We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay 29-31/07/2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay 29-31/07/2014”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have stayed at Holyhead Travelodge several times and usually enjoyed it. I stayed there this time to take my mum back for a couple of days to see where she used to live and meet some old friends. As she has dementia and mobility problems I asked for a disabled access room and this was perfect. The staff on arrival were friendly as usual, and the beds comfortable.
However, on this occasion our sleep was disturbed on our second night by a commotion outside our room and in the corridor at 4.30am with a great deal of shouting and arguing (and it sounded to me like it was some sort of party and that somebody was drunk), and I eventually settled my mum back down before we were woken again about 6.45am by some children shouting (they had probably been disturbed from the incident earlier on).
On checking out, I reported our inconvenience to the receptionist and she said - oh yes, that was someone who was unwell and we had to get him out, but there was no question about my mum's welfare or the effect on her, and then the receptionist asked had I booked online and if so, when I got the email, please could I complete the survey and give them a good rating because it helps! I told her I definitely would be completing a survey this time, and I have done that now.
On reflection I may stay again, but might take mum to Anglesey Outdoors instead next time (where I have also stayed before) which is much quieter than Travelodge was this time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank northeastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    172
    83
    21
    23
See reviews for
150
183
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Like all travelodges the value of the hotel depends greatly on the price you managed to book for.

The hotel was basic, but the guy on reception was friendly. The room itself was clean, the new travelodge beds are comfy but without air conditioning was quite stuffy. Due to the nature of the hotel and being next to a port there are plenty of people leaving and arriving throughout the night. Having the window open increases the chances of being woken by people getting out of their cars.

The mugs supplied for tea and coffee needed a clean before I used them. The room curtains aren't over generous and let quite a bit of light in around the edges.

That said, the hotel is undeniably convenient for Holyhead port and took a lot of hassle out of catching the first ferry of the day to Dublin.

Room Tip: A room not overlooking the car park would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

we stayed 4 nts in Holyhead, the room was very clean and well maintained, there are no hairdryers or fans in the room but just ask at reception and they will bring one to your room and are free.great stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a great stay at Holyhead Travelodge. The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean and fresh. The location is perfect for access to the town and ferry terminal. I would recommend this hotel anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our early morning ferry. The room was basic but very clean and the bed was comfy. There was ample parking and only a short walk from the town. The check in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very pleased with these accommodations, especially if you just want a clean, comfortable place to sleep. Nothing extra in the rooms, eg: telephone, hair dryer (you can borrow one at the front desk) and no alarm clocks-clock radio. Very small tv's and you only get 30 mins of free wi-fi. Having said that, you can't beat the price. The bed was very comfortable so it was great for us as we just needed a place to sleep for one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sherri93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

stayed here for one night before departing for Ireland, as it was close to the ferry terminal. We were told it had recently been refurbished, so we were expecting great things! However......although our room was large and spacious, I think it was because they forgot to put all the furniture back, it was rather minimalistic.....a rail with coat hangers instead of a wardrobe, a sort of dressing table/desk with tea & coffee making facilities, and one chair....that was it, considering there were two of us, one of us had to sit on the bed. There were indentations on the carpet where there had been furniture, which made us laugh. Our room looked out close to the entrance so was quite noisy when people went outside for a cigarette.
The best thing......the bed was large and very very comfy, no bedside tables though that again made us laugh....no where to put your watch, cup of tea or whatever else you would put on a bedside table.......all in all it was a rather bizarre experience !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_Marie438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
1.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
622 reviews
13.5 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
315 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
10.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
236 reviews
22.5 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Holyhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Holyhead Hotel

Property: Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Address: Kingsland Road, Holyhead LL65 2LB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Holyhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early Check-in and Late Check-out service available at this hotel for an additional charge. Early Check-in available from 12 noon, subject to available rooms. Late Check-out available until 2.00 pm, subject to available rooms. Transport Links: Nearest Major Road - A55 0.1 mile Nearest Port - Holyhead 0.2 miles Places To Go: Port - 1 mile Marina - 1.5 miles South Stack Lighthouse - 1.5 miles Country Park - 2 miles Nearest Towns/Nightlife: Holyhead - 0.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Holyhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Holyhead
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel Island Of Anglesey
Holyhead Travelodge
Holyhead Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing