We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saracens Head
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dol Peris(Llanberis)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Llanberis)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
233
101
42
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
233
101
42
13
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubdog biscuitsmuddy boots and dogsdog friendly hotelan excellent hotelopen firedog ownersreception areafew drinksan evening mealstayed for two nightstwo night staysuperior roomlovely roomfantastic staylamboverlooking the river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Having viewed the hotel website pictures had no hesitation in wanting to book.
Location was excellent, but that’s the only good thing I can say about this hotel.
The sheets on bunk beds were unchanged and dirty, the slapdash decor was
grim. A group of us stayed here and the other two rooms were equally bad.
No shower facilities on the 1st floor. However to top it all, at breakfast the milk
used from jug on the buffet table, had gone off. This place had no shabby chic charm,
just shabby and smelly. Suggestion would be to give channel 5 a ring and get on
that show called The Hotel Inspector.. FAST.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank Rosalind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This pub seems to be on the receiving end of some bad experiences - now while I don't doubt the experiences of those before me, I can say that things have improved dramatically!

The Saracens Head has been recently taken over by new management who have turned things around. They do, indeed, serve some of Robinson's finest ales and you couldn't ask for friendlier, more helpful or charming staff and management.

The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable - breakfast was excellent, Sunday roast superb and the atmosphere and surroundings were fabulous.

Our ONE recommendation is to take anti-midge citronella spray, or bite cream at the very least - if the weather's damp and warm they swarm and you're liable to be munched!

Thanks to Michael and all the locals for such a warm welcome...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I returned yesterday from a short trip to beautiful Snowdonia, we had good weather, good company, great views....but the accommodation was 'dire'. The building itself looks very promising from the outside, I understand it has recently been re-roofed. It stands in a prime location in a beautiful village. Once inside however, things take a dramatic turn for the worse. On the ground floor things are tired and dusty, which I suppose could add to the charm of the place. Having checked in though, things turned really bad when I went upstairs.....I was immediately met by the strong smell of vomit. Apparantly a wedding party had been in the night before and left a mess !!!! The smell filled the whole upstairs.
I shared room 17, which I saw was typical of all the rooms on that floor. There were two single beds, which admittedly did appear to have clean linen on. The carpet was filthy, with masses of long black hair on it. The window (thankfully) was wedged in a fully opened state and unable to be closed.....though this might not be so good in winter.
There was very small portable TV on a make-shift shelf which gave reasonable sound, but no picture.
The en-suite was dark and dingey, no windows, the carpet was damp and fusty and the bath was filthy.
As far as breakfast is concerned, I would agree with a previous reviewer that the cheapest of ingredients are deep fried and submitted as a 'classic welsh full breakfast'.
I saw what was being offered and asked for a couple of poached eggs on toast instead, the 'chef's' moans of complaint could be heard from the dining room.
Three friends from our party were fortunate enough to have had their booking 'lost' by the hotel. They ventured down the road only 100 yards and found a very nice bed and breakfast. If I were to go again to Beddgelert, I would also go for the small privately run B&B, because the Saracens Head has no real right to call itself a hotel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The Saracens Head Hotel recently changed management.

Things are starting to improve. Most of the hotel has been repainted in the last few weeks. Its still in a timewarp but that's part of its character. It's getting ready for the summer season.

As a Robinson's hotel it has good award winning beers. I can recommend the "Double Hop" .

It is set among some of the most stunning scenery in Snowdonia. Gelert mountain shop just up the road and a couple of lovely craft shops in the village.

Avoid the Fish and Chip shop a few doors away............. frozen fish at its worst !

The West Highland railway is up and running and is a nice trip. Get off at Rhy-Dhu and climb Snowdon ! (Shortest and easiest climb)

If you want to go on the Snowdon Mountain Railway ... phone and book it's always booked up for a few days ahead.

The Saracens Head is in the best location in the village and is up and coming

Mike

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatbossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

This was possibly a nice place to stay 20 or 30 years ago but it felt like little had changed since. The beds were comfortable, the telly worked well, and the shower was refreshing. Sadly, the bedroom and en suite as a whole felt tired, dusty and damp. The breakfast was more disappointing and was a stronger and unwelcome reminder of some of my less good childhood holiday memories - low quality ingredients in a lot of grease. Experiences eating elsewhere in Beddgelert were not much better. Anyone want to open a modern, fresh, honest pub/B&B in this wonderful location?

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pevans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews