We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked a walking holiday in a dog friendly hotel”
Review of Royal Goat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Goat Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We booked a walking holiday in a dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel advertises being dog friendly but I don't think they were. We were basically allowed to take the dog into our room and out again!
We went across to the Saracen's Head to eat in the evenings because they allowed dogs in the bar and were dog friendly. We also discovered that most of the other residents of the hotel were also eating there in the evenings! Maybe the Goat could be more friendly and welcoming and its evening meal sales will tak off!!

I can understand that the Goat Hotel don't allow dogs in the dining room but why not in the lounge, where residents (and dogs) who have been out walking all day want to relax and have a drink?

On the other hand the breakfasts were lovely!

Room Tip: Staff will accommodate requests for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenWoodthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    94
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
37
77
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

As seasoned visitors to Wales, we were really pleased with our choice of hotel. Some reviews say it needs updating but that is nonsense. The old features and the dated decor actually make the place look homely - perhaps a faceless boutique hotel would suit these reviewers better. The hotel is a good, honest hotel which is clean and roomy. Breakfast and the packed lunches are excellent, we didn't have evening meal there but it smelt very good! Plenty of parking, pleasant staff and the location is just about the best in Beddgelert - which is a wonderful village for walkers and less than 20 minutes from seaside as well. I'd also recommend the Tanronnen Inn for a pint.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogan_nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Will try to make this as short as poss.This hotel is in excellent position and in a great area.Our room was good ,bedding and bed very comfy.The bathroom was dreadful,straight out of the 60,s,not as clean as I would have liked.The window is covered by a roman blind which was very difficult to stay up but was probably there to keep the cracked glass and extremely dirty window hidden.The breakfast was ok,the cooked full hit was very good but then it was let down with nasty cheap bread,butter and jam.Had an evening meal there also good but overpriced as was the price of the room.Have stayed in much better hotels for the price paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellie2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here a while ago for a week and really enjoyed our visit, close to some wonderful walks and hills and the trip along the river is recommended. It's a stones throw from Gelerts grave and a great story to tell the kids. This hotel is dog friendly and the reason we chose it. The food was superbly cooked and very tasty especially after a day walking in the beautiful welsh mountains.

Beth Gelerts is a great little town and this hotel is a little gem. You won't be disappointed I'm sure.

Enjoy the Royal Goat - we would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteNook333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Room 31 is on the 3rd floor, into the roofspace and therefore has exposed beams which we thought was very quaint for such a big hotel - in a nice way. The window , although small, had a beautiful view down the valley. The shower room was big and modern and the shower was fantastic. I thought that with it being such a big hotel the water would be tepid and the water pressure rubbish, but it was hot and powerful and just the thing after a long walk in the hills. We ate in the Hotel 2 out of the 3 nights we were there. The menu was small but varied and everything was delicious . Staff were friendly and helpful and we will definately be back in the new year

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail4473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in beddgelert I the early 2000's and booked into a nearby smaller hotel.
When we explored beautiful beddgelert we couldn't help but notice such a splendid building that is the royal goat hotel.
We had occasion to visit beddgelert so without delay booked into the royal goat.
We explored the mountain railway that now conects caernarfon and Porthmadog.
On our first day we just stayed local.
We had afternoon tea and relaxed in the beautiful drawing room before going on and having our evening meal which was great, good service, good food, fab surroundings.
The room was spacious and very clean, my wife commented on the wooden blinds that they were very nice (of all the things to comment on) we have had them fitted at our house now!!!
The owners,Ben and Vicky were always on hand to assist in any way and really made our stay a pleasure!
Their staff were always polite, courtious, and well presented and a credit to the owners!

Overall I'd put the hotel in a few category's
1, very oldy worldly, quaint, and picturesque.
2,very convenient for all of snowdonia
3,good value for money!

Well done guys I'd recommend you to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paneldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just had an excellent short break winter deal at the Royal Goat.
Excellent value, excellent food, excellent staff and an ideal location for walking the Snowdonia peaks. What more could you want?
Good varied menu, well cooked and plentiful. The staff were very attentive and even though we had a slight hiccup when returning from a walk in the mountains to find our room had not been serviced, within half an hour of bringing it to their attention the problem was sorted.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
12.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
13.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
710 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Goat Hotel

Property: Royal Goat Hotel
Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Goat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goat Hotel Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing