We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BAD BAD BAD”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Saracens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Saracens Head
Ranked #1 of 11 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen
1 review
“BAD BAD BAD”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Having viewed the hotel website pictures had no hesitation in wanting to book.
Location was excellent, but that’s the only good thing I can say about this hotel.
The sheets on bunk beds were unchanged and dirty, the slapdash decor was
grim. A group of us stayed here and the other two rooms were equally bad.
No shower facilities on the 1st floor. However to top it all, at breakfast the milk
used from jug on the buffet table, had gone off. This place had no shabby chic charm,
just shabby and smelly. Suggestion would be to give channel 5 a ring and get on
that show called The Hotel Inspector.. FAST.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    88
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
48
202
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath, London
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This pub seems to be on the receiving end of some bad experiences - now while I don't doubt the experiences of those before me, I can say that things have improved dramatically!

The Saracens Head has been recently taken over by new management who have turned things around. They do, indeed, serve some of Robinson's finest ales and you couldn't ask for friendlier, more helpful or charming staff and management.

The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable - breakfast was excellent, Sunday roast superb and the atmosphere and surroundings were fabulous.

Our ONE recommendation is to take anti-midge citronella spray, or bite cream at the very least - if the weather's damp and warm they swarm and you're liable to be munched!

Thanks to Michael and all the locals for such a warm welcome...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I returned yesterday from a short trip to beautiful Snowdonia, we had good weather, good company, great views....but the accommodation was 'dire'. The building itself looks very promising from the outside, I understand it has recently been re-roofed. It stands in a prime location in a beautiful village. Once inside however, things take a dramatic turn for the worse. On the ground floor things are tired and dusty, which I suppose could add to the charm of the place. Having checked in though, things turned really bad when I went upstairs.....I was immediately met by the strong smell of vomit. Apparantly a wedding party had been in the night before and left a mess !!!! The smell filled the whole upstairs.
I shared room 17, which I saw was typical of all the rooms on that floor. There were two single beds, which admittedly did appear to have clean linen on. The carpet was filthy, with masses of long black hair on it. The window (thankfully) was wedged in a fully opened state and unable to be closed.....though this might not be so good in winter.
There was very small portable TV on a make-shift shelf which gave reasonable sound, but no picture.
The en-suite was dark and dingey, no windows, the carpet was damp and fusty and the bath was filthy.
As far as breakfast is concerned, I would agree with a previous reviewer that the cheapest of ingredients are deep fried and submitted as a 'classic welsh full breakfast'.
I saw what was being offered and asked for a couple of poached eggs on toast instead, the 'chef's' moans of complaint could be heard from the dining room.
Three friends from our party were fortunate enough to have had their booking 'lost' by the hotel. They ventured down the road only 100 yards and found a very nice bed and breakfast. If I were to go again to Beddgelert, I would also go for the small privately run B&B, because the Saracens Head has no real right to call itself a hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The Saracens Head Hotel recently changed management.

Things are starting to improve. Most of the hotel has been repainted in the last few weeks. Its still in a timewarp but that's part of its character. It's getting ready for the summer season.

As a Robinson's hotel it has good award winning beers. I can recommend the "Double Hop" .

It is set among some of the most stunning scenery in Snowdonia. Gelert mountain shop just up the road and a couple of lovely craft shops in the village.

Avoid the Fish and Chip shop a few doors away............. frozen fish at its worst !

The West Highland railway is up and running and is a nice trip. Get off at Rhy-Dhu and climb Snowdon ! (Shortest and easiest climb)

If you want to go on the Snowdon Mountain Railway ... phone and book it's always booked up for a few days ahead.

The Saracens Head is in the best location in the village and is up and coming

Mike

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatbossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

This was possibly a nice place to stay 20 or 30 years ago but it felt like little had changed since. The beds were comfortable, the telly worked well, and the shower was refreshing. Sadly, the bedroom and en suite as a whole felt tired, dusty and damp. The breakfast was more disappointing and was a stronger and unwelcome reminder of some of my less good childhood holiday memories - low quality ingredients in a lot of grease. Experiences eating elsewhere in Beddgelert were not much better. Anyone want to open a modern, fresh, honest pub/B&B in this wonderful location?

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pevans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.0 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head

Property: The Saracens Head
Address: Saracens Head Caernarfon Road, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracens Head is a delightful Inn located in the picturesque village of Beddgelert in Snowdonia National Park. All meals are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce. The bedrooms have undergone a major refurbishment and all rooms are now en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saracens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing