We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They keep returning”
Review of The Saracens Head

The Saracens Head
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Beddgelert
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“They keep returning”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

You know you are on to a winner when the group at the next table start to chat to you and let you know that they have booked in for dinner all 3 nights of their stay in Beddgelert!

They are regular visitors to Beddgelert and have scouted the town. I followed their lead and was not disappointed .... the food was excellent and perfect for a walkers appetite.

I am not a fan of burgers, but took the advice of the chef and had the Lamb Burger. It was a great recommendation and I now wonder if I have been foolish in my view of burgers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catgshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    101
    60
    43
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Admirable service despite being busy”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked a table for food at 7pm on recommendation of the barman the previous day. Food was good and reasonably priced but we had to wait a while for it to arrive. The pub could definitely benefit from more staff, there was one guy holding the bar and food orders together and a lady serving food. Despite have 3 or 4 beer choices on one was on when we visited. Overall good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“whats the rush?”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we stayed in Bedgellert over the Easter weekend and ate at The Saracens Head on both nights. The owner at the B and B where we stayed had tried to put us off The Saracens Head when we asked about eating there.saying 'apparently its not very good, service is a bit slow'.
I thought it seemed unfair to judge on the say so of someone who hadnt eaten there so we booked for that evening.
The hotel has a very pleasant ambiance and the owner/Manager was very welcoming to us. the meal was a little slow, but we were more than happy to sit and enjoy our wine. When the food arrived it was very good quality and was well presented and hot.
The Manager was extremely courteous and apologetic for the meals taking a little longer. I said he had no need to apologise as we enjoy eating out for the experience of it and why people would visit Bedgellert if they wanted fast food was beyond me. The manager gave us a complimentary drink and did not charge us for the coffees, but it is not for this reason that I write this review,
My opinion is as follows. If service is a little slow, why is that such a big deal? When we are away particularly in a place like Snowdonia I would not expect to be rushed and feel there is little enough time in life to really enjoy and savour good food and a pleasant relaxed atmosphere. Are people really that hungry that they cant wait between courses?
The Manager and staff were so pleasant and courteous, the food good quality, well prepared and presented, and good value. It did not matter at all to us to wait a little. Rather this than a quick turnaround where your table is booked for someone else after an hour, and served by staff with no personality. It is all about the experience and people who make that experience, not about how fast people can be fed. Theres always Mc Donalds for anyone who doesnt like to wait, and drive-thru staff are of course very genuine in their 'have a nice day' script.
Well done to the Saracens Head. We will not only eat there next time but also stay there as the rooms looked very good indeed since the refurbishment. We wish you every success in providing for the more discerning travellers to this friendly, relaxed and not-so-fast-food restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food - perfect after a day's walking !”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had dinner at The Saracens Head twice this weekend, as we were in the area walking. New chef since last year, and also a new menu with lots of favourites to choose from. Meals - which were served really quickly, and with a smile - were really good quality, and well cooked ... Would definitely recommend the burgers and the brownies ! The view of the mountains from the window is lovely while you eat, and there is a really friendly atmosphere in the whole place which make it really comfortable and inviting. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A treat after a walk up Snodownia”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went here Easeter Sunday very glad we had booked ahead as they were very busy, we didnt go until early evening so roast was not possible, however the steak was lovely, staff all very friendly and polity, they welcome dogs

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahnBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saracens Head also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing