We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre, over-priced, but I still love Beddgelert” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Goat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Goat Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre, over-priced, but I still love Beddgelert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the first time I've stayed in Beddgelert, so maybe my idea of the comparative value is skewed. However, compared to everywhere else I've stayed in North Wales, this is overpriced. There were a few distinguishing characteristics of an old building, offset by the charms, but the biggest problem was the state of the décor. It is really worn and dated everywhere. In the room, things were loose or falling off or not working; nothing dangerous but not what you expect at £90 a night. It just felt like no one had cared for the place for a long while. The staff were no more or less than should be expected; can't fault them but can't praise them, which for me is fine.

I've always been curious about the place when passing through, so in that sense I am glad to have stayed, but I won't go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    89
    48
    13
    9
See reviews for
35
71
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here overnight with a coach trip to Ireland. The room was clean and comfortable. For the evening meal we chose lamb. The lamb was served in a metal dish on a dinner plate. The lamb was very tender and nice but the vegetables were almost non existent. I had a very small piece of potato hidden amongst the lamb and we were given a vegetable dish with three small pieces of cauliflower and some purple shredded cabbage between four of us. The pudding we all had was sponge and custard, the sponge was ok but the custard was no more than a tablespoon ful. The breakfast was better. I doubt if I would be spending a night here independently.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
493 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recommended by friends we chose this as our first stop in the Snowdonia National Park in the village of Beddgelert a beautiful village steeped in history and quaint cottages built on both sides of a meandering river.The Goat Hotel stands proudly a few moments walk from the village bridge on a bend and painted creamy white,it is very easy to find.We were warmly welcomed at reception and were given a double room on the first floor with a pleasant view of the village.All the needed mod cons and en-suite bathroom made for a comfortable stay overnight,The restaurant was open for dinner with quite a comprehensive menu and reasonably priced wines to choose from.Service was fast and friendly by the same young lady who has checked us in she is from Romania and her husband is one of the chefs here. Breakfast was offered in a large room with chandeliers and was more than plentiful,clean and restful we would certainly return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We were travelling to Ireland on a coach tour. The hotel is set in a lovely picturesque spot in Wales, in the Snowdonia valley.
The reception was very efficient on our arrival. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The evening meal and breakfast was first class with plenty of choice. The staff were very efficient and eager to please. This is very nice hotel and would be very happy to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel and we have no complaints about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great stay at the Goat over Easter.
Great staff, great place and great food!

We had a lovely room with plenty of space.
All the staff are really helpful.
Breakfasts are lovely, Dinners declicious!

Will be staying again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkins028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just stayed here and enjoyed one of their winter breaks. Absolutely first class food and customer service and very inexpensive too. Friendly and flexible, with a nice hot bath to sooth my aching legs after walking the hills. Slightly vintage decor gives it a certain charm but I could not fault the package. They deserve to be busier...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonBrown13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Back in September 2013 I booked a Christmas Break at this hotel, for my wife and I, arriving on the 24th December and departing on the 27th,
Two weeks before we were due to go they emailed and said they had double booked and would we mind going to another guest house in the village. We did not want this. We cancelled and received our deposit back.
We received no other explanation nor apology. My wife wrote to the manager explaining that the service we were receiving was very below par and as they had informed us so late of the double booking we were unable to find somewhere else to spend the Christmas period. My wife went on to say that The Royal Goat Hotel had in effect ruined our Christmas.
I am not surprised to have to report that we have not had a reply to this letter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank garrydlaine2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Goat Hotel

Property: Royal Goat Hotel
Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Goat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goat Hotel Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing