We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, simple, wonderful”
Review of Red Dragon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beddgelert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Dragon
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, simple, wonderful”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Maple Lodge, June 2014. Three adults stayed - 2 in the loft, plus one dog. We were greeted with a welcome pack including milk, bread and a bottle of red wine. Claire had e- mailed us all the details we needed plus to let us know where the key would be to let us into the cabin! During the stay there was absolutely no pressure from anyone which made it a relaxing and quiet break for us. Other guests were in the pods and main house but all felt private and 'easy' . Bedgellert had pubs and cafés, shops and tourist information. We walked up the Watkins path which was fantastic and especially so only being minutes from the lodge. Would love to return as I know the lodge is a comfortable place to stay with all the basics you need, plus more to do than I'd given it time for!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna-jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    27
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
75
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in the end pod nearest the road, at first I thought it was going to be noisy but as the evening went on I didn't notice the traffic at all, Pod was great, plenty of storage under the bed, surprisingly warm as I have stayed in pods on other sites and felt the cold. Showers were fantastic and clean, communal room well equipped with a great collection of books and magazines, a large fridge freezer and a computer . Only minor negative, the light outside the door although great, it does light up the pod at night and the blind didn't block it out, solved problem by hanging towel up over the window . Highly recommend the site, a great base for exploring snowdonia, couple of miles from beddgelert . And will definatly go back

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DEBL1663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went for one night in a pod with my 3 year old son. We both had a ball. The pods are ideal, cozy and surprisingly spacious inside, with plenty of storage in the bed bases. I requested a breakfast which was fantastic, there was too much to choose from. I will be going back soon and highly recommend any of the accommodation on site, but the pods were a real adventure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Red Dragon is situated in a quiet spot between Beddgelert village and the Pen-Y-Gwyrd Hotel, your own transport is essential and sat nav required if you are unfamiliar with the area. The reason to be in the area is Snowdon and the scenery is magnificent the accommodation was a bonus. The pods are small containing two single beds and some coffee/tea facilities but warm, clean, and with great bedding. The toilets and shower facilities are a few steps from your room - could be a bit chilly at night - with on site washing and dryer machines. There is a communal area with Wi-Fi and also a BBQ area which could be fun in the evening if you are with a group. I was travelling solo and up with the larks so did not have much contact with the owners but it was apleasure to stay and the Red Dragon and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my partner had an amazing time staying here, pods were really cozy and situated in a beautiful place.
Deffinately revisit again soon loved it! Community we're very helpful and friendly..food was lovely too in bedgellert village only 2 miles down the road.
Highly reccomend thankyou..cari and peter xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just returned from 2 nights pod camping at Red Dragon. Everything about this place was brilliant. Well equipped from heaters to hot water bottles, clean powerful hot showers, tea and coffee making in each pods and good quality bedding. Claire was so accommodating and makes a wicked packed lunch, perfect for the top of Snowdon!
We were a group of 8 so had 4 of the pods but the communal area was great and this location fitted our trip perfectly. Marvellous weather helped!
Thanks Claire and team

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizj755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a very (very) wet weekend hiking in Beddgelert.
As a group of 10 friends we booked all five pods.
From start to finish Claire (the owner) was exceptional.
The pods were spotless and toasty warm. The showers and toilet block were also spotless. When we arrived we were able to put our beers and food in the large fridge and off we went.
After an accent of Snowdon (the Watkin path is right on your doorstep) we got back to the pods soaking wet. The showers were all piping hot and the drying room was a god send as was the tumble dryer (£1).
As the rain continued into the evening we were able to use the fantastic Community room and had a BBQ on the terrace.
The pods were fantastic to sleep in (we opted for the pod package). Very warm and comfy beds with tea and coffee making facilities - and a hot water bottle!
Although close to the road it is very quiet in the evening and you forget it's there.
All in all, a great experience, a fantastic location and we can't wait to come back - although hopefully with better weather next time!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ianmckay1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
11.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
11.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#1 of 11 in Beddgelert
262 reviews
3.6 mi away
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
#2 of 21 in Caernarfon
201 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Dragon

Property: Red Dragon
Address: Nant Gwynant, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Beddgelert
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 newly built eco-friendly Camping Pods situated within 4.5 acres of privately owned mountainside woodland and 300m from the start of The Watkin path to the top of Snowdon. Each Pod sleeps 2 and pod facilities include divan beds with pillow and base sheet (other linen packs available), heated bathroom block with free hot showers and WC, Heated boot and coat drying room, Secure cycle storage, kitchenette and washing up area, community courtyard with BBQ area, Community Room with access to internet, Community library. Open all year, dogs welcome for a small nightly fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Dragon Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing