We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Beautiful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Bryn Eglwys. We had chosen the hotel on the basis of excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The Hotel is in a magnificent location surrounded by hills with the river running close by. All the staff were friendly and the proprietor Kevin Lambert unobtrusively makes a point of talking to his customers to ensure that everything is ok. The quality of the accommodation and cleanliness are beyond reproach. We really looked forward to mealtimes. The standard of cooking was outstanding and great care was taken over individual requirements. In our opinion the evening meals were very good value for money with tea or coffee included without charge whether you chose one, two or three courses. We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    39
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
181
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed with grandson 14th-16th June...a real delight to stay here.
Pleasant, welcoming and courteous people, an ambience that smacked solidly of class.
Tasteful decor and fittings everywhere.
IMPECCABLY clean...comfortable and warm.The package deal of dinner bed and breakfast was excellent value The food was really good...as a part of the package deal...but it did not appear like clients came merely to dine. Perhaps...as a stand-alone menu, the prices might be deemed a touch too much? - A question - not a judgement.
Without doubt the location is idyllic,a lovely level of solitude whilst most definitely not isolated.
The lovely village of Beddgelert a 5 minute walk, - the whole of the Snowdonia range at hand with the unparalleled views...absolute heaven.
Without any doubt whatsoever...this is one of the finest hotels in North Wales. Thank you so very much ...your professionalism was awesome!

Room Tip: Every room would be good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My son and I spent 2 wonderful nights here occupying 2 superior level rooms. Mine was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in outside of my own. (My son's seemed to be the same) Very warm welcome by our host was continued by the friendly staff throughout the weekend. Great cooked breakfast with enough variety to satisfy at reasonable hour. Rooms very clean, nicely decorated and had everything we needed. Great shower over the bath and everything worked as it should! The only small criticism was the packed lunch which despite great sandwich, lacked something (my son thought it needed crisps and I would have liked a bigger piece of fruit) making it slightly expensive for what it was at £6.00. But it was convenient to have as out on trains all day. I will definitely stay again in one of the superior rooms over looking Aberglaswyn valley. Many thanks to all who made this a special weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Situated in the picturesque village Beddgelert in the middle of the Snowdonia National Park, the Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel is a classy place. Ample parking space is provided and around the hotel is a neat garden / park. Directly at the hotel an easy walkway along the river Glaslyn starts which can be extended to a nice 30 minutes round walk.

Inside, it is elegant, certainly for the price range. The rooms are tasteful and functional, although ours could have been a tad bigger, but we managed. Everything is clean and functional and nice care products are provided. The real jewels are the lounge / bar area and the restaurant room, though. Both are really classy and noble.

In a setting like this, we go a bit into posh mode and expect for all things to be on a certain level. The Bryn Eglwys met most of them, but not all. Where it fell short was:
- Serve all drinks properly. There is a nice decoration table in the restaurant lobby with proper red wine glasses and a wine decanter in the shelf behind the table. So, we expected that these items are not only for decoration, but used to serve wine adequately. Yet, our red went into the usual wine-water-all-purpose glass. On the second night, I prevented the waiter from pouring our Cava into these glasses, too. Upon request, he then got us two proper champagne flutes. Obviously, the glasses are there – please make use of them.
- The breakfast offered not enough choice in our opinion. For the price, we expected a musli buffet, including joghurt and a selection of fruits. On the first night, my wife had a fantastic fruit salad as dessert, which would also have been a true asset for the breakfast. The menu based approach with grapefruit as only fruit was a bit disappointing. No complains on the cooked parts, though, these again were excellent and contained the expected range of choices.
- Guide dogs should be allowed in the restaurant area. This was the only hotel during our trip where this was not the case, and while the dinner was excellent, we did not take the time it would have deserved. Our hearts and minds simply were with our family member in solitary confinement.

In the end, these are all minor points. Overall, our impression from this fine Hotel is very positive. A helpful and friendly owner, with expert knowledge of area and history, a very attentive and motivated staff, great food, a classy hotel in a beautiful setting. We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel as we had seen it every time we had visited Beddgelert and we had an opportunity to get away for a night, so booked.
Given a beautiful double room looking out towards the river and hills beyond. Wonderful to watch the sunrise this morning and hear the chatter of birds from our bed.
I was researching for my third book and needed a place to sit quietly and contemplate scenes, Bryn Eglwys was perfect. We weren't bothered in any way, but more or less left on our own - that's not to say we weren't made welcome - we were, by human and cat!!
I think the only thing we were disappointed in was the fact that we only saw five of the cats that roam the hotel grounds!!!
I found the bedroom perfectly adequate, clean, bright and the welcome tray to our satisfaction (biscuits will always make a good impression!!)
We didn't have an evening meal as we knew another place offered more vegetarian food choices, but we returned for an evening pint which we enjoyed in the lounge while I won at cards!
Lovely breakfast served by two bright, friendly people which was a joy to see and not some grumpy person going through the motions. The owner even came out to politely ask if we'd had a comfortable night - which we had - nice comfy bed!
Will be recommending this hotel to friends. (Might even put it in the book!!)

Room Tip: Room 16 was our room and had a beautiful view, but I'm sure all the rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derwenna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We travelled recently and had a great time at this hotel. Our hosts, Kevin & Lyn, were extremely accommodating as we had a very late check in and the hotel facilities, breakfast etc. were all excellent. Kevin was always available with advice on routes etc as well. Its a great location for both the village life, riverside walks and Snowdon climb (if you have your own car). Our room had a beautiful view and was always well maintained. The staff too are very helpful and attentive. Overall - a great experience and a place we would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My Mum and I have just been to Bryn Eglwys Hotel This is such a peaceful place and where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Our hosts Kevin and Lyn gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived. We were shown to our room which was very comfortable with excellent facilities. The meals here are excellent and taken in the dining room which has windows on three sides giving wonderful views of the surrounding mountains and the river which flows below in view of the Hotel. Lyn provides daily menus with plenty of choice and cooks fresh very tasty meals. It has been a joy to stay in Kevin and Lyn's hotel it has a lovely atmosphere and we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
13.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel

Property: Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Address: Bryn Eglwys Hotel, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Georgian farmhouse standing in one of the most enviable locations in Snowdonia, Bryn Eglwys Hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. We offer good food and comfortable, well equipped en suite rooms with superb views. We are pet friendly; have on site parking and easy access to the attractions of Snowdonia. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing