We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Royal Goat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Goat Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with partner and friends. On first appearance the hotel looked very inviting and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food, we all thought was very mediocre and expensive for quality and portion size. Ales were all very good and fairly priced.
The hotel as a whole is in dire need of an extensive makeover and a deep clean, it feels very unloved. Rooms appeared clean on first entrance but wouldn't pass a closer inspection, with no attention to detail given. Furniture all felt quite tacky and sticky and there was a musty presence in the air. The shower was dismal!!! The beds were in need of replacement and mattress uncomfortable, the pair of us were itching after sleeping at the Royal Goat.
Talking to one chap in the bar who told me he was woken by water dripping on to his bed at 2.30 am and the staff simply moved the bed away from the leaky roof.
I feel it very disappointing that the establishment appears to take advantage of the tourists being attracted to this beautiful area and is charging a premium to its captive audience but not delivering a premium service.
Would I return to the Royal Goat? I'm afraid not...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julianl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights during a Snowdon climbing session.
The hotel gained Royal assent in the Victorian era and to be honest we found that it probably had not change much since then. The public carpeted areas and stairs need to be replaced, the decor is tired.
The rooms had a make over in the bathroom, but did not have an extractor fan, the window painted and unable to open, the window frame black with dirt gained over the years. The beds and mattresses need replacing, the room was musky on our entrance despite the window in the room being left open. Although the bedding had been changed the room it appeared had not really been cleaned, dust everywhere, spare blanket thrown into the wardrobe.
Having said this, the staff were very friendly helpful and informative. The food both breakfast and dinner were of a good standard.
A good location for the outdoor activities of the area, but it needs some attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great location, nice large rooms, good service.

The overall impression was good and the food was excellent. Surprisingly the Carribean Chicken Curry was Hot!

Only downside...the fire Alarm that went off on the first night at 4.30.....4.55....5.15.....6.00.....and so on. Thankfully the second night was peaceful

Welcomes dogs

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Went for a meal here after hiking up Snowdon. The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The local fare was interesting but well presented, and cooked to perfection. I would recommend stopping here for a meal.

Did I mention the food was delicious!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Declan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel has an issue with their alarm, on a four night stay the alarm went off at 4.30am 2 of the nights, with guests congregating in car park for no reason.

Bathroom cleaniness not up to scratch, hair etc on floor. Tried to wipe stains off the paintwork myself only to find the dirt had been painted in.

Fresh towels were not offered had to ask for them on the morning of day four.

Room 12 is dark and small with hardly any natural light but as we were told guests with dogs are not put into Superior rooms.

On the plus side good location and food quite nice.

Overall tired and dated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff were extremely helpful, special thanks to Anna and Shaun! They were particularly helpful and helped us sort out a mistake we made. The food was really very good in fact my wife and I gave them 8/10. The steak I ate was one of the best ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djansons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a meal with nine friends that was fantastic! Really great service, beautiful location. Take the short walk to the dog Gelert's grave. A great story. Dishes ordered included fish and pork...good Welsh pub food. Save room for the desserts...strawberry ice cream is 5 star!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
12.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
13.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
22.3 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Goat Hotel

Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Goat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goat Hotel Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing