We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but VERY poor room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked to stay in the Prince Llywelyn on Saturday night past as my wife and I were visiting some of her relatives who live locally and wanted somewhere cost effective to stay (£60 for a double room). The outside of the pub is very picturesque, and the inside is typical country pub style, albeit requiring a bit of a revamp. On arrival, the Chef/manager and a bar girl greeted us warmly even though they had just opened, and allowed us to check in early at mid-day which was nice.

We were shown to room 3, and it was plain to see that the corridors were shabby and had seen better days, as had the room which was actually a bit of a shock, as it was definitely not one of the rooms shown on either the booking website or the Pub/Hotels own website. It was very tatty indeed, with ancient furnishings and fittings and was in desperate need of new wallpaper and a repaint. The room was however very clean. On the positive side, there were full tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer which whilst of cheap quality, were brand new. There was also a small brand new flat screen TV and complimentary shower gel, soap and shampoo. The bed and bedding looked to be brand new also. If this had not been the case I would have made a complaint and asked to be changed to a different room.

What is a little strange is that on being show to our room, most of the doors to the other bedrooms had been propped open and they were much nicer than the room we were shown to. If there is nobody else staying, why were we not given one of these rooms?

We unfortunately found that we were unable to lock the door to the room on the outside, but as it turned out we were the only people staying in the hotel, and we did not leave any valuable in the room so this did not bother us. Also, on returning to the hotel after visiting relatives, we had a beer in the bar which was very pleasant, amongst locals. On retiring to bed we found that the main bedroom light did not work, although a large fluorescent tube light on the far wall did work, which did the job. It was a bit chilly, but a portable heater was provided.

We had a reasonably comfortable nights sleep, but I was awoken by the pub goers leaving the pub at 2am. The actual breakfast/dining room was very tired with tatty decoration and chairs, but was nevertheless nicely presented, and Steve the Chef allowed us to pick the time we wanted for breakfast which was great. His full cooked breakfast was very tasty indeed, and was complimented with the basic coffee and orange juice provided.

Overall, the service was very friendly and pleasant, but the pub/hotel itself is in desperate need of investment. I feel that £60 with breakfast was an acceptable rate, but if I had known the standard of the room would be so poor, I would have paid more to go elsewhere. It was more the standard of a tired Youth Hostel than that of a Pub Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms advertised on the website. I wish I had, as they look to be MUCH nicer than the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteShutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Prince Llewelyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Double room was £60 per night inc breakfast.

Our room was very much in need of a refurbishment, bed was OK, and everything was clean (excluding curtains in bathroom).

The view out the window is lovely, would recommend Beddgelert as a location to explore Snowdonia, and this hotel could be lovely.

Breakfast was OK both days, but simplet hings like sauces, coffee, fruit juice etc were all missing or low quantities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a budget hotel in a lovely part of wales. the staff are great and were more than happy to help with any problems (we did have a couple) The pub is typically for walks with or without dogs. there is a good selection of ales and the traditional beer was nice! the rooms are tired and the shared bathrooms need updating but they do the job! the breakfast is basic but you couldnt fault it so all in all, i would recommend it for a one night stay only if you are in the area walking. other than that, then pay a bit more for luxury

Room Tip: Ensure you specify a double bed if you are booking a "double room" otherwise you might get...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

it has a good outside view. u can have food within a walking distance. difficult to find parking off the street and even that isnt near. u have to cross the bridge and there is no footpath. so not suitable for family with children. perhaps built 100 years ago. needs a lot of refurb. faded colour chair n towel stand. bathroom had a door instead of window. v thin curtain in bedroom n woke up early due to light. the major was it has a pub n a lot of noise was coming wen we went to bed which was continued till 1 pm.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beenishnaeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My family and I decided to eat here one evening of our fab trip to Beddgelert, we had spent a lot of money on food here so we decided to go cheap for this night. The staff were friendly enough but the eating area was abit smelly (musty) and felt unclean, there were flys stuck to the windows and flying around a lot. We all ordered soup, which came in a big bread bowl, it was quite nice, but we had the feeling it was done in the microwave, (we heard the bings! ) Our mains were not the best, a bland strogonoff and a chicken korma that kept me on the loo that night! Also a member of the family had an ellergic reaction to something in the lasagna!! The kids food we ordered was forgotton about, so we had to ask where it was and wait. The owner did re fund the price of the chicken nuggarts (which were over cooked) because we had to wait, which was good of him and he was very appolagetic. Overall the food was not the best, so we won't be going back and don't reccommend the pub for its food!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tinkerlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

For me and my girlfriend, the Prince Llywelyn Hotel was the last stop on a cycling trip through Wales before heading home. Looking back, we're glad it wasn't anywhere else.

We were shown, by a super- friendly guy called George, to a great double room at the front of the building, overlooking the river. The room was clean, tidy, everything worked as it should. I would guess recently renovated, and a good job was made of it too. By far the most comfortable sleep we'd had the entire trip (not factoring in we had been camping most of the time!).

We had dinner in the lounge/bar area downstairs both nights. The first, my girlfriend enjoyed a veggie burger, while I opted for a veggie curry that I overheard the chef had been taught by his father. Family pass-downs are usually the best options.
What struck us, too, was the great choice for non-meat eaters (we're both vegan). We'd encountered nothing like this throughout the rest of Wales.

The most memorable part of our trip, though, was what happened on the second day after we decided to walk up Snowdon (which, by the way, is only a 2 mile cycle away from this place). We were told the day before that the chef goes home at 9pm. So getting off the mountain around 8.50pm, we felt almost certain we would miss the opportunity for food.
Sure enough, we arrived back at the hotel shortly before 9.10pm. By all accounts there was nowhere open for hot food at that time. This is when George offered to cook for us instead.
He sympathised with us, probably in part due to him being a veggie too. By this time, we had also met a lady who we think was the owner, but I can't be sure. She helped him cook for us.

The next morning, after packing our stuff away onto our bikes, we said goodbye to her and ended up having a conversation about travelling that I'm sure would've lasted hours had it not been for our having a train to catch. Somewhat synchronistically, she had been to India (our next destination), and was giving us tips and telling stories.

We honestly can't thank the staff at this hotel enough for looking after us on that last day. We'll always recommend you.Thanks again.

Note: this place is DEFINITELY dog-friendly!

Room Tip: Our room at the front was great. A nice view of the river, and all the people walking around is quit...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We ate here during the august bank holiday Friday. Food took a long time to arrive and no apparent reason why.

My husband was disappointed that "trio of sausages" did not empart quality or being local. We surmised they were of supermarket "basics" quality and were not worth the massive mark up on the dish which also came with mashed potatoes and some veg.

I had a cheese burger, with fries which was edible and neither exceeded nor disappointed.

Overall not the worst meal of the trip but also not the best either.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JANETBALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.1 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
539 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saracens Head
The Saracens Head
#3 of 12 in Beddgelert
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Tan y Graig
Plas Tan y Graig
#1 of 12 in Beddgelert
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Llewelyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Llewelyn Hotel

Address: Smith Street | Gwynedd, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Llewelyn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Have recently taken this Hotel over in the past few months as a manager to accomodate for better standards and keeping up our reputation for excellent traditional quality locally produced food at a reasonable price with a good selection on the children's menu and an outstanding reputation for real ale, lagers, ciders and a selection of fine wines. We are renound for being a children and dog friendly hotel and we are now working on our rooms re-decorating them but they all have a new comfortable bed with fresh linen and a flat screen TV with built in DVD player to make your stay as cosy as possible for a budget priced hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prince Llewelyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Llewelyn Hotel Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing