We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place for Dinner”
Review of Lyn's Cafe & Tea Garden - CLOSED

Lyn's Cafe & Tea Garden
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Dinner”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Food was good, but service was a little slow (there was one server for the entire dining room.)

The sticky toffee pudding was to die for!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CerescoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    43
    13
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great service”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We decided to eat here on our last night in Beddgelert because the pub next door was full. What a good choice!
We were made to feel welcome when we arrived & were given the choice of where to sit at the clean, well presented tables indoors as it was getting a bit chilly to eat outside. There was a nice choice of things to eat on the menu at reasonable prices.
Service was good - friendly & courteous, & the proper, home-cooked food was really tasty. They apologise for not selling draught ales, but they sold very nice bottled beers from the Purple Moose brewery down the road in Porthmadog (not cheap but the same price as elsewhere in the village).
After much deliberation we didn't have a dessert, but when we talked to some people from our guest house the next morning we regretted it, as they said the lemon merangue was even nicer than it looked (& it looked very good!).
Only negative is that if it's quiet in the evening they may close early, so if you want to eat at night it's as well to pop in during the day & book. If you do, you probably won't end up as the only ones in there, as it's well placed as a good alternative to the oft overflowing Talronnen Arms round the corner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eriknwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a quick cuppa and a snack and had a lovely cream tea with a slice of bara brith, my other half had lemon meringue pie. Very good service and excellent value for money. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stormtwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great meals. good service”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

happy with everything, nice to have food outside on fresh air with amazing local views , ...............

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home cooking at its best”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is one of the best little cafes I've ever been to, the food was delicious especially the steak and Guinness pie, this was to die for. The staff were so very friendly and courteous. We went back there every day. We had our dog so had to sit outside but there was a covered area which did us just fine. Its a place I will go back to whenever I am in Beddgelert again. The desserts were wonderful and the prices reasonable. Loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyn's Cafe & Tea Garden also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing