We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for one night as a stop over before our ferry journey. There were 4 of us.

Rooms are clean, with nice double beds. We needed two beds in one room - the other bed was just a small camp style, which was uncomfortable.

The receptionist was friendly, but not hugely helpful when we asked for places to eat. He guided us to a restaurant which we had to drive to, when there were plenty of take aways and restaurants within walking distance.

The breakfast boxes are okay, but I would suggest eating on the ferry if you prefer hot food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuchiterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel because of it's convenience to the ferry terminal at Holyhead. We found it extremely clean, staff were helpful and the room was quiet. I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mary463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have stayed at Holyhead Travelodge several times and usually enjoyed it. I stayed there this time to take my mum back for a couple of days to see where she used to live and meet some old friends. As she has dementia and mobility problems I asked for a disabled access room and this was perfect. The staff on arrival were friendly as usual, and the beds comfortable.
However, on this occasion our sleep was disturbed on our second night by a commotion outside our room and in the corridor at 4.30am with a great deal of shouting and arguing (and it sounded to me like it was some sort of party and that somebody was drunk), and I eventually settled my mum back down before we were woken again about 6.45am by some children shouting (they had probably been disturbed from the incident earlier on).
On checking out, I reported our inconvenience to the receptionist and she said - oh yes, that was someone who was unwell and we had to get him out, but there was no question about my mum's welfare or the effect on her, and then the receptionist asked had I booked online and if so, when I got the email, please could I complete the survey and give them a good rating because it helps! I told her I definitely would be completing a survey this time, and I have done that now.
On reflection I may stay again, but might take mum to Anglesey Outdoors instead next time (where I have also stayed before) which is much quieter than Travelodge was this time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank northeastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Like all travelodges the value of the hotel depends greatly on the price you managed to book for.

The hotel was basic, but the guy on reception was friendly. The room itself was clean, the new travelodge beds are comfy but without air conditioning was quite stuffy. Due to the nature of the hotel and being next to a port there are plenty of people leaving and arriving throughout the night. Having the window open increases the chances of being woken by people getting out of their cars.

The mugs supplied for tea and coffee needed a clean before I used them. The room curtains aren't over generous and let quite a bit of light in around the edges.

That said, the hotel is undeniably convenient for Holyhead port and took a lot of hassle out of catching the first ferry of the day to Dublin.

Room Tip: A room not overlooking the car park would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

we stayed 4 nts in Holyhead, the room was very clean and well maintained, there are no hairdryers or fans in the room but just ask at reception and they will bring one to your room and are free.great stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a great stay at Holyhead Travelodge. The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean and fresh. The location is perfect for access to the town and ferry terminal. I would recommend this hotel anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here the night before our early morning ferry. The room was basic but very clean and the bed was comfy. There was ample parking and only a short walk from the town. The check in was quick and easy and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
1.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
681 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
319 reviews
18.6 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
340 reviews
20.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
10.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Holyhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Holyhead Hotel

Address: Kingsland Road, Holyhead LL65 2LB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Price Range: £38 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Holyhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early Check-in and Late Check-out service available at this hotel for an additional charge. Early Check-in available from 12 noon, subject to available rooms. Late Check-out available until 2.00 pm, subject to available rooms. Transport Links: Nearest Major Road - A55 0.1 mile Nearest Port - Holyhead 0.2 miles Places To Go: Port - 1 mile Marina - 1.5 miles South Stack Lighthouse - 1.5 miles Country Park - 2 miles Nearest Towns/Nightlife: Holyhead - 0.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Holyhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Holyhead
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel Island Of Anglesey
Holyhead Travel Lodge
Holyhead Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing