in the sun !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of the Museum. We are pleased that you come and see us when you visit Anglesey. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holyhead Maritime Museum also viewed

Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Holyhead Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing