We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sygun Fawr Country House
Ranked #2 of 12 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Had a brilliant time here! Stayed for the weekend and had no trouble whatsoever. Food was delicious, very friendly service and the views from the garden was stunning. Wouldn't mind coming back here early on in the future! 5* from me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent the weekend at Sygun Fawr with a group of family and friends to celebrate my 50th birthday. Ruth and her team could not have been more welcoming, accommodating and helpful. Everything from the delicious food and wonderfully comfortable accommodation to the delightful views and the fantastic hospitality all added up to a perfect birthday weekend. Plus it's all excellent value for money! Ruth is a real "can do" person. Nothing is too much trouble for her and her friendly team in making your stay the best. Don't miss out on this wonderful gem. You will be sorry if you stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandFerhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stopped hear on our travels and would recomend this place to stay and eat. Fantastic views and lovely food prepared by the owners. Well located for anyone wishing to visit the coast or the mountains of Snowdon. Could not fault it in any way. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here at the end of our adventure weekend in Snowdon. After two nights in tent, coming to Sygun Fawr was the perfect end to our holiday. The guest house is located down a winding country lane (single traffic) just outside of Beddgelert village centre. There is plenty of parking and the views from the garden are amazing with views of the hills and mountains on all sides.

Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the bed was by far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. I am not exaggerating.

Staff were welcoming and helpful, giving us advice about the best walks up Snowdon. Breakfast in the morning was generous, with good local ingredients. They also made us a packed lunch for our walk up Snowdon, which was great.

All in all, this a perfect place to stay if you are visiting Snowdonia and I will happily stay here again when I visit next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights with friends last week and we all agreed that the hospitality we recieved by Ruth and her son Owen and all of the staff was of an exceptionally high standard and most importantly genuine ,don't be put off by its distance from the heart of the village it was no more than a 10 min walk down and 15 min walk up and very pretty too ! .Ruth's chefiing skills our excellent and fantastic value for money needless to say we will be back
The jones party

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our party of 9 stayed here for 2 nights to attend a family wedding at the nearby barn. We could not fault this place. The house itself is beautiful and very well kept as are the grounds. The views are amazing, the breakfast was delicious and Ruth, Owen and all the staff were fantastic. They really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and couldn't do enough for us. They were wonderful in catering for our two young children and made them feel really welcome. My little boy didn't want to leave! He loved exploring the house and the grounds and he was really made to feel at home. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend Sygun Fawr, it's a fabulous family run hotel and we hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareLocker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed over night at this select, beautiful country house which has beautiful views.
From the time you arrive to the day you depart the hospitality is very welcoming.The food is excellent, non residents are also very welcomed. I was meeting some friends for a meal, Ruth who runs the house invited me to bring them to dine at her restaurant, we were very pleased to have had the opportunity to savour her excellent home cooking. Served by Conran, who went out of his way to ensure that we experienced a very enjoyable evening.
For walkers the Aberglaslyn walk can be started from the premises..
I would highly recommend this accommodation, It deserves 5 stars from trip advisor

Room Tip: All rooms have at this beautiful house will be tranquil, no noise what so ever, Loved every thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.5 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.7 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
8.8 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sygun Fawr Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sygun Fawr Country House

Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range: £87 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sygun Fawr Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sygun Fawr is located in the heart of North Wales' beautiful Snowdonia National Park, just a short walk away from the picturesque village of Beddgelert.Set within 22 acres of mountainside and gardens, peace and tranquillity are assured at this ultimate mountain retreat offering an idyllic setting for exploring the magnificent natural beauty and the dramatic scenery of North Wales' coasts and mountains.Located in an unrivalled position our style is relaxed, friendly and informal and is the ideal base for walking, mountain biking, relaxing or touring the nearby castles and historical sites. There is something to suit all tastes in this beautiful part of Wales.Nestled into the hillside and built of solid stone, Sygun Fawr has exposed walls, oak beams and inglenooks, which all add to the traditional character, ambience and atmosphere of this unique country house.We offer bed and breakfast with the option of dinner and have a residential licence - our restaurant has featured in the Michelin Guide for 5 consecutive years. We aim to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Sygun Fawr has a home from home atmosphere and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Sygun Fawr Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sygun Fawr Country House Hotel Beddgelert
Sygun Fawr Country House Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing