We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to start a trip in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Bod Gwynedd for our first two nights in North Wales. Very open and friendly hosts, full of information and tips on where to go and how to get there most easily.Very good suggestions for where to eat dinners too. Our room was very comfortable (rm 5 on the 2nd floor), bright, airy, roomy with a very clean bathroom. Wonderful English breakfast as well. We couldn't have asked for more. On our way out, Beverley gave us some homemade Bara Brith, which was delicious and a treat for our long drive south. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lchinitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the Bod Gwynedd B&B last weekend, 11/7/14. We could not find a single fault with the stay. On our arrival, we were warmly greeted, shown to our room, given a large bottle of cold water from the fridge as it was a hot day, given an introduction to the B&B and offered assistance with anything else that we could wish for. Our room was beautiful, we had a 4 poster bed, window seat, beautifully and impeccably clean en suite bathroom, and some of the most sumptuous towels I have ever seen.
The B&B is wonderfully equipped, with board games and DVD's downstairs for guests to use, walking books and the invitation to simply ask if we needed any advise on the local area or required a table booking at one of the more popular local restaurants. Even umbrellas by the front door, which we grabbed one of when walking to our restaurant one night. Little touches made all the difference, such as the re-stocked toiletries the next day, the restocked teabags, even though we had only used 2, and even the biscuits, even though we hadn't got round to eating any! There was so much storage in our room that we could have easily stayed for 2 weeks, and had room to keep everything tidy.
Breakfast was another shining example of the high standards of the place. We were able to book a time slot the night before, and fill out a sheet detailing what we would like to eat, so that it could be served promptly the next morning. We started off with cereals, yoghurts and fruit salad, whilst we were offered tea or coffee and toast. This was all before our cooked breakfasts arrived, which were very high quality and perfectly cooked. As i don't eat meat, I was presented with vegetarian sausages and even a hash brown, which the other half was very jealous of, not that he could have eaten any more, considering the thickness of the bacon!
A lovely finishing touch was when on our way out of the door on the last day, Beverley presented us with some homemade Bara Brith, which was delicious and a treat for our drive back.
I couldn't recommend this place enough and we'll be sure to go back there in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great bed and breakfast really friendly people made to feel really welcome for the moment they opened the door.
We had room 2 on the ground floor as I have problems walking; this was just great as I only had to walk in the door and straight into our room. The room was very clean and bright and had lots of extras like Hot chocolate and homemade cake.
Joe did the Breakfast it was really good quality and cooked to order so was fresh and hot.
We will book this B&B on our next visit as it was the best we have every stayed in with excellent service from both Beth and Joe.

Thank you both for making our stay so special Mark and Sarah

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nts at the end of May here in Betws-y-Coed.(hope I spelled it correctly) in north Wales. The room on the second floor was snug and just right for the 2 of us. The room was excellent. The breakfast that was available with the room was just plain excellent too. And the 2 owners, a husband and wife, were a delight to talk to and very helpful and friendly with ideas and knowledge of the area. The only cautionary, should you be driving a car, is that the roads are VERY narrow especially if you are from the US where the roads are much wider. ( Of course driving on the left is its own set of challenges.)

Room Tip: this B&B is only 2 floors but like many B&B's especially in the UK and Europe the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snapcount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Really friendly hosts. Warm and welcoming just what you want from a B &B.
We stayed as a group of friend and could not have asked for better service, accommodation and location. Beverley was really helpful making sure our stay was perfect. Every morning we where greeted with piping hot coffee and great cooked Breakfast. After a full day walking it was great to go back to a really comfortable bed.
We will defiantly book this place again next time we are in Wales.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just had a really fun stay at this guest house.
Bev and Joe are really friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything needed. In total we had 4 rooms all had en suite and where very clean and comfortable. Bev made sure that all restaurant table where booked in advance, so we had no problems finding places being a large group. Joe printed of climbing routes for us as we wanted to climb Snowdon and had not done any research. The breakfast was cooked to order and was just what we needed before a day’s climbing. Even got sunshine what more do you need.
See you next year The Brady Bunch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great location in the village. Friendly owner and very helpful about the area and local attractions. Room small but adequate. Nice breakfast. Nice walk to Chinese restaurant further up the village. Great walks in this area and a must for nature lovers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Telekom
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.7 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £86 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bod Gwynedd is a Bed & Breakfast situated in Betws-y-Coed in the Snowdonia National Park, North Wales. We have a range of rooms including Single occupancy, Twins, Kingsize and 4-Poster for that added touch of luxury. All rooms have comfortable beds, powerful showers plus modern heating and glazing. We offer a full cooked breakfast, freshly made fruit salad and cold breakfast dishes including allergy specific options (with prior notice). All rooms have ultra modern 24" TV/DVD players with the full range of Freeview and Internet "catch up channels." We have off-road parking, level parking for motorbikes and highly secure bike storage. Check out our reviews to see what our guests think of their stays at Bod Gwynedd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing