We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous accommodation; the owner was...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gwynfa

Fully equipped large kitchen diner with views over the river Colwyn to Moel Hebog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully equipped large kitchen diner with views over the river Colwyn to Moel Hebog
Kitchen diner Through into the kitchen diner from the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Fully equipped large kitchen diner with views over the river Colwyn to Moel Hebog
Kitchen diner
Through into the kitchen diner from the lounge
Private patio overlooking the river Colwyn with seating for six and a BBQ
A view up river towards the school bridge
Views of Meol Hebog and the Welsh Highland Railway from the patio
The fields are full of bluebells in May
Lounge with log burner and 39' flat screen TV with freesat and DVD player
Comfy leather sofa's
Bedroom 1 with kingsize bed and views of Moel Hebog
Bedroom 2 with double bed
Bunk beds in bedroom 3
All bedrooms have their own wardrobe and drawer space
Shower in upstairs bathroom
Upstairs bathroom has corner bath as well as shower
Private parking space at  the side of Gwynfa
One tired dog after a day walking the mountains!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joewest55
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous accommodation; the owner was so welcoming and helpful.”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We spent a lovely three nights at this wonderful cottage. Lynn the owner has thought of absolutely everything that anyone could need for a relaxing holiday, right down to treats for the dog. The immaculately kept cottage is in a prime location in the village, and it's excellence is only matched by Lynn's welcoming hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome we received at the immaculate cottage
Liked least: We eventually had to go home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments - I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda O
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect weekend”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Gwynfa in Bedgelert in November for along weekend. It's a beautiful cottage in a perfect village location.This cottage is beautifully furnished and exceptionally clean .it has a cosy lounge with a log burning stove , and a lovely big well equipped kitchen with great views over the river.The three bedrooms are light & airy ,again with fabulous views out of the bedroom window, It's location is perfect and the village is beautiful .Lynn the owner has thought of everything you would need for your stay from the well equipped kitchen down to DVDS for a cozy night in .We will defiantly be returning and defiantly recommend this beautiful cottage .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely decor , fantastic views & location .
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessfran2...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent a few days in Gwynfa and was very impressed with the facilities!
The Owner, Lynn, has thought of everything you would need in a self catering cottage and is available to answer any queries or provide any information.
If travelling with young children, there is a play area within a couple of minutes walk and the village is just a couple of minutes walk further on.

Looking forward to returning soon!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind words - I have tried to make sure Gwynfa has and is everything that I would want on holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigpetean...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional attention to detail, spotlessly clean and welcoming.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A newly renovated and extended cottage with all the modern amenities you could wish for set in a beautiful village with its own car parking space. Lovely views from the sunny rear patio area overlooking the babbling river, with brand new barbeque at your disposal and the sight and sound of passing steam trains in the distance. Deceptively spacious inside and well thought out. Has to be the best equipped holiday home I've ever stayed in. My wife and I stayed with our two teenage daughters and enjoyed our stay tremendously and intend returning soon. Whether your a lone traveller, couple or family You cannot fail to enjoy your stay at this charming home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large patio area with gas bbq and own parking space.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and had everything you needed. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DM1983EO
1 review
“Immaculately beautiful home away from home... would highly recommend!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This holiday cottage is literally a home away from home set in a perfect location with a picturesque view across the river. Immaculately beautiful throughout with great detail to fulfilling all of our needs during our stay. Perfect for all of the family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 4 and 6)... the kids felt right at home and didn't want to leave; nor did we! Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Beddgelert or surrounding areas... you won't be disappointed!! Thank you for our stay Lynn, the house is lovely as are you! x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed Gwynfa so much and thank you for such kind words - it makes it all worth while! I hope to see you all again at some time in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloonslan...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in beautiful, peaceful surroundings.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was just what we needed. Lovely clean bright and spacious. Going to sleep and waking up to the river and the birds was so calming. Watching the sheep grazing by the river was another plus too. Phone and internet connection was a no no unless you are on orange. Not that we minded it added to the peace. Signal was only 5 minutes by car away in either direction. Lynn was always available for any queries, like bin day etc. One thing I have never seen before in a cottage was the dog bowls, treats etc in readiness for your pet. Can't wait to go back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in fabulous location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed three nights with my partner in this refurbished and extended cottage. All the rooms are spacious and have been decorated and furnished beautifully. The kitchen is large and has all the equipment needed including dishwasher and microwave. One of the two bathrooms has a lovely corner bath which I took advantage of for a long soak after walking. The cottage is well heated so despite bad weather we were warm and cosy and quite happy to spend time inside making use of the books, games, CDs and DVDs.
The Cottage location is perfect being next to the river. Walks in and around Beddgelert are spectacular with something for everyone so there was no need to use the car. There are also plenty of really good places to eat and drink in the village.
We really couldn't find any negatives with this cottage, the price also being very reasonable when compare to other holiday properties. We are extensive travellers and have rarely found anywhere so perfect (and clean!). We have already booked a return trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, size, comfort and decor of property and value for money.
Liked least: No negatives at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
I am so pleased you had such a good time at Gwynfa and enjoyed all the facilities provided. I'm also pleased you were so comfortable. Hopefully I will see you and your partner again at some point in the near future if you want to spend more time in Beddgelert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing