We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for one night and from the moment we arrived were made to feel so very welcome. A watering can was found and filled to water plants I had bought and they were tucked in the shade. A bottle of cold water for us was retrieved from the fridge under the stairs which was provided for guests use to store anything needing to be kept cold. Our freezer packs for our cool bag were taken off to be popped in their freezer to re-freeze them - nothing was too much trouble. The room was well appointed, with tea and coffee making facilities. Sheets were clean white linen and towels were lovely and fluffy. Bed was very comfy and pillows soft and plentiful. There was a beautiful vase of fresh roses on the windowsill which I think were from the garden - a lovely touch. Full en-suite facilities. We had the window open as it was hot and the road was a bit noisy but there wasn't a lot of traffic in the night so it didn't bother us or spoil our nights sleep. In fact I woke early and lay in bed listening to an owl hooting outside. Breakfast was a selection of fresh fruit with yoghurts, cereals, orange and cranberry juice plus a cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was delicious with good sized portions. When we left we were given a couple of freshly baked welsh cakes wrapped in foil to eat on our journey (they were delicious). Our hosts were very friendly with lots of ideas of places to go. Would most definitely recommend a stay here. Walking distance from town. Eating places recommended and offered to reserve a table there for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildlife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We picked this B&B out of the blue. Lucky for us, it was one of the nicest places we stayed. The location is picturesque, the people friendly, and rooms cozy. Bev and Joe were so friendly and helpful, answering all of our question! Breakfast was delicious. The town is adorable and is surrounded by some of the most beautiful countryside I have ever seen. We only intended on staying for one night, but ended up staying for three!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We love visiting Betws-y-coed and have stayed at different hotels, cottages and B&B's in the area but this is by far the best we have had the pleasure to stay in. The room (4) was delightful with a lovely view of the river walk across the road. Although it is on the main A5 it was very quite and we enjoyed a good comfortable nights sleep both nights (Saturday & Sunday) It is well placed for the town center and all the nearby walks ( I would recommend walking up Llyn Elsi to the lovely raised lake in the forest). The property is fantastic, clean, bright and welcoming. Bev made us feel very welcome and always had time for a chat and Joe cooked a lovely breakfast, I tried the scrambled egg and salmon which was very nice. The room was spotlessly clean with tea & coffee always topped up and fresh bottled water always in the room. The gardens were also well kept and there was always plenty of parking spaces. We loved this place and will stay here every time we visit Betws-y-coed from now on. Can not wait to visit again. PS Thank you Bev for the very tasty barra brith which we had with a cup of tea after the long drive home.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 and loved it. TV DVD, power shower and toilet plus tea & coffee making facil...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Bod Gwynedd. Bev and Joe were wonderful hosts, doing everything they could to make our stay comfortable. On arrival we were treated to tea and Bev's home made barra brith, some of the best we had tasted. the room was comfortable and tasefully furnished as was the whole of the property which has been modernised with great care and retains the feel of the original 19th century dwelling. Decorated with landscapes by a local photographer the house is everything a guest to the area could wish for.

The breakfasts were certainly some of the best we have had in any hotel.

Located a short walk from the centre of Betws-y-Coed, Bod Gwynedd is the ideal location for exploring this lovely part of Wales. Car parking is no problem, either on the road outside the house or in the car park on site.

In all we were more than satisfied with our stay and hope to return again to this friendly family run B and B

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have excellent views over the stream and mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We book this place on the Trip Adviser reviews and were not disappointed. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel really welcome. Joe carried our bags to our really well appointed room 2 and Beverly brought us a pot of freshly brewed coffee. The Breakfast was cooked to order and just perfect. My husband has difficulty walking so Bev made sure we had a down stairs room and even ran us into town in the evening. We have stayed in lots of Guest houses over the years but never have we had such attentive service.

Thank you so very much Marie and Bill Bird.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After a very wet days cycling, we arrived at the B&B to be greeted by a lovely hot drink and an offer to dry our very wet clothes. The rooms had everything you needed (home from home). A draw full of DVD’s to watch as the TV’s had a DVD player. Bottled water and even juice in the rooms as one of the group didn't drink tea /coffee. The breakfast was excellent and filling, just what was needed for another day's cycling. Bev even let us use the breakfast room at night, as we wanted a take away, so the 7 of us could eat together.
Bev and Joe are great hosts and do every thing they can to make sure you enjoy your time at their B& B. The area is fantastic and we could not fault our time in Snowdonia.

Room Tip: Al the rooms looked really clean and all had en suites
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just had a 3 night stay.
Bod Gwynedd is located in the village of betw y coed in Wales, the location was perfect to clime Snowdon. The place is really clean with comfortable beds all topped off with a great breakfast.
We used the local Sherpa bus as Bev (host) advised due to the parking being limited. This was just great and meant that we didn’t have to leave really early to make sure we could park. The bus was just £1 and stops at the start of the miners track so ideal.
The village has some really nice places to eat and all in walking distance for Bod Gwynedd.
Cannot fault this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
756 reviews
1.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £88 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bod Gwynedd is a Bed & Breakfast situated in Betws-y-Coed in the Snowdonia National Park, North Wales. We have a range of rooms including Single occupancy, Twins, Kingsize and 4-Poster for that added touch of luxury. All rooms have comfortable beds, powerful showers and modern heating and glazing. We offer a full cooked breakfast, freshly made fruit salad and cold breakfast dishes including allergy specific options (with prior notice). All rooms have ultra modern 24" TV/DVD players with the full range of Freeview and Internet "catch up channels." We have off-road parking, level parking for motorbikes and highly secure bike storage. Check out our reviews to see what our guests think of their stays at Bod Gwynedd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing