We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience! Thank you!”
Review of Royal Goat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Goat Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience! Thank you!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I had a wonderful few days here with my elderly parents. They love this hotel & have visited several times. The location is superb, the atmosphere is charming, the staff are delightful, the food is superb and the decor is characterful and comfortable. It was a truly memorable stay. Thank you so much.

The village of Beddgelert is also very special. It has a dramatic beauty, and we very much enjoyed exploring the stunning landscapes of Snowdonia by car and steam train.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afreerachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    93
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
37
77
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We returned to the hotel for a second weekend break in April after our visit last year was so enjoyable.

The hotel is situated in a beautiful location and is a wonderful experience. We booked room 6 - which I think is the superior room and we loved it. A very comfortable king size bed, a lovely sitting area with a fabulous view across Beddgelert valley, and en suite bathroom.

The food at the hotel is freshly cooked and the menu is varied and of a very good standard. We stayed on the bed,breakfast and evening meal option and really enjoyed our dinner experience.

The waiting staff are extremely attentive and friendly. Well done all!!

My only criticism would be that a small fridge in the superior room would be extremely useful.

My observation is that what an unusual mix of furniture - some extremely old valuable items mixed with cheap stuff. Still I suppose it added to the charm!

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 6!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Dog friendly Hotel which is clean and family run establishment . If you book at certain dates you pay only a token amount for half-board accommodation. Friendly staff made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_roberts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the first time I've stayed in Beddgelert, so maybe my idea of the comparative value is skewed. However, compared to everywhere else I've stayed in North Wales, this is overpriced. There were a few distinguishing characteristics of an old building, offset by the charms, but the biggest problem was the state of the décor. It is really worn and dated everywhere. In the room, things were loose or falling off or not working; nothing dangerous but not what you expect at £90 a night. It just felt like no one had cared for the place for a long while. The staff were no more or less than should be expected; can't fault them but can't praise them, which for me is fine.

I've always been curious about the place when passing through, so in that sense I am glad to have stayed, but I won't go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here overnight with a coach trip to Ireland. The room was clean and comfortable. For the evening meal we chose lamb. The lamb was served in a metal dish on a dinner plate. The lamb was very tender and nice but the vegetables were almost non existent. I had a very small piece of potato hidden amongst the lamb and we were given a vegetable dish with three small pieces of cauliflower and some purple shredded cabbage between four of us. The pudding we all had was sponge and custard, the sponge was ok but the custard was no more than a tablespoon ful. The breakfast was better. I doubt if I would be spending a night here independently.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
504 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recommended by friends we chose this as our first stop in the Snowdonia National Park in the village of Beddgelert a beautiful village steeped in history and quaint cottages built on both sides of a meandering river.The Goat Hotel stands proudly a few moments walk from the village bridge on a bend and painted creamy white,it is very easy to find.We were warmly welcomed at reception and were given a double room on the first floor with a pleasant view of the village.All the needed mod cons and en-suite bathroom made for a comfortable stay overnight,The restaurant was open for dinner with quite a comprehensive menu and reasonably priced wines to choose from.Service was fast and friendly by the same young lady who has checked us in she is from Romania and her husband is one of the chefs here. Breakfast was offered in a large room with chandeliers and was more than plentiful,clean and restful we would certainly return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We were travelling to Ireland on a coach tour. The hotel is set in a lovely picturesque spot in Wales, in the Snowdonia valley.
The reception was very efficient on our arrival. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The evening meal and breakfast was first class with plenty of choice. The staff were very efficient and eager to please. This is very nice hotel and would be very happy to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel and we have no complaints about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
12.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
519 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Goat Hotel

Property: Royal Goat Hotel
Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Goat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goat Hotel Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing