We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, comfortable and great value cottage in the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Is-y-Graig

New front door, new windows, new gutters
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New front door, new windows, new gutters
The cottage viewed from the road Cosy living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
New front door, new windows, new gutters
The cottage viewed from the road
Cosy living room
Snowdon in March
Well equipped kitchen
Moel Hebog and Beddgelert church
Spacious hall
Well equipped kitchen
Beddgelert cottages
Master Bedroom
Living room looking towards hall
Beddgelert bridge
Our new sun room
Twin bedroom
Woodland walk
The road outside the cottage
Our patio garden
Our new sunroom
Aberglaslyn path in June
Our new sun room extension
Outside of Cottage
Our pet robin
The hall looking towards the kitchen
Moel Hebog
Beddgelert cottages
Cottage entrance
Beddgelert with Snowdon in the background
Slate sill uncovered in the master bedroom
New curtains in the living room
The hall with new front door and shoe rack
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable and great value cottage in the village of Beddgelert”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Used as a base for a catch up with old friends, Beddgelert is a perfect base to start the many walks into the hills, if you don't fancy driving you have plenty of options from the village. With shops, pubs and restaurants there is plenty in the village to keep you going if you don't fancy cooking, looking for a snack or need to pick up some essentials/look for souvenirs. The copper mine is also certainly worth a visit. The cottage itself is really quaint, cosy and warm with plenty of room to lounge and spread out. There were four of us in total and we had loads of room. The kitchen is really well stocked so if you want to be self sufficient and cook, its no problem. The tumble driers came in very handy on the day of our walk, did not stop raining! Was thankful to come back to a warm shower and some where to dry our wet clothes! Nice touch having netflix and sky TV for a night in by the log burner too. The owners were superb, Alix is really quick to get back to any queries you have, I had one when we arrived with regards to the water, had a call back in a couple of minutes and with a flick of the switch all was sorted. Thanks for a wonderful visit, we'll visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanAPoll...
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Really enjoyed our stay at Is y graig this weekend. The cottage was lovely and we were very appreciative of the space it provided for us to relax after a long walk.

Loved the Christmas decorations that were in the cottage and it felt like a home from home, instantly welcoming as soon as we walked through the front door.

Beddgelert was a joy as always and is a village we love to return to year after year. Hopefully we will be able to book Is Y Graig again this time next year.

The owner of the cottage was helpful and communicative from the very beginning and the process couldn't have been easier as a result.

Truly mean it when we say that we really didn't want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa J
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage in a beautiful part of Wales”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed at this cottage several times during the summer and winter months. It is a beautiful traditional cottage with all the mod cons, with everything you need for a comfortable stay. There is Sky TV which is great for watching films by the log burning fire after a long day walking. The reliable WIFI was a great bonus!

The beds are comfortable, the heating is powerful and the cottage quickly warms up once switched on. There is a choice of bathrooms both downstairs and up with the option of a warm shower or bath. The kitchen has a large dining table and is equipped with a dishwasher.

It’s lovely and quiet as the cottage is set back from the road. The garden area is nice to sit out in during hot, summer evenings. There are plenty of parking spaces along the road outside the cottage.

The Beddgelert village itself is a two minute walk with shops, cafés and a choice of top pubs/restaurants. There are plenty of walks around the area and a train station within the village. There’s an unlimited options of places to visit in the surrounding area, we discover somewhere new each time we visit! We will no doubt book this superb cottage again next time we visit Beddgerlet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun loggia
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
I’m sorry that you were disappointed with the cottage. I show our patio garden on the photos so that no one should expect more. The cottage is over 200 years old and I have decorated it with antiques which are in keeping with its era as modern ornaments would be out of place. I will replace the fan in the upstairs toilet. It says on the website that we provide bedding but not towels.
As I explained in my email to you a couple of months ago, and I quote:
“Unfortunately, there is no commercial laundry anywhere near Beddgelert and it is extremely difficult to engage a reliable cleaner. Our current cleaner has a 25 mile round trip to our cottage and often cleans a couple of other cottages on busy changeover days, so we have to ask guests to strip the beds and put one load of washing on to make things easier for her.
I would like to be able to provide towels but there just isn't time for
them to be laundered in addition to the bedding. Sometimes guests
from abroad buy towels in the supermarket at the start of their trip as
there is no towel hire either in this rural area.

Some cleaners refuse to make up the beds and will only leave bedding out for guests to make them up themselves. Fortunately my cleaner does make the beds, as I think it would be harsh for guests arriving tired after a long journey to have to make the beds themselves.”

I don’t charge over £1000 per week in the school holidays, the maximum charge currently is £825. We are constantly updating the cottage as we want it to be comfortable for ourselves and our guests; improvements this year include a new oil boiler, new dishwasher, new tumble dryer, new electric shower in the upstairs bathroom, new bedding, crockery and redecoration as required. I haven’t noticed any dampness in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Goodhand2...
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage, location & fully equipped”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything we needed was there, clean tidy and all in excellent condition.

It was central to everywhere in North Wales and enabled easy access to the mountains, sea, castles and other attractions. Beddgelert village is an ideal location with an excellent local shop, pubs and restaurants.

We had a marvelous stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt very homely
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth W
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fond memories have been made”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beddgelert is a top destination. The cottage is as described but we were surprised as it was roomier than expected with 3 living areas if you include the eat in kitchen. The fireplace made for some cosy evenings too. We slept comfortably which was important with all the walks we found ourselves enjoying. the cottage is pivotal to many areas and we did not run out of activities in our 2 week stay. If you are a walker you are spoilt for choice, if you like villages there are many within a 30 min radius. A special find for us was Dorothea, an abandoned slate mining village that has been left to be swallowed up by the forest which is free to wander around and about 20 min away through some spectacular mountainous countryside. I could retire here.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We enjoyed our three night stay in the cottage very much.
Initially it was cold when we got there but it soon warmed up when the boiler was turned on (along with some of the radiators which had been turned off). The log burner in the living room made it lovely and cosy. Due to its location behind the row of cottages on the roadside, it was very quiet, with beautiful views of trees and hills.
Only a couple of minor points of negativity...the downstairs bathroom floor was wet with condensation and the upstairs bathroom shower curtain isn't a great fit so the shower head had to be angled towards the opposite wall to avoid soaking the floor, and subsequently the kitchen below. The cottage could do with a little modernisation in terms of fixtures and fittings, but none of these things were of any great concern.
It was warm, quiet and cosy...and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I haven't noticed condensation on the downstairs bathroom floor before, perhaps the door had been kept shut after a steamy bath/shower and the extractor fan switched off? It is important to keep the upstairs shower curtain inside the bath. We are having an electric shower fitted upstairs imminently so that if the boiler ever broke down, guests will have alternative hot water, as well as heating from the seven electric fans, whilst it is repaired.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing