We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Certificate of Excellence
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mountain gem”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderfully relaxing small hotel set in the idyllic surroundings of Snowdonia. The rooms and decor are of a very high standard and exceptionally clean. Kevin and his staff were attentive (but not intrusively so) and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The breakfasts were freshly cooked to order with plenty of fresh coffee. The evening meals, again, were freshly prepared from fresh, locally sourced ingredients - Welsh lamb and beef, fish bought in Llandudno, etc., plus an interesting, reasonably priced wine list. Little extra things like fresh milk ( not UHT) available for tea in the rooms, and daily replacement of face flannels and towels added to the sense of luxury.

The weather in Snowdonia may be unreliable ( though you can rely on rain) but the region is lovely whatever. We can't wait to return to Bryn Eglwys (and the weather)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pachydiplax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    42
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
46
192
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Not only is this Hotel an absolute gem in the middle of the very beautiful Snowdonia National Park but the Owners and Staff are both so welcoming and friendly. The food was superb and nothing was too much trouble. I accidently left all my jewellery there and not only did I receive it all back, sent to me via registered post, but they wouldn't even let me pay for the postage. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Gorgeous little b&b tucked away in the welsh mountains. If you're going to north wales you really must stay here! after climbing Snowdon it wa slovely to come back to our cosy little room, it's like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building have stunning views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaselina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early October. The hotel is a very welcoming place situated in a beautiful location and is perfectly situated for visiting many parts of Snowdonia and the surrounding area. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well furnished with lovely views down the valley and a new looking en suite with all the toiletries one would need. We chose to book our evening meal each day with the hotel and were not disappointed; both breakfast and dinner were excellent with a different choice every evening ( the rack of lamb should not be missed, or the venison casserole or the .......). The service in the dining room was excellent and the views from the windows made it all special. The small bar had plenty of variety on offer and I can thoroughly recommend the bottled Snowdonia beer from the local Purple Moose Brewery. The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from the centre of Beddgelert and 10/15 minutes from The Welsh Highland Railway station in Beddgelert. There is plenty of parking space in the hotels own car park. Thank you for a great stay. Would we recommend the hotel, without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

On arrival met by friendly female proprietress who explained what we needed to know. Went to our room which had its ceiling populated by flies, and in the corners cobwebs. Otherwise clean. Breakfast was of an excellent quality, if Meagre in quantity. Nice lounge area and friendly staff.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dmp1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed for two nights in late September. A very nice little hotel in the most amazing location. Upon arrival our host went through a couple of things such as how to open the front door late at night etc. The room was very comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. We dined with them on our first night and the food and service was excellent. I liked the fact that each morning in reception a summary of the day's weather was posted up, lovely touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martincentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on the spur of the moment.
It was August and a lot of other places were fully booked but there was a cancellation here and so we were lucky.
A nice quiet spot at the back of the village across a 'weak bridge', although my 4x4 was OK but there is a sign nether the less.
We had a room facing the river and valley and although the weather was not at it's best, the view was still worth it.
Breakfast was also a treat as waiter served and very pleasant along again with the view.
A decent sized car park at the front although when we came back late we struggled to find a spot which shows that it is popular.
Would definitely return here again as it was a really nice 1 night stay in a beautiful part of the country!

Room Tip: We had a side facing room which faced the valley and river which was a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Fallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
13.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
13.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel

Property: Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Address: Bryn Eglwys Hotel, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Georgian farmhouse standing in one of the most enviable locations in Snowdonia, Bryn Eglwys Hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. We offer good food and comfortable, well equipped en suite rooms with superb views. We are pet friendly; have on site parking and easy access to the attractions of Snowdonia. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing