We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy Guest House” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colwyn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beddgelert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colwyn Guest House
Ranked #5 of 11 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Caersws, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cosy Guest House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were showing our Australian visitors the delights of North Wales, starting at Portmeirion on the Monday and Snowdon Mountain Railway on the Tuesday. Colwyn in Beddgelert seemed an appropriate place to spend Monday night it being between the two. Colleen was very welcoming and the guest house was very clean. We had a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning before leaving. On the down side, it was very small and our room was up two flights of narrow stairs. That having been said, I would suggest it would suit most people. Just something to bear in mind if you are not very mobile and/or need/want plenty of space.

Room Tip: All the rooms are up narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Well, we were supposed to stay at the Plas Gwyn (see my review of them) but due to circumstances we were sent next door to stay with Colleen. What a delightful hostess, fun to talk to and so gracious. She allowed us access to her kitchen to get wine glasses, and made the best bacon for breakfast. We were in room 2 which was on the second floor, facing the river, and it was nicely done. Good shower, nice decor, and a great location. We had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days at Colwyn last September and enjoyed it immensely. The room was small, but neat, clean, and very cozy, and with a great view of the river and town. We had our own key to come and go as we pleased. The breakfast was great. Colleen was a very friendly and attentive host - she even did our laundry for us. We felt at home and welcome. It was a most pleasant stay. Tom and Judy G.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

After planning a day trip to north Wales we found we had not seen as much as we had hoped , after arriving at beddgelert we noted down the number of the colwyn guest house and rang them to see if they had a double unsuite available for 1 night , colleen said there was one available but that she didn't accept cards and promptly told us where we could get cash, we were shown to a lovely cosy bedroom looking over the picturesque river and bridge , comfy bed and delicious breakfast. Also would recommend the Llewellyn pub next door , superb food there Cajun chicken has quite a kick x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choc_buttonz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont Saint Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We rocked up in the dark and were met by Colleen saying that she was popping out but was there anything she could do for us. We stayed for New Years Eve and were invited to join her friends for a drink before heading out. The room was very clean and pleasant, although the Bathroom was a little small. Breakfast was hearty and just what you need for an adventure into Snowdonia as you are about 20 mins drive from Penn y Pass and Snowdon. (Other walks are available). We also tried the local pubs and restaurants and found the Welsh hospitality there also. I would very much recommend staying here as Colleen is an amazing hostess and really cares about looking after you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Very welcoming and its like a home from home feeling at the guest house.
It was our first weekend holiday break where we have taken our 2 dogs and they loved it too!
Colleen and keith both lovely people and the breakfast was very impressive and filling (set us up for the day)
I have been to Beddgelert before a few years ago camping and wanted to show my partner the beautiful sites including gelerts grave.
The pub next door prince Lewlyns was just as pleasant with excellent food, plus dogs are allowed off the the leads and to relax with everyone else.

It was an all round very pleasant stay and we thank Colleen and Keith for the wonderful experience and I feel we will come back again maybe int he summer time to tackle Snowdon!

Highly recommend especially if you have doggies! They are spoilt with affection

Adam & Shaun with Venus and Archie :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

The interior is decorated to quite a high standard, really friendly people running the place, very good breakfast, three of our friends dropped in to plan the day and they were welcomed offered tea and toast without any hesitation, all you could wish for in a B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.1 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
The Saracens Head
The Saracens Head
#1 of 11 in Beddgelert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwyn Guest House

Property: Colwyn Guest House
Address: Colwyn Caernarfon Road | Gwynedd, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4UY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th century listed buildiing In the centre of Beddgelert overlooking the river. Ideally situated for tackling Snowdon or for taking it easy on the beaches nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colwyn Guest House Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing