We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Walk!”

Holyhead Breakwater Country Park
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Holyhead
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Walk!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited for the annual Easter egg hunt! We thoroughly enjoyed our day. The place is well kept and the signs are clear!

There is a lovely atmosphere when you visit here for an event and the staff are very helpful and are brill with kids!

Even without an event its a lovely place to go and just take a picnic and have a lovely walk around!

Overall I would recommend here to families looking for a cheap and cheerful day out!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Appletc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    47
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hard to believe”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

this is a monument to human endurance and enables you to really walk out to sea - when you're at the end it's hard to believe you are still connected to the land

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank angmel125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went an early evening stroll. Some great views and twitchers paradise. Some choughs around. The cafe was closed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haverspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good for a visit”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Really good for a 'chill out' and a good start for a walk. Pond with ducks to feed and some very good relics from the old quarry workings that were there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roadstechno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhosneigr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lakeside entertainment and more ....”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have visited this part time and time again over the past 25 years and have still to investigate the whole area - there are so many paths and the views are ever changing according to the season. Did not have view trouble this time though as the whole area was covered in fog as was the rest of the country. Nevertheless I still was able to picnic by the lake where the model boat club were sailing their boats whilst the ducks kept out of the way. Most entertaining....

There is a new cafe run I believe by the same people who run the one on Aberffraw. I have experience of this one so it should be really good there.

Can't believe I missed taking a photo of the lion on the rock face - maybe next time. If you are interested you need to align yourself facing towards the rock face with the sign post between the cliff and yourself. The lion appears to be leaping and is a slightly red colour on the normally grey cliff face.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhosneigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holyhead Breakwater Country Park also viewed

Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Holyhead Breakwater Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing