We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scones don't like the microwave” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beddgelert Antiques and Tea Rooms

Beddgelert Antiques and Tea Rooms
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Scones don't like the microwave”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This antique shop with tearooms is really very quaint and old fashioned.
I'm never tempted when I see cakes on display wrapped in clingfilm; glass cloches do the same job but don't squah the cakes and look much nicer. We enjoyed a lovely pot of delicious tea drunk from delightful cups and saucers. My scone had been subjected to a spell in the microwave which rendered it hot,tough and heavy. If it was not possible to warm briefly in the oven, I would rather have had it cold. Pleasant serving staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    16
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quaint atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We tried this for it's novelty factor. We were sat in a small cellar until we were taken to our seats inside the antique shop. The staff were very friendly and the service was good. The meal was very nice with a good selection of vegetables

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Wow what a meal, late arrival just before closing, but found a table and welcomed in a cellar bar while the table was made ready. When the meal arrived it was excellant, would thoroughly recommend the place

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Covbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
493 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“An unusual concept,open for business,but nobody welcomed us in…...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The antique shop with tea rooms inside is almost adjacent to the village bridge,an interestingly dressed window full of bric a brac rather than antiques and cabinets within with mostly the same set against the wall and tables laid for teas and possibly snacks for breakfast,we stayed for more than five minutes and nobody was to be found inside to talk with us so we left.A little attention would have resulted in a sale as I saw something I was interested in,but nobody seemed to be there…………….very strange.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Decided to eat here for hubby's birthday and to give a local business the custom and was not disappointed. It was mid week & slightly out of season so very quiet but we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Its an extremely quaint building which is run as an antique shop, tea room & bistro. Pre dinner drinks were enjoyed in the "cellar" where menu & specials board was perused. Food was delightful, especially the prawn & asparagus starter!
Ron is a great front of house character and his wife does the cooking. An irish coffee and a lovely chat to Ron rounded off a most enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaticLaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beddgelert Antiques and Tea Rooms also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Beddgelert Antiques and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing