We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere if you can”
Review of The Saracens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Saracens Head
Ranked #3 of 11 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere if you can”
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This hotel has a good location in the centre of pretty Beddgelert and has well meaning staff, but these strengths are far outweighed by negatives. Despite some repainting and new TVs, this hotel remains in a 70s time warp - from the parrot (whose mess often drops onto the carpet below its cage) to the grille across the reception desk window to the mirror with an etched silhouette of Concorde in the dining room mirror to allocated seats at breakfast. The breakfast was clearly prepared from the cheapest ingredients - I've no idea what the sausages were made of. Worst of all are the shared bathrooms which do not have showers. If we'd known we would not have been able to wash our hair for £70 a night we would never have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagleowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    95
    40
    13
    17
See reviews for
53
218
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed on Saturday night with my partner, very comfortable and clean, excellent breakfast. Will return in future and in particular when the refurbishment has been completed. Friendly staff and great service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobster5204854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We booked this for a 2 night stay to do some winter walking in Snowdonia.It has recently changed hands and it was lovely!Very quiet in january.We were made to feel very welcome,rooms clean and tidy,warm,lots of hot water for a soak after a long walk.The breakfast is great-plenty to set you up for the day,large packed lunch,evening meals in the bar were well priced and a good choice of simple,tasty food,even for awkward veggies like me,roasties with pasta if you wish!The owners were very friendly and helpful.We would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendygirlSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

from the outside the hotel looks great and bedgellert is a great spot. talking to the new owners they moved in a couple of weeks ago and made huge improvements since i was there last. the place now smells clean,welcoming, even a smile this never happerned before.they have changed the furniture in the bar which now gives it a much better feel. the new coffee machine and food offer makes a huge difference.rooms are much cleaner and my room had got a much better feel and from my chat to the new owners they will be getting all the rooms updated.
worth revisiting if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjammydodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I have stayed at this hotel before wasn't that impressed ,but good value so stayed again .
Ok one negative the reception could do with a bit more lighting,bit dark as you walk in not very welcoming.
This time was a much better stay new management ,so think the hotel will get a touch up friendly staff ,clean rooms ,bathroom .and a nice view from our window .
The bar was nice relaxing atmosphere,and great location with parking.
best value place for me who wants somewhere clean to stay while i go walking .

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthemove73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and thank God it was only 2! The whole hotel is embarrasingly shabby and tatty. The paintwork is so bad, there were even paint splatters on the carpet. It reminded me of the tatty French hotels we used to stay in on school trips. There was no room service at all during our stay. Worse than the bedroom was the shared bathroom. The toilet paper ran out one morning, when we came back in the evening it still hadn't been replaced so we had to pinch one from another bathroom. There was a pointless rusty, empty metal shelf, and a pointless, paint splattered stool in there. There was also a bottle of Jif and the manky sponge they use to (rarely I imagine) clean the bath, that was left on the side of the bath. Although they seemed nice, I got the impression the staff couldn't really care less. When we stayed, it seemed very quiet, and they still couldn't see to the rooms. However, it did seem better than the Prince Llewellyn down the road, and there does seem to be a shortage of decent places to stay in the beautiful Beddgelert.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillylils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We are a family of four with ten year old twins and stayed in this place over 4 nights taking in the August bank holiday. Our so called family room was in fact a standard double with bunk beds and was amazingly badly decorated with overpainting on all fixings. The single wardrobe, one shelf come dressing table and single bedside cabinet where all made from formica kitchen top and with only one plug to serve the whole room as the only other was an ancient two prong plug which the filthy bed side light used. The double bed was in fact a matress sitting on a knocked up box base, unbelievable !
Not once over our four day stay was any room service provided, no towels,bedding changed or drinks replaced. The bathroom opposite our room was a shared convinience and was dated, the bath was grimy and stained, no way would i or my family bathe in that envronment and there was no shower.
The weather was very wet and although not cold a distinct chill could be felt at times with no self control heating infact no heating at all and no drying facilities to hand this became quite a problem.
The whole place is lacking investment and genuine warmth with as far as i am concerned a falsification of the nature and condition of this hotel being given by the owners.
I would also mention that on the Saturday night a group of people i presumed to be locals sat outside the hotel on one of the tables and clearly worse for drink talked and sang until 2am.
The manager who was infact a decent enough man made little attempt to hide this hotels shortcomings and the staff i must say where freindly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but ok served in the restraunt with a choice of packet cereals,carton orange poured into a jug and a mixed grill as the standard.
To sum up anyone visiting the village would not be dissapointed it is fantastic but be aware if you chose to stay at the Saracens Head as a family it leaves a lot to be desired but if all you are after is a roof over your head and a place to rest your head it would do. I will be writing to Robinsons the owners to further take issue and will post any response when and if that arrives.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stupot6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head

Property: The Saracens Head
Address: Saracens Head Caernarfon Road, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracens Head is a delightful Inn located in the picturesque village of Beddgelert in Snowdonia National Park. All meals are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce. The bedrooms have undergone a major refurbishment and all rooms are now en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Saracens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing