We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice stopover”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very nice stay at this travelodge. Reception staff were very freindly and helpful and gave us some helpful advice. This hotel is ideally located for ferry crossings as it's only a five min max journey. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFW-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    172
    83
    21
    23
See reviews for
150
183
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Spent one night here whilst working in area. Room was very basic but fresh and clean. Not much storage space, wasn't a problem for me as I was only there for one night. There is a kettle in the room for tea and coffee, also you can get 30mins free wi fi, enough time to check my email. Bed was very comfy and despite the heat had a good sleep. Would stay again if back in Holyhead on business, if travelling for pleasure like a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst walking the Anglesey Coastal Path. The rooms are standard Travel Lodge style but have benefitted from a refurbishment which has enhanced their appearance. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location is just a short walk from the town centre, the railway station and the ferry port.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to catch our ferry back to Ireland next the next morning what a change from last year the rooms have been decorated very nice now and proper hand soap and hair and body shampoo which is a plus the beds were very comfy!!!! Reception lady was very friendly and helpfull the rooms may be basic but they are much more fresher now look forward to staying again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie42068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Arrived for a one night stop over. Reception was un-manned eventually a lady arrived and gave us our key and Breakfast in a box, obviously it did not need refrigeration, we decided to by pass our digestion system and put it straight into the bin.

Went out for an evening meal and arrived back to the 'hotel' to find the alarms going off, not sure what to do so waited eventually the same lady appeared and advised she had popped out the back door that was alarmed, for a smoke hence the alarm going off.

Watch out for the 2.00am alarm clock as the ferry passengers book in

Following night stopped at Blackthorn farm 1000% better

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesEddy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, S Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were on a driving holiday in Snowdonia and North Wales, and decided to book an overnight stay in Holyhead.
We checked into the hotel at about 6 pm, and were disappointed to discover that there were no dining facilities either at the hotel, or close by.
Because I suffer with a mobility problem, this required us to get in the car and have a drive into Holyhead town, where parking was a nightmare, although there were the usual array of fast food takeaway restaurants.
We eventually drove back down the road towards the mainland, where we found a McDonalds - not ideal, but at least we could park outside.
The hotel itself was very basic and parking close to the door was difficult due to insufficient blue-badge spaces.
The room was very cold, and the furniture was very dated, with a bed and what appeared to be a futon.
The room was reasonably clean, but the carpet was almost threadbare and there appeared to be damp patches on the wall under the window.
The bathroom was clean, but also somewhat past it's best.
There was a kettle plus complimentary tea, coffee etc, but we had to wash the cups before use, as they appeared to be stained.
The cost for our overnight stay was £49, and I thought, given the standard, it was excessive.
If we go back to Holyhead, i shall most likely try and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyrafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday. Loads of parking on arrival. Helpful and friendly guy on reception. Lovely clean room. Recently refurbished to new travelodge colour scheme.
Very busy as day wore on. Hotel clearly popular as it was full overnight.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
1.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
619 reviews
13.5 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
314 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
10.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Holyhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Holyhead Hotel

Property: Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Address: Kingsland Road, Holyhead LL65 2LB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Holyhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early Check-in and Late Check-out service available at this hotel for an additional charge. Early Check-in available from 12 noon, subject to available rooms. Late Check-out available until 2.00 pm, subject to available rooms. Transport Links: Nearest Major Road - A55 0.1 mile Nearest Port - Holyhead 0.2 miles Places To Go: Port - 1 mile Marina - 1.5 miles South Stack Lighthouse - 1.5 miles Country Park - 2 miles Nearest Towns/Nightlife: Holyhead - 0.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Holyhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Holyhead
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel Island Of Anglesey
Holyhead Travelodge
Holyhead Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing