We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sygun Fawr Country House
Ranked #2 of 12 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The house was in a beautiful setting with lovely gardens and ideally situated to explore Snowdonia. The hospitality was very welcoming and the food delicious! We stayed for three nights and had an evening meal each night. It was a lovely and relaxing place to stay and to be thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

After successfully negotiating the narrow lane in my large 4x4, we found a very warm welcome in Sygun Fawr from Conrad and Isa. The house is in a beautiful setting and the rooms are very well-appointed. The three course evening meals were excellent (four if you include the cheese course, which we were too pleasantly full to accept), as was the full Welsh breakfast. We needed to climb Snowdon to walk off the calories and we were in an ideal location to do just that. A lovely Country House to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

June 2013 - Stayed for three nights in this awe inspiring location. The grounds are simply amazing and the country house and bedrooms are so well appointed and comfortable it is difficult to drag oneself out to the wider environs of the national park! We were looked after with absolute charm and discretion by the hotel manager and his wife (Conrad and Isa) for whom nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, great position with beautiful views. Great welcome, and service fabulous. Can recommend the evening meal, which was all freshly cooked as was the breakfasts. You do have to negotiate a very narrow lane which could prove awkward if you met another vehicle and are not very good at reversing!! Although we never did. Our room was nice if a little tired and we didnt have a great view but we chose to sit in the lovely gardens instead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Lovely Location. Amazing Accommodation. Superb Staff. Fabulous Food. Splendid Scenery. And by far the best place to stay in Beddgelert!

Myself and 5 friends enjoyed a fantastic 3 night stay here in June. I am a returning guest, and cannot recommend it highly enough. Ruth is a marvellous hostess and couldn't have made us more welcome. All the food is 5 star, particular favourites would be the wild boar pate, lamb shank and of course the full Welsh breakfast! Plus Conrad and Isa worked tirelessly to make our stay perfect.
It is a brilliant location for scaling Snowdon, with breathtaking views and walks abound!
Thank you very much :)

Room Tip: ask for one with a bath?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Having spent a wonderfully memorable Golden Wedding Anniversary at Sygun Fawr last year we have just returned from our second visit and know we will be back. It has everything we could wish for in a "get away from it all" holiday. The stunning location set in a lovely garden amongst the mountains. The warm welcome and superb service provided by Ruth, her family and her staff ensure that nothing is too much trouble. As for Ruth's cooking skills, it is just as well the amazing walks around Beddgelert help keep the waistlines in check! The selection at Breakfast is enough to set you up for the day whilst the Dinner menu is excellent with choices for each course to suit everyone, all beautifully cooked and served with generous helpings. Even the "Light" Supper twice a week is anything but light! Ruth really goes out of her way to please. The really friendly atmosphere plus clean comfortable bedrooms, cosy lounge, conservatory and bar make Sygun Fawr a place we wish to return to time and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed for a few nights and the overall experience was lovely.
On the down side: We thought the narrow laneway & steep driveway quite intimidating. It's a dual carriageway but there is room only for one car, and only 2 lay-bys, so if you meet an oncoming car -you may need to back up a very narrow lane for quite some distance. Most people arrive in the evening and exit in the morning. We adhered to this 'rule'.
Stairs to the room were on the slightly narrow & steep side. The landing and room carpet was a bit uneven - probably caused by the uneven old floorboards underneath..Sygun Fawr being such an old building. Room carpet had pulled at door and was tatty. . Room smelt a bit musty at times but easy to open windows to ventilate with fresh mountain air.:) Grout in shower was unacceptably dark mould stained.and off-putting. Pump in shower and for water(to toilet /basin) was noisy.
On the positive side:The views are gorgeous and the view from our bed: stunning!.WOW!
We ate all breakfasts and evening dinners at the premises and they were very good..
Nice linen and comfortable bed. Acceptable water pressure.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Grand house in an area of outstanding natural beauty. A very special experience. .

Room Tip: I had a peek in Rooms 1,2 and 11 & they have super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abc123Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.5 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.7 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
11.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
8.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sygun Fawr Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sygun Fawr Country House

Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range: £86 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sygun Fawr Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sygun Fawr is located in the heart of North Wales' beautiful Snowdonia National Park, just a short walk away from the picturesque village of Beddgelert.Set within 22 acres of mountainside and gardens, peace and tranquillity are assured at this ultimate mountain retreat offering an idyllic setting for exploring the magnificent natural beauty and the dramatic scenery of North Wales' coasts and mountains.Located in an unrivalled position our style is relaxed, friendly and informal and is the ideal base for walking, mountain biking, relaxing or touring the nearby castles and historical sites. There is something to suit all tastes in this beautiful part of Wales.Nestled into the hillside and built of solid stone, Sygun Fawr has exposed walls, oak beams and inglenooks, which all add to the traditional character, ambience and atmosphere of this unique country house.We offer bed and breakfast with the option of dinner and have a residential licence - our restaurant has featured in the Michelin Guide for 5 consecutive years. We aim to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Sygun Fawr has a home from home atmosphere and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sygun Fawr Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sygun Fawr Country House Hotel Beddgelert
Sygun Fawr Country House Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing