We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place excellent food and super staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sygun Fawr Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sygun Fawr Country House
Ranked #2 of 11 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic place excellent food and super staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This wonderful retreat is just 15 minutes walk from the village (though you might not want to walk it if its frosty as the last bit is steep and could be slippery). As soon as you walk in it has a warm cosy feel - very important in a wet November. And the welcome of the staff is just as friendly. I loved my room overlooking the owners own (not very pretty) house. It was spacious and I wished that I had made more use of the sofa. No TV, which was no hardship. A very nicely appointed en-suite bathroom with a shower. In the public areas, the underfloor heated conservatory was a comfortable place to relax and have a drink. The wifi signal was good here- not so good in my room so you might want to check signal strength if this is important to have in your room.
There was a separate cosy sitting room for residents, too. We only had one evening meal but it was excellent in all respects - up to Good Food Guide standards - and reasonably priced. The breakfasts were also excellent with a wide range of options and good quality produce.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesHawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    32
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
123
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visited Sygun Fawr for a short romantic break in early November. The rooms are comfortable and well set up and the building - extended over centuries around a very old core - is gorgeous and well preserved. Breakfast and dinner were both delicious. What really stood out is that the staff consistently went out of their way to be helpful and offer extraordinarily good and friendly service. The location, just outside of Beddgelert on the side of the mountain, is also gorgeous with fantastic views across the valley.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peppange, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I spent in Sygun Fawr few days with a group of painting holiday. Very nice hotel, very quite, warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Fantastic food! I really enjoyed my stay. With many thanks to Ruth and her team!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
384 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Came here with a friend during Easter, and this country house was simply fantastic. The interior, the room - everything was wonderful. The food they serve is top notch, with great accompanying wine. The country house also has a charming small bar with games that is worth a drink or two at the end of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My stay at Sygun Fawr was with a group of girl friends celebrating a 50th birthday. We couldn't fault this perfect B and B. The rooms were all unique and well appointed. We stayed for 3 nights and ate in each night, as there was ample choice of food at dinner, and whatever we chose was delicious. We loved being able to step into our walking boots and into the stunning scenery which surrounded us. The whole occasion was full of fun and laughter, such good memories. Thanks again to our hosts who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spent the weekend here as part of a group painting holiday. Really comfortable rooms - all individual and food to die for! Stunning views when the cloud lifts. Thank you Ruth and your team for a great welcome and a marvellous stay. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin4847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Had a brilliant time here! Stayed for the weekend and had no trouble whatsoever. Food was delicious, very friendly service and the views from the garden was stunning. Wouldn't mind coming back here early on in the future! 5* from me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.5 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
13.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sygun Fawr Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sygun Fawr Country House

Property: Sygun Fawr Country House
Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sygun Fawr Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sygun Fawr is located in the heart of North Wales' beautiful Snowdonia National Park, just a short walk away from the picturesque village of Beddgelert.Set within 22 acres of mountainside and gardens, peace and tranquillity are assured at this ultimate mountain retreat offering an idyllic setting for exploring the magnificent natural beauty and the dramatic scenery of North Wales' coasts and mountains.Located in an unrivalled position our style is relaxed, friendly and informal and is the ideal base for walking, mountain biking, relaxing or touring the nearby castles and historical sites. There is something to suit all tastes in this beautiful part of Wales.Nestled into the hillside and built of solid stone, Sygun Fawr has exposed walls, oak beams and inglenooks, which all add to the traditional character, ambience and atmosphere of this unique country house.We offer bed and breakfast with the option of dinner and have a residential licence - our restaurant has featured in the Michelin Guide for 5 consecutive years. We aim to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Sygun Fawr has a home from home atmosphere and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Sygun Fawr Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sygun Fawr Country House Hotel Beddgelert
Sygun Fawr Country House Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing